We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not coming back”
Review of Hotel De Looier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel De Looier
Ranked #320 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

The room is not soundproof. You can hear people talking along the hallway. Staffs were nice. They gave us all the informations we need. Room is too small. Bathroom is too small. Ammenities were good. Not enough loghtning and power sources. Near metro and bus station. It was a bit hard to find this hotel at the beginning.

1  Thank Nauditaolivia
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank chui52
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Firstly, many taxi drivers are not familiar with the location, its in a tiny alleyway whose street name is not printed in most maps because it's so small. Therefore, ask the hotel reception to mark it on the map for you and bring it with you. However, once you get your bearings, it's located in a beautiful, quaint and idyllic location very close to a canal. At night on the other hand, it's very noisy. The first room we were given was unmade and the worrying thing they said was, that's weird, it wasn't occupied the night before. Our room was small but sufficient, the lighting wasn't very good, and many of the furnitures had scratches and the mirror was chipped. The shower was very good, very powerful, the best feature of the room.

We got this hotel through hotwire.com on a mystery hotel deal. For 2 nights, Saturday and Sunday, for only £175. I do not think I will stay here if it was more than this again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsTMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I've recently stayed at De Looier on a business trip. As you can see from my TripAdvisor profile, I've been to quite a few hotels across Europe, and this was one of the worst ones. Everything about De Looier seems average at best - yet I had to pay around €190 for a night, which seems completely absurd given the level of quality and service.
The staff is only moderately interested in providing service, the rooms are fairly big but dated, the bathroom was very old and cramped, I had water stains on my bedroom walls and ceiling and the breakfast was absolutely the worst I've seen in ages.
I'm easy to please, but this hotel was just not good enough. I would absolutely avoid it on future trips.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjdq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel at the end of April.
Getting there from schiphool is very easy.
Red bus 197 has a,stop just in front of the airport arrivals area.
4 euro a ride per person. You can pay in the bus.
The last stop (about 35 minutes ride) is Marnixstraat bus station which is a bustterminal about 300 - 400 meters from the hotel.

The staff are very friendly and helping.
Hair dryer is at the reception, if you need it.
The wifi is slow but free (password is Amsterdam).
Rooms are being cleaned daily.

Our room had some weird dent on the floor. Like covered hole or something. A bit noisy.

Also on upper floors, be carefull when exitting the elevator, the stairs are very close to the exit.

Breakfast is ok. No bacon though :(

Albert heijhn super market is really close so you can buy stuff on sain prices (including cheese).

Location is very nice.
Overall - would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teudatole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hotel is located very good, within 10-15 minutes walking distance to many of the centrally located point of interest. Room was quite small and standard was poor. Service was average with a decent breakfast included in price. Price was interesting, Monday to Wednesday was quite good price but on Thursday it nearly tripled compared to Monday. I may stay there once more due to the location and if getting a good price per night, not the experience of the hotel as such.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matte5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#280 of 376 in Amsterdam
514 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#150 of 376 in Amsterdam
473 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#107 of 376 in Amsterdam
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#103 of 376 in Amsterdam
897 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#316 of 376 in Amsterdam
390 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#310 of 376 in Amsterdam
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Looier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Looier

Address: Derde Looiersdwarsstraat 75, 1016 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £78 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Looier 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Looier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Looier Hotel
De Looier Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing