We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Ranked #199 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Affordable and Convenient”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

On a very last minute trip to Amsterdam, we were after somewhere that's good for the budget and comfortable; Hotel Damrak fit the bill.

The good: hot private shower, free wifi, reasonably tidy twin room, baggage holding space for the few hours after you check out and nice staff (especially the man we first spoke to, I forget his name but he wore glasses... quite friendly and helpful. I also noticed him giving a couple some sound advice on other places to visit in the Netherlands). Moreover, one of the hotel staff cheerfully helped me carry some luggage upstairs! It was a heavy bag but he was nothing but kind about the whole ordeal even when I realised I didn't have some euros ready for a tip.

The bad: I'm not sure that this should be a minus because this is a budget hotel but facilities are kept to a bare minimum, no tea/ coffee making and there is no lounge space. Another unfortunate point, if I were to nitpick, is the 3 euro per 15 min charge to use the main PC (they insisted even in an emergency, this is where I fault the service slightly) so bad luck if your smartphone runs out of charge, you have no java or wifi isn't working properly. However, we only discovered this due to unforeseen circumstances so it shouldn't be an issue for most people. Finally, this place does have some steep stairs so consider if you happen to be on the third floor onwards...we are young and active so this didn't bother us so much but may be inconvenient for some.

A funny thing to note is that they include a 'sweet breakfast' which we only noticed on the receipt while travelling back. Supposedly this is some kind of chocolate bar, anyway, it made us giggle!

Essentially: For the price and what's on offer, I would stay here again and so would my friend but I recommend a stay if you are not too fussy (I'm a little fussy about cleanliness so would ask for improvements but it was OK. My biggest issues were the drawers, I couldn't put my things in as I could tell they had not been wiped. Such a shame as everything else was fine). Honestly, it's a great place if you're only in Amsterdam for a few days and with a friend(s), this is not the place for romance. I say don't go expecting anything close to a 4 or even 3 star hotel and you'll be happy! 2 stars; it was functional, warm and the staff were friendly/ professional.

Room Tip: Maybe it's strange but we liked our 3rd floor rooms, thought of it as free exercise and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust_I_Wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    171
    115
    45
    32
See reviews for
53
166
31
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I have stayed here twice now, and have no complaints whatsoever.
The hotel is split into two buildings (almost next door to each other - smoking and non smoking). I have only stayed in the smoking part, so can only comment on that really.

The rooms are fairly compact, but when staying in a city like Amsterdam, you need the room for sleep and shower, and the rooms fit this purpose perfectly.
Beds are comfortable, rooms are clean and have a modern feel to them.
If you stay at the front of the hotel, do expect some street noise - you are RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE of Amsterdam!!

Staff are friendly and helpful, plenty of leaflets/guides etc in reception.

Location is perfect. 30secs to Dam Square, 2mins to Red Light District, 5min from Kalverstraat shopping Street, 10min from Centraal station, 10min Rembrandt Square

There are loads of restaurants right outside the hotel, from chip/hot dog stands, kebab shop, chinese, pizza, bakery and a few standard Amsterdam 'Argentinian restaurants'.
McDonalds and KFC are just across Dam Square, as is a small Albert Heijn Supermarket (There is a larger one behind the Palace)

ATM (ING Bank) 20secs from reception, just on the corner of the 5Euro store.
Currency exchange across the road
Luggage storage at the hotel

And of course, lots of coffeeshops nearby - just around the corner from Greenhouse and a few minutes walk to the Warmoestraat, where there are LOADS of coffeeshops - Be sure to stop by Hunter's!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front will have some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelle_TravelAgent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I booked a single room for a 1 night stay .Here is the only things that were good .This hotel is very central to Dam sq and Central station which is ideal for getting around .Staff was very friendly .Bad side ,Room was tiny .A bed with a tv on the wall and a shower room .I understand I paid for a single room but I think this was a closet turned into a bedroom .There was dust in the sink ,shower floor was dirty and carpet was dirty .In my opinion this room was not used in a long while and no one bothered to check if it was clean.Also there was a locked door in the room at the end of the bed which I found out at 12.30 that night that this was for next doors room when they tried to open the door .They began talking and I may as well have been in the room with them .At 8.30am the next morn I had the hoover in the next room going and a guy chatting outside my door while he messed around with a ladder and maintenance .I would have complained about the dirt of the room but felt as I was only using as a bed for the night I wouldnt bother but Im sorry now I didnt .I had a really bad experience and will not stay there again.I didnt know Amsterdam which was why I chose this hotel but will make sure not to book here ever again

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shardylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerstekorrel_De, Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear "Shardylan",

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear the bathroom didn't meet the standards that we are used to have. About this I have passed the message to the housekeeping.
We have this year changed the carpet on the hallways and very soon the same will be done in the rooms as well. We will anyhow have a look at this single room if the carpet should be changed there immediately.
I hope you would still choose us for your next visit in Amsterdam, please contact us directly if you do!
With best regards, Ramona Korhonen-Breukel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Great location, as hotel was placed in very central location which was very accessible for all of the main sights. The hotel wassatisfactory. Rooms could have been cleaner as carpet was quite dirty, walls are very fine between rooms and the people in the next room were vomiting and very noisy.


  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

November 2012
5th time in Amsterdam. Party of 3.
Clean tidy room. Helpful friendly staff.
By far the best value for money hotel i've stayed in in Amsterdam.
Highly recommended.
Seconds away from Dam Square. Close to RLD & Rembrandt Square too.

Room Tip: Be specific before you arrive!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Room was very small with double bed, no space for bags. My flight arrived early and requested early check in. Staff made it happen but had to wait outside since they do not have a lobby. All shops and resturants were closed since it was 6am. Had to walk out in cold and make up time to check in at 11am. Location was perfect, not happy about walking up two floors with bags. Room looks nothing like picture, its actually old, bed was old.

Room Tip: always check if lobby and lift is available in hotel before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Nothing bad to say everything was good/great very central, ccomfortable beds, helpful reception staff, quiet inside concidering it's busy location, only about 10mins walk from central station, hot shower

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,384 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#184 of 368 in Amsterdam
800 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#290 of 368 in Amsterdam
562 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
609 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Property: Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends! Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing