We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but warm and comfortable”
Review of Hotel De Looier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De Looier
Ranked #322 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Basic but warm and comfortable”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the hotel very warm and comfortable which was lovely as the temperatures outside were minus 12. the room was basic but comfortable could of done with decorating to brighten it up but clean. the staff were friendly and helpful.
Would we stay again? Yes but as a last resort we would like to stay nearer the centre next time, this hotel isnt that far away from the centre about a 10 min walk but when its so cold we wanted something closer to the centre.

Room Tip: you have to pay for hairdryers the hotel is quiet we were in a room at the back of the hotel breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    88
    120
    54
    59
See reviews for
48
138
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I recently stayed here on a trip with my boyfriend! I dont think it is as bad as the reviews make out.. I loved the location.. on a lovely QUIET street with beautiful canals and walking distance from all main attractions i.e dam square. If you are on a smoking trip there is a really good coffee shop a 2 minute walk away called the la tertulia. My room (cant remember which number) had clean beds, floors, walls and toilet, the only thing was maybe the shower felt a little a LITTLE unclean but that was just me my boyfriend thought it was fine. The beds are comfortable and my tv worked perfectly well.. DONT get breakfast though as it wasnt worth the money and you had to be in and out before 10am. The was a lady receptionist who was very friendly although there was an older man who seemed in a bad mood all the time (lol). alround i was happy and am planning on going back very soon for a 2nd stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amsterdam1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Stayed here for one night, got the room at a good price about 50 euros for a twin room with ensuite. At this price it was very good value but I believe the normal price is much higher.
The room was clean and the decor was quite modern in the room but the rest of the hotel looked shabby and the bathroom was a bit old fashioned.
However the beds were really comfy and the curtains were nice and thick so it was dark at night.
It was a bit noisy from another room.
We didnt have breakfast as that was extra.
We got a good tip about cheap bike rental and bus to the airport from the staff.
The area is good, near to Jordaan and Leidseplein.
I would stay again if the price was the same but it isn't worth the full normal price.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

You have to walk a bit from the train station, but when you get to the hotel, you are pretty close to everything.
We payed 69€ for our room, which was clean and pretty comfy. Nothing fancy, but good value for your money. Not very good soundproofing, though.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anilei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Exactly how it looks in the pictures. Did not expect much to be honest and it is basic but it has everything you need and the bed was comfortable which was the most important thing for us considering how tired you are after all the walking. Located just out of the tourist area which was quite nice, down side streets along the canals, next to boutiques , really nice walk and only 10/15mins walk to the main areas. Have I stayed in better, yes but I have stayed in worse. Staff were fine. Did not have breakfast in the hotel however smelled lovely and seemed busy every morning. The only bad thing is the flooring...it creaks a lot however this is only the landings.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Linzim17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed for four nights at this hotel, and were very happy.

It was very reasonably prices compared to other Amsterdam hotels. The location was resonable. Certainly not close to anything, but within walking distance of anything.

The room was well presented and clean, although a small fridge would have been nice. Bathroom was clean, but slightly let down by an old, cracked mirror.

The cleaners insisted on making up our room each day, despite a 'do not distirb' sign.

None of these things were detrimental though, and I would certainly recommend it as a good value, well located hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#270 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#125 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#137 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#300 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#292 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel van Onna
Hotel van Onna
#199 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Looier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Looier

Property: Hotel De Looier
Address: Derde Looiersdwarsstraat 75, 1016 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Looier 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Looier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Looier Hotel
De Looier Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing