We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Albus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Albus
Ranked #64 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Perth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Location is perfect for exploring the city, and easy to get to from central station. Staff was very professional and helpful! Only thing we missed was a fridge in the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindapannekoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you for your nice review!

We are keen to be green try to minimize the waste of energy. Therefore we do not provide fridges or minibars in the rooms. However, we do offer roomservice without any delivery charge so you can still enjoy some cool drinks in your room. We are also happy to bring up an ice bucket to your room to chill your beverages at any time.

We hope to welcome you again soon for another consious stay in the Albus!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    687
    215
    69
    39
See reviews for
244
896
64
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Cute boutique hotel right in the center of the city. Very friendly staff. In regards to the lack of a.c. it was no problem because of the high-powered fan. We stayed in August (probably the hottest time of the year) and felt no discomfort because of the lack of a.c. Would definitely stay here again during another visit to Amsterdam!

Room Tip: We emailed in advance asking for the best possible view and got a great view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you very much for your wondeful compliments!

I am glad to read that you have enjoyed a comfortable stay and that the soundless fan helped to cool your room during the warm summer days.

We will be honoured to welcome you again in the Albus soon!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Arrived to check in and the rooms were not ready for another 3-4 hours.....almost 5:30pm. Understaffed as even the next day,..folks were waiting for rooms. When we received rooms, we were in the basement for both (had only booked one of those rooms for our daughters) and so we were comped breakfast for the difference in price between the sub-terranean rooms and deluxe we had originally booked,..but I had to ask for that,..they did not inform me of the error. When we took a shower, the shower leaked and the bathroom floor was flooded. This would possibly explain the musty, wet odor we encountered when we first entered the room. In fact, the entire hotel smells oddly musty when you enter. No air conditioning so they provide fans which does not really do the trick, especially if underground. Breakfast is good but not worth $25.00 US per person. We placed our passports in the safe and it somehow locked up and a technician had to come and literally dismantle it. Perhaps it is the underground rooms with all the issues as we did not get to see the room we actually booked. Staff was friendly and tried to address the issues as best they could but it simply seems that senior management might need to get a handle on things as it is clearly understaffed and folks seem a bit overwhelmed trying to handle all that is clearly not running smoothly. There were many, many irate guests. We simply dealt as I felt somewhat sorry for the staff but did have to kindly inform of the issues as it was simply not worth the money spent. It is unfortunate as the location is excellent but the value for what you pay for is not. I would expect more for 300 euros a nite for two underground rooms as we travelled in B&Bs for half that amount per nite and had triple the service and accommodations. All were booked however as August is clearly a busy month.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hello precious guest,

I am sorry to read that you stay wasn't flawless! I thank you for aharing all your comments and I will seriously think about your experiences and the role I have as a manager to improve certain processes.

Regarding your room, I understood from the receptionist who checked you in, that she did offer you a room move to the correct roomtype, but that you preferred to have complimentary breakfast instead. She also asked you about your stay on several occacions and she did not receive any complaints or feedback from you. I am sorry that we could not do something about your feelings while you were here and you that you have now left with mixed feelings about the Albus

I do hope that you are willing to give the Albus a second chance. Just contact me directly on lisa@albushotel.com when you have any plans to travel to Amsterdam again so we can make your next stay as blissful as possible!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I made the booking a couple of days before I travelled. After a very busy day, I arrived at the hotel around 11pm (I had told them that I was arriving late), only to be told by the (very pleasant) gent at the desk that there had been "a problem with the booking system", and that I would need to stay at anther hotel - further out of town.

I told them that this was unacceptable. I hadn't booked another hotel - I booked The Albus. If I wanted to stay at another hotel, then I would have booked another hotel!

I have been at this hotel before and one of the people I travelled with had to stay in another hotel because of overbooking! Surely this happening twice could not just be a coincidence! I know that *some* hotels overbook, hoping that some guests don't show up. The hotel reception staff seemed to know what they were doing (offering free breakfast, another hotel, room upgrade, etc.), so I suspect that this is something that they are used to!

ONLY BOOK THIS HOTEL IF YOU DON'T MIND A "MYSTERY HOTEL"!

There was a (printed) note from the hotel manager and a small bottle of Prosecco in the room when I finally got in there on the second night. This makes me suspect that this is a standard occurrence.

The complimentary breakfast was ok. the beans looked like they may have been their some time and the chef was quite rude after my fiancee didn't replace the bacon tweezers properly (imagine!). The rest of the staff we very polite.

Our upgraded room had a very big bed, but other than that, was quite small, had no mini-bar, no bath (just a shower) and NO AIR CONDITIONING!

With temperatures outside at 20 DEG C (ish) the room was very warm. There was a fan, but the windows didn't open very far. It was too warm at night to have the fan off, and too noisy with it on. Welcome to 3 hours of sleep!

The reception was air conditioned. Still, as long as the staff are cool, eh!

I had raved about this hotel to my fiancee. I looked like a fool! I will not be staying here (or anywhere else they decide to put me) again.

Room Tip: Make sure you stress when you book that ANOTHER HOTEL IS NOT ACCEPTABLE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestTraveller1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hello precious guest,

I am sorry to read about your experiences and that we could not accomodate you on your first night! I appreciate your choice for the Albus and I completely understand your frustrations.

We absolutely try out utmost to avoid overbooking at all times, but unfortunately it does occur once in a while due to system errors or even maintenance related causes.

I understand your comment about the staff who seemed to know what they were doing. In fact our staff is well trained to handle each situation in a professional way including unfortunate cases like yours. They have tried to make up for the inconvenience as much as possible while you were here.

I really regret it that we might have lost you as a returning guest and I will personally e-mail you to see what we can do to make you feel better about the Albus.

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Upon check-in we were told to have a seat on the sofa and they came to us with the check-in papers and complimentary tea and coffee. This was very relaxing and different than the regular stand at the desk check-in.

There's a Nespresso coffee machine in the room with complimentary pads. The TV welcomes you with your name and the room was clean. The location of the hotel is also good.

The only con I can think of is the size of the room. It was on the small side but still fine for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rexde500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review!

We offer different room types, from the Smart City Room (the smallest) to our Stunning City Suites (most spacious). All rooms come with the same facilities such as free Nespresso and mineral water and an extended inroom enternainment system.

I am glad that you have enjoyed your room despite of the size and I hope that you will choose to stay in the Albus again upon your next stay in Amsterdam!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I have stayed here on two separate occasions and the location, staff and rooms can't be beaten! Will definitely stay here every time I go to Amsterdam. If possible ask for a room on the top floor on the street side - the views are great!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schneids7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review!

It is great to read you compliments on our staff and the rooms, I will definitely share them with eveyone here.

We hope to welcome you back soon, just make sure you mention your preferred room with your booking so we can hold it for you for another blissful stay!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Yes, I am shouting DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL! ESPECIALLY IN THE SUMMER! This hotel has one heck of a nerve to subject patrons to the temperatures reached in guest rooms. No air conditioning, street too noisey to open window. In some rooms, windows were locked to open only a few inches (suicide prevention, we were told). However, stairwell seemed quite cool. Fan provided in room offered only slight comfort. Opening windows subject guests to constant street noise, including a regularly running tram. Earplugs were provided by hotel, but that adds another level of discomfort.

Robes in both our room and my in-laws' room were filthy, even though they were hung up to appear freshly laundered. No face cloths provided with towel set-up, which may explain my dirty robe, as it appeared someone removed a very thick make-up foundation with it. Beds appeared very clean, but then again, so did the robes. However, the bed was very comfy with 4 large fluffy pillows.

Staff is nice enough until you provide them with a problem. We complained at desk about above, and they did provide us with clean robes, however, had no solution to heat problem until WE suggested they find an additional fan for the rafter room my in-laws were staying in and could they please unlock that window, assuredly, none of us would be jumping out of it.

When we returned home, they did write us a letter, apologizing for the inconveniences and that if and when we return to the Albus, we would be given an upgrade and free breakfast. Why, however, did they not suggest this to us while we were there? I guess because they knew that we would never be returning so it was cheaper to make a promise after the fact.

Hotel seems like it is scrimping, sorry to say, because it is a spit away from the flower market and the main shopping street.

How people can be giving this place such high marks, especially in the summertime, beats me!

Room Tip: Don't book it.,
See more room tips
Green Features: ??? Oh yeah, towel re-use. But so do most hotels these days.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milo1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback.

I am very sorry to read that you did not at all enjoy your stay at the Albus, as I also mentioned in my apoligy letter. I sincerely regret the fact that your complaints were not recognized and handled to your satisfaction while you were here and I understand your frustration.

I also understand that your experience is not very inviting for a second visit, however I would like to ask you to consider the Albus for another stay. I will personally try my utmost to guarantee you a very different and positive experience. Just contact me directly if you are willing to give us a second chance.

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#12 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,562 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#57 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#108 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Property: The Albus
Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#45 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a, recently renovated, trendy four star Superior design boutique hotel with 75 rooms that is well located within the famous Canal Belt and a short walk from Dam square, Leidse square, Rembrandt square and many well-known museums. Whether you’re in Amsterdam for business or leisure, this hotel is an excellent choice to explore this lively and vibrant city. Experience a service that’s out of the extraordinary and personalized. Provided by the professional yet down-to-earth friendly hotel staff. Each room in the Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre is fully equipped with the newest energy-saving air conditioner system, a 32-inch flat-screen TV, an in-room Nespresso machine with complimentary cups, a safe with laptop charger, free wi-fi, heavenly beds lined with high quality cotton bed linen, luxurious mattresses filled with a combinations of rubber/foam, super snug big pillows for optimum comfort and designer chairs so you can emerge yourself in one. You will feel a sense of bliss when stepping into the gorgeous bathroom. Equipped with a 30 cm rain shower, luxurious toiletries, fluffy towels and bathrobe. The sink-module is one of a kind and especially designed for the Albus. This environmentally friendly and Green Key Gold certified hotel provides complimentary, fast and secure wi-fi throughout the hotel to keep your social networks updated or to let you work with no fuss. Start your day with a generous breakfast buffet with a variety of local and organic products. From healthy tidbits like cereals and grains, fresh fruit, soya milk, Dutch treats to homemade pancakes and fried eggs. We serve Fairtrade and UTZ-certified coffee and tea. Don’t leave Amsterdam without having tried the tantalizing creations of Restaurant Senses by Lars Bertelsen. A top-notch restaurant that prepares an unconventional and creative tasting menu. Ingredients are chosen carefully. Daily fresh and sustainable products are being used. Choose from the monthly alternating 3 to 6-course tasting menu for lunch or dinner and embark on your own voyage of discovery. The Albus is easily accessible by public transport, taxi or with your own car. Take tram 16 from Central Station to Keizersgracht. Walk 50 meters back over the bridge. On the right hand you will find The Albus. We provide Valet Parking for €35 a day, every consecutive 24 hours it’s €20. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing