We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”
Review of Hotel De Looier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De Looier
Ranked #320 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

You have to walk a bit from the train station, but when you get to the hotel, you are pretty close to everything.
We payed 69€ for our room, which was clean and pretty comfy. Nothing fancy, but good value for your money. Not very good soundproofing, though.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anilei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    88
    120
    54
    59
See reviews for
48
138
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Exactly how it looks in the pictures. Did not expect much to be honest and it is basic but it has everything you need and the bed was comfortable which was the most important thing for us considering how tired you are after all the walking. Located just out of the tourist area which was quite nice, down side streets along the canals, next to boutiques , really nice walk and only 10/15mins walk to the main areas. Have I stayed in better, yes but I have stayed in worse. Staff were fine. Did not have breakfast in the hotel however smelled lovely and seemed busy every morning. The only bad thing is the flooring...it creaks a lot however this is only the landings.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Linzim17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed for four nights at this hotel, and were very happy.

It was very reasonably prices compared to other Amsterdam hotels. The location was resonable. Certainly not close to anything, but within walking distance of anything.

The room was well presented and clean, although a small fridge would have been nice. Bathroom was clean, but slightly let down by an old, cracked mirror.

The cleaners insisted on making up our room each day, despite a 'do not distirb' sign.

None of these things were detrimental though, and I would certainly recommend it as a good value, well located hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Previous reviews I read on this hotel on Trip Advisor helped me choose this establishment. It met my expectations after reading all reviews. Good location and easy to get to by tram. It is on a quiet side street. Other reviews said room was small but I felt it was a good double/twin size compared to other European twin rooms I've stayed at. Free wi-fi worked fine for me. Bathroom was exceptionally clean which I place much emphasis on my review. I booked reservations directly on the hotel website which I got a better deal. The price for 2 nites was same as if I booked through Travelocity or Orbitz, but my price included continental breakfast. So sometimes it pays to look directly at the hotel website because booking via Travelocity and outside travel vendors you thnk you're getting a good deal price wise but dont qualify for extras.
The hotel does not have air conditioning so it was a little warm & humid. But I wasnt expecting Amsterdam to be so humid since I thought The Netherlands was kind of north.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laxlady2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombardy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This hotel was easy to reach by bus from the airport and is in a quiet neighbourhood.
It is clean but very basic although there is a lift. Free wifi that did not work compensated by a computer in the lobby for the use of guests Arriving in the evening there was no chance to buy a drink except from a dispenser with a very poor choice and the welcome from the receptionist left a lot to be desired. The young man serving breakfast was most helpful and very friendly. Unfortunately the breakfast was of a very low standard and the breakfast room very basic..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glaswegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
422 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 436 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Good location in a quiet side street, in walking distance to city centre - and who doesn't like to stroll along the canals? Reasonably sized rooms and an elevator are things which you can't take for granted in a mid- level Amsterdam hotel. Average staff - some need to learn to smile and to be more focussed on customer service. We complained about a constantly flushing noisy toilet; asked for another room; instead the receptionist promised to get it fixed, but forgot.
In summary a hotel we will return to - maybe.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Yea it's cheap considering hotels in Amsterdam but it was Average at best (2.5 out of 5). It was clean, which is the most important thing. Room was very quiet, good shower, free wifi. The safe wasn't working nor was the TV. The guy came to look at the safe, couldn't fix it and said don't worry, just close the door of the safe and the cabinet, it's ok. We were surprised and shocked by his response and lack of concern, we ended up taking all our valuables with us. He got the TV to turn on but after he left we realized after we couldn't turn it off with the remote so we had to climb onto a chair, then the desk to reach for the plug and then plug it back in again when we wanted it on. The room is small and furniture worn, the website pictures must have been taken awhile ago. We didn't eat there, found cheaper food down the street. Great location, walking distance to everything and if you're tired you can hire the bicyclists to drive you around.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keynotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#273 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#124 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#136 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#301 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#293 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel van Onna
Hotel van Onna
#198 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Looier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Looier

Property: Hotel De Looier
Address: Derde Looiersdwarsstraat 75, 1016 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Looier 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Looier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Looier Hotel
De Looier Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing