We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, perfectly clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Ranked #207 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect location, perfectly clean!”
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

1 minute walk from Dam square, it cannot be more central. The room was perfectly clean, the bed was comfy and front desk people was friendly. PERFECT for the price I've paid! I recommend this hotel for everyone who doesn't wanna pay much but still be in a very clean place in central Amsterdam.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    163
    113
    43
    32
See reviews for
51
160
30
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I had a single room on the first floor facing the road and it was very neat and well kept. As it was facing the road at times it was a little noisy because it is a very busy street but the noise wasn't bad. You're definitely in the heart of Amsterdam and can walk just about anywhere or ride a bike if you are brave :) Room was small but had everything I needed, I haven't been to too many European hotels but from what I've seen most houses and hotels in Europe are on the smaller side and are more necessity than luxury, especially when in a busy area and at the right price. No complaints here, the staff was great and the hotel is centrally located to everything I wanted to see. Would definitely stay here again if I ever go back. Thumbs up!!!

Room Tip: Maybe stay away from the road side of the hotel for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuwannaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

It's nothing like the photos! They used carpet as skirting boards tight! nod they would only change the towels if you asked them me and my mates smoked the gaff out with the pen gets silver nd lemon g 13 Amg!! The only good thing is the location! Don't stay here

Room Tip: Stay in a apartment instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sm0key20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerstekorrel_De, Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Sir,
I am sorry but we don't really understand what you mean with your reply? We are indeed not changing the towels daily since we care of our environment but if you like them to be changed, you just place them on the floor.

Best regards, the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

i had a last minute trip to amsterdam at christmas i stayed at this hotel.cant really complain about anything great location not bad size 2 bed room with ensuite for the price i paid.and the room had the added bonus of being a smoking room which was fantastic as smoking rooms are getting harder to get in the city.ideal if you have the munchies as you have an array of restaruants and fast food all on your doorstep.overall a pleasant stay.i would stay here again.

Room Tip: excellent for smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveyboysmith1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Spent one night here on a mini cruise break from Newcastle, hotel is just off Dam square easy to find, and right in the middle of all the attractions. Rooms are clean basic but al that you would need for one or two nights.My wife and i will definetly use this hotel again, friendly staff and nothing to much bother for them when you ask for anything, You need to give 50 euro deposit when you sign in to tte hotel and get straight back whenyou leave, there is a locked room where you can leave baggage after you check out at 10 30 if like us you are not leaving Amsterdam till afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunchaserNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2013

On a very last minute trip to Amsterdam, we were after somewhere that's good for the budget and comfortable; Hotel Damrak fit the bill.

The good: hot private shower, free wifi, reasonably tidy twin room, baggage holding space for the few hours after you check out and nice staff (especially the man we first spoke to, I forget his name but he wore glasses... quite friendly and helpful. I also noticed him giving a couple some sound advice on other places to visit in the Netherlands). Moreover, one of the hotel staff cheerfully helped me carry some luggage upstairs! It was a heavy bag but he was nothing but kind about the whole ordeal even when I realised I didn't have some euros ready for a tip.

The bad: I'm not sure that this should be a minus because this is a budget hotel but facilities are kept to a bare minimum, no tea/ coffee making and there is no lounge space. Another unfortunate point, if I were to nitpick, is the 3 euro per 15 min charge to use the main PC (they insisted even in an emergency, this is where I fault the service slightly) so bad luck if your smartphone runs out of charge, you have no java or wifi isn't working properly. However, we only discovered this due to unforeseen circumstances so it shouldn't be an issue for most people. Finally, this place does have some steep stairs so consider if you happen to be on the third floor onwards...we are young and active so this didn't bother us so much but may be inconvenient for some.

A funny thing to note is that they include a 'sweet breakfast' which we only noticed on the receipt while travelling back. Supposedly this is some kind of chocolate bar, anyway, it made us giggle!

Essentially: For the price and what's on offer, I would stay here again and so would my friend but I recommend a stay if you are not too fussy (I'm a little fussy about cleanliness so would ask for improvements but it was OK. My biggest issues were the drawers, I couldn't put my things in as I could tell they had not been wiped. Such a shame as everything else was fine). Honestly, it's a great place if you're only in Amsterdam for a few days and with a friend(s), this is not the place for romance. I say don't go expecting anything close to a 4 or even 3 star hotel and you'll be happy! 2 stars; it was functional, warm and the staff were friendly/ professional.

Room Tip: Maybe it's strange but we liked our 3rd floor rooms, thought of it as free exercise and the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust_I_Wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I have stayed here twice now, and have no complaints whatsoever.
The hotel is split into two buildings (almost next door to each other - smoking and non smoking). I have only stayed in the smoking part, so can only comment on that really.

The rooms are fairly compact, but when staying in a city like Amsterdam, you need the room for sleep and shower, and the rooms fit this purpose perfectly.
Beds are comfortable, rooms are clean and have a modern feel to them.
If you stay at the front of the hotel, do expect some street noise - you are RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE of Amsterdam!!

Staff are friendly and helpful, plenty of leaflets/guides etc in reception.

Location is perfect. 30secs to Dam Square, 2mins to Red Light District, 5min from Kalverstraat shopping Street, 10min from Centraal station, 10min Rembrandt Square

There are loads of restaurants right outside the hotel, from chip/hot dog stands, kebab shop, chinese, pizza, bakery and a few standard Amsterdam 'Argentinian restaurants'.
McDonalds and KFC are just across Dam Square, as is a small Albert Heijn Supermarket (There is a larger one behind the Palace)

ATM (ING Bank) 20secs from reception, just on the corner of the 5Euro store.
Currency exchange across the road
Luggage storage at the hotel

And of course, lots of coffeeshops nearby - just around the corner from Greenhouse and a few minutes walk to the Warmoestraat, where there are LOADS of coffeeshops - Be sure to stop by Hunter's!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front will have some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelle_TravelAgent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#188 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#292 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#57 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#175 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Property: Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends! Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing