We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night and day”
Review of Hotel De Looier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Looier
Ranked #324 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Night and day
We arrived about 2100 and was allocated room 22 on the second floor? No it was ground floor. The room was facing rear window looking onto black reguse bags, tiled floor with broken one with sharp edges, shelfs needed wipe of dust, and pillows badly stained. Not what we paid for and nothing like what was on their web page!
Moved to room 242 should have been at first. Hotel located in nice area easy to walk to all places. Breakfast bar was served by very friendly staff, and comprised of cold meats, cheese, cereal, boiled and scrambled eggs, bread croissants with good coffee out of a machine etc. Disappointing not as good as hotels from past stays in Amsterdam. Note hotel does not provide wash hand basin plugs and does not have a locked secure storage.

Room Tip: Not ground floor!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Hotel De Looier
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during Kingsday weekend and it was perfect for a long weekend with friends. the room was quite spacious and didnt feel cramped at all with 3 of us in there. bathroom was clean and tidy and the shower was powerful.

the best thing about this hotel is the location - so close to everything. would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loulou c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Located quite far from the central, about 20-30 minutes walk (if you are not lost !), but you can get on Tram No 17 to Amsterdam Central Station. Tram Station is just a few steps away.

The trade-off is it is located at a quiet neighborhood and near to the canals (view is stunning !).

Booked a double room but was upgraded to a triple room upon check-in. (Triple room was not available when we did the online booking). Very happy with that as we traveled with 3 young kids.

Room was quite spacious as we have plenty of room to walk even with 2 super huge luggage. The only thing was the lighting in the room was poor. We hardly see things in the wardrobe because it was dark in the room.

Breakfast was not included in our rate but we tried their breakfast for just one morning. It was okay but you can get better options if you are willing to walk a bit.

My tip for those with limited time in Amsterdam is to get hotel near the Central Station. Go for Double Tree by Hilton, Ibis or Crowne Plaza (next to Little Istanbul, a halal restaurant).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmiraRasyidin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The hotel was difficult to find but once it was tracked down the location was quite good, handy for trams and local bars. The welcome was pleasant and luckily I had a top floor room with some views over the roof tops. The rooms were modestly appointed but were quite clean. The duvets were excellent! But as can be expected from a hotel of this price and rating the noise from the corridors and adjacent rooms was quite loud. The continental breakfast was served in a nice bright dining room and was good. Wifi adequate.
Overall a good 3* hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top 3rd floor, much brighter and I suspect quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euston33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Great location and breakfast, but poor Wifi, noisy. We stayed in the same floor as the entrance, so everyone that arrived we could hear the noise of the door (and the floor is really old so we hear anyone walking... upper and same floor) it was recently painted, so the smell was really strong!

Room Tip: Not first floor!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magicju1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Good value for money..we just wanted a clean warm place and it was!nothing fancy nothing modern.quiet street not far from centre.one receptionist nice one receptionist rude!cleaning the room everyday but the towels older than me!!very soft bouncy matres good for sex bad for back problems!as a conclusion if you need a cheap clean place to sleep hotel de looier is a good choice!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kikigiannis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Booked this hotel via Hotwire and after reading some of the previous reviews here, I was very apprehensive about staying there. However, it wasn't that bad. The hotel is situated in a nice quite area of the Jordaan with some lovely little cafes and shops nearby. The whole area is very pretty. It is easy to get to from the airport, red bus 197 to Markinstraat and the hotel is across the road. We had a quad room which was reasonably spacious. Bathroom a bit on the small side though. The towels which some people have commented about were clean and looked fairly new. TV and safe were both working fine. Breakfast was pretty basic. Staff at Reception were friendly and helpful. You can walk to all the main tourist areas as it's not that far. If you are planning a short visit and don't intend to spend much time in the room, then I would say that for the price, it was ok.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allouttotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#273 of 371 in Amsterdam
499 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#137 of 371 in Amsterdam
454 reviews
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#109 of 371 in Amsterdam
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NL Hotel District Leidseplein
#244 of 371 in Amsterdam
352 reviews
Jordaan
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
Amsterdam Wiechmann Hotel
#89 of 371 in Amsterdam
873 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#241 of 371 in Amsterdam
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Looier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Looier

Address: Derde Looiersdwarsstraat 75, 1016 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #324 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £81 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Looier 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Looier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Looier Hotel
De Looier Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing