We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rho Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel V Nesplein(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rokin Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cordial(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
126
182
121
49
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
182
121
49
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftdam squarered light districtcentral locationgreat locationsteep stairsdoor stepfriendly receptionthird floorcontinental breakfastbeds were very comfortabletop floorwet roomnoisy at nightwould stay here againstaying at this hotelanne franks house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I booked a single room for a 1 night stay .Here is the only things that were good .This hotel is very central to Dam sq and Central station which is ideal for getting around .Staff was very friendly .Bad side ,Room was tiny .A bed with a tv on the wall and a shower room .I understand I paid for a single room but I think this was a closet turned into a bedroom .There was dust in the sink ,shower floor was dirty and carpet was dirty .In my opinion this room was not used in a long while and no one bothered to check if it was clean.Also there was a locked door in the room at the end of the bed which I found out at 12.30 that night that this was for next doors room when they tried to open the door .They began talking and I may as well have been in the room with them .At 8.30am the next morn I had the hoover in the next room going and a guy chatting outside my door while he messed around with a ladder and maintenance .I would have complained about the dirt of the room but felt as I was only using as a bed for the night I wouldnt bother but Im sorry now I didnt .I had a really bad experience and will not stay there again.I didnt know Amsterdam which was why I chose this hotel but will make sure not to book here ever again

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shardylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerstekorrel_De, Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Dear "Shardylan",

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear the bathroom didn't meet the standards that we are used to have. About this I have passed the message to the housekeeping.
We have this year changed the carpet on the hallways and very soon the same will be done in the rooms as well. We will anyhow have a look at this single room if the carpet should be changed there immediately.
I hope you would still choose us for your next visit in Amsterdam, please contact us directly if you do!
With best regards, Ramona Korhonen-Breukel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Great location, as hotel was placed in very central location which was very accessible for all of the main sights. The hotel wassatisfactory. Rooms could have been cleaner as carpet was quite dirty, walls are very fine between rooms and the people in the next room were vomiting and very noisy.


  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

November 2012
5th time in Amsterdam. Party of 3.
Clean tidy room. Helpful friendly staff.
By far the best value for money hotel i've stayed in in Amsterdam.
Highly recommended.
Seconds away from Dam Square. Close to RLD & Rembrandt Square too.

Room Tip: Be specific before you arrive!!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Room was very small with double bed, no space for bags. My flight arrived early and requested early check in. Staff made it happen but had to wait outside since they do not have a lobby. All shops and resturants were closed since it was 6am. Had to walk out in cold and make up time to check in at 11am. Location was perfect, not happy about walking up two floors with bags. Room looks nothing like picture, its actually old, bed was old.

Room Tip: always check if lobby and lift is available in hotel before booking
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Nothing bad to say everything was good/great very central, ccomfortable beds, helpful reception staff, quiet inside concidering it's busy location, only about 10mins walk from central station, hot shower

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews