We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location.. we would definitely stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Ranked #205 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great hotel, great location.. we would definitely stay again!”
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The staff here at the hotel were great, all so friendly and helpful. They also all speak great english for any english people planning to stay there! The stairs were very steep (we were on the 2nd floor which wasn't too bad) but there are no lifts and so we wouldn't recommend it for people with walking difficulties. The location of the hotel is AMAZING!! its just off Dam Square and its in the centre of everything!

Our room and bathroom were very small but they were perfect as we didnt want to spend lots of time in the hotel. It also didn't really look anything like the pictures on their website! The bed in the room was also the comfiest bed I've ever slept in and the room was cleaned every day by the maids. However, there was only one window which only opened a slight bit which didn't let very much fresh air in so if it hadn't of been for the fan that was in our room we probably wouldn't have been able to stick it as it was so warm in the room constantly (especially when someone had a shower!) Another thing was that in the mornings the cleaners in the hotel were very very noisy and so we were woke up by that every morning at about 9 or half 9!

Despite this we would definitely stay here again as we found this hotel to be great for what we wanted and it was right in the centre of everything. The staff at reception were all great, really really friendly, polite and helpful!
Would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a great hotel in the centre of Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Our view was looking into someone's apartment, not sure if they're all like this but i think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archie033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    167
    113
    44
    32
See reviews for
51
162
31
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We said in 4 bedded room on 1st floor at front of hotel, and have to say it wasn't too noisy;although we stay on wednesday and could be different at weekends. The location can't be beaten and city can easily be walked around from here. It's about 10 mins from Central station and 2 mins from Dam Square. The staff were friendly and spoke very good English.

We didn't have breakfast at hotel, but bakery next door does croissant and pastries etc,with coffee; so wasn't a problem. In fact the range of bars and restaurants in the street means you wouldn't need to walk too far anyway

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hornett93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

My friends and I stayed in a triple room for three nights. The room was in the first floor towards the back of the hotel so we couldn't hear any street noise during the night. Furthermore, our room was very spacious. It was really a triple room and not just a double room with an extra bed. We were very positively surprised! The bathroom was also big enough for the three of us. The TV had dozens of channels and the beds were very comfortable.

The staff was extremely friendly and it didn't hurt that most of them could speak Finnish with us. We had an early arrival and a late departure but we could leave our luggage in the luggage room. The staff was also very helpful and readily answered all of our questions (at the hotel and through e-mail already less than an hour after we had made our reservation through ebookers). The reception was open 24/7.

The location was great! We only had to use public transportation to get to the airport. All the museums, shopping streets, sights, parks etc. were within walking distance. The walk to the central railway station only took about 15 minutes.

We didn't try the hotel's own breakfast but there were many grocery stores, cafes and restaurants nearby. The nearest ones were in the same building. You'll never go to bed hungry!

All in all, our stay at the hotel was very pleasant. The only negative side I can think of is the fact that our room didn't have its own hairdryer. If we wanted one, we had to borrow it from the reception.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ikkiryyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Booked this through DFDS seaways city break. One night. Good location, near Dam Square (not "5 minutes" walk, more like 10 from drop off point), but well-located for City Centre activities. Busy street, but room was quiet and clean. Small Shower room, but again, clean and functional. Breakfast continental delivered to room, small but adequate. Friendly reception. No complaints. Sure the room was small-ish, but if you spend most of your time out it doesn't matter. TV could use relocation, though. The flat screen wasn't visible from the bed-angle. Would recommend for City Centre short breaks.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beekysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We chose this hotel for it's superb location. Within walking distance to the main train station, shopping area, attraction etc.there are plenty of restaurants just next door and also a very nice bakery nearby for a quick bite.
The room we stayed was in 3rd floor was very small but also very clean.there was no lift and it will be quite a challege if u have large luggage.if u need a luxury hotel, this is not for u.
Despite the room n the narrow, steep staircase, we were greeted warmly at the reception and the whole stay.the staffs were very helpful, friendly people who helped and made our stay in amsterdam a memorable one!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella-Pumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Without doubt, if you're looking for a great locale that's easy to find and close to the train station as well as the action of Amsterdam, this is your place. However, if you and your mate want to walk around the room at the same time or if you carry large luggage, consider another place. I have a bigger closet than the room in which I stayed.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YogaGirlOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I've stayed in this hotel before and it's ok, this time however I stayed with a friend for 2 nights so we could explore the city and all we wanted was some where reasonably priced to leave our bags,sleep and shower. well thats what we got !

no issues very efficient online check-in the staff where nice and the rooms where not bad. sheets where clean, however we where on the fourth floor and it was a effort climbing the stairs at 4 in the morning !

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anothervaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#135 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,337 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#184 of 368 in Amsterdam
788 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#61 of 368 in Amsterdam
552 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Hotel Cafe Corner House
#152 of 368 in Amsterdam
421 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Property: Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends! Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing