We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good for budget travellers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Ranked #205 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Spruce Grove, Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location, good for budget travellers!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is right off of Dam Square and it is within walking distance of everything. Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was extremely small and hot so I would not recommend it during the summer months. The bed was comfortable but small, my bf is 6'2" and his feet hung over the edge. There is very little space for luggage or just to move around period. The stairs are steep and narrow so if you have any mobility issues, you might want to stay elsewhere. It is a very basic hotel, no hairdryers or toiletries. I would recommend this hotel to someone who is on a budget and just looking for somewhere safe to sleep and shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a room other than #20
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggs72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    162
    111
    42
    32
See reviews for
51
158
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed for 3nights in october.the hotel was clean and staff friendly,it was cold but rooms have central heating,take a hair dryer girls,we were room only but right next door is a chiness take away wok in a box,which is handy after a night out on the ale which the hotel let you take back to your room.next to that is the best cake shop ever, then a cafe after that which do a good breakfast for 7.50euro.the train is so easy to get from the airport to dam central and its only 8.50euro return.we were charged 5% tax at the hotel and had to give them 20euros on arrivel.The anne frank house is one to see, your in a queue for 30 mins and its 8.50euros each takes about an hour to walk round.Theres no lift in the hotel we were on the 3rd floor and being 50 it was a killer for me,but saying that we would stay here again we had a great time.

Room Tip: try and get floors 1 or 2 if your no good at climbind stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yfleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

I stayed in Hotel de Gerstekorrel for three nights in October. The hotel is right there in the city centre, a walking distance to the Amsterdam central railway station, many sights and shopping areas. Great location, helpfull staff, clean rooms. I would stay there again.

The hotel has no breakfast room, but breakfast can be ordered to your room (there is a choice of "small breakfast" and normal breakfast. If you're not busy (and the breakfast is not included in the price), you might be better off finding a nice cafe in the neirbourghood.

The hotel has no elevator, so if you have trouble climbing the stairs, ask for a room on the first floor. If possible ask for a room that is not facing Damstraat, as it can be somewhat noisy.

Tip for Finnish travellers: most of the staff speaks Finnish. :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanna_helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

The hotel is in a great location, close to dam square, local shops and local tourist attactions. The hotel staff are really friendly and you get breakfast in bed in the morning, you arrange a time with the staff and it is there waiting on your door step. The rooms were spacious and clean and excellent value for money. Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone as everything is on your door step.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayleyw86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

The staff here at the hotel were great, all so friendly and helpful. They also all speak great english for any english people planning to stay there! The stairs were very steep (we were on the 2nd floor which wasn't too bad) but there are no lifts and so we wouldn't recommend it for people with walking difficulties. The location of the hotel is AMAZING!! its just off Dam Square and its in the centre of everything!

Our room and bathroom were very small but they were perfect as we didnt want to spend lots of time in the hotel. It also didn't really look anything like the pictures on their website! The bed in the room was also the comfiest bed I've ever slept in and the room was cleaned every day by the maids. However, there was only one window which only opened a slight bit which didn't let very much fresh air in so if it hadn't of been for the fan that was in our room we probably wouldn't have been able to stick it as it was so warm in the room constantly (especially when someone had a shower!) Another thing was that in the mornings the cleaners in the hotel were very very noisy and so we were woke up by that every morning at about 9 or half 9!

Despite this we would definitely stay here again as we found this hotel to be great for what we wanted and it was right in the centre of everything. The staff at reception were all great, really really friendly, polite and helpful!
Would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a great hotel in the centre of Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Our view was looking into someone's apartment, not sure if they're all like this but i think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archie033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We said in 4 bedded room on 1st floor at front of hotel, and have to say it wasn't too noisy;although we stay on wednesday and could be different at weekends. The location can't be beaten and city can easily be walked around from here. It's about 10 mins from Central station and 2 mins from Dam Square. The staff were friendly and spoke very good English.

We didn't have breakfast at hotel, but bakery next door does croissant and pastries etc,with coffee; so wasn't a problem. In fact the range of bars and restaurants in the street means you wouldn't need to walk too far anyway

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hornett93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

My friends and I stayed in a triple room for three nights. The room was in the first floor towards the back of the hotel so we couldn't hear any street noise during the night. Furthermore, our room was very spacious. It was really a triple room and not just a double room with an extra bed. We were very positively surprised! The bathroom was also big enough for the three of us. The TV had dozens of channels and the beds were very comfortable.

The staff was extremely friendly and it didn't hurt that most of them could speak Finnish with us. We had an early arrival and a late departure but we could leave our luggage in the luggage room. The staff was also very helpful and readily answered all of our questions (at the hotel and through e-mail already less than an hour after we had made our reservation through ebookers). The reception was open 24/7.

The location was great! We only had to use public transportation to get to the airport. All the museums, shopping streets, sights, parks etc. were within walking distance. The walk to the central railway station only took about 15 minutes.

We didn't try the hotel's own breakfast but there were many grocery stores, cafes and restaurants nearby. The nearest ones were in the same building. You'll never go to bed hungry!

All in all, our stay at the hotel was very pleasant. The only negative side I can think of is the fact that our room didn't have its own hairdryer. If we wanted one, we had to borrow it from the reception.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ikkiryyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#191 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#133 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#288 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#54 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#176 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Property: Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends! Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing