We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Nearby Hotels
US$434
US$367
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel V Nesplein(Amsterdam)
US$348
US$314
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sir Albert Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$256
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$237
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
US$372
US$352
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Aalders(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$207
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Toren(Amsterdam)
US$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$174
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$556
US$447
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
126
182
121
49
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
182
121
49
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftdam squarered light districtcentral locationgreat locationsteep stairsdoor stepfriendly receptionthird floorcontinental breakfastbeds were very comfortabletop floorwet roomnoisy at nightwould stay here againstaying at this hotelanne franks house
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Do not believe their website a second!! This place would have been OK for my 18 year old son bag-backing and stopping in Amsterdam for a night or two. Our Medical conference at the RAI center recommended this terrible place for us at 150 euros a night... unbelievable!! I would have may be paid $80 for such a place but no more. Four floors, no elevator and extremely stiff to not say dangerous stair cases. The day before the check-out, we've been told that the check-out time was 10:30am... that was the icing on the cake!!! I've been traveling everywhere in the world and have never see this... why not 8am!!
The good news is that I'm a good sleeper, otherwise do not forget your ear plugs... The location being more than animated and the building windows having no insolation of any sort...
No breakfast room, you must have your breakfast in your room, no choice... Not talking about the breakfast itself. No choice, a slice of Dutch cheese and a piece of bread visible heated-up in a microwave.
But the worst is probably the cleanness of the place. I took a few pictures that I attached to this review.
Finally the Internet is Free, hopefully free because extremely lousy!!!
AVOID THIS PLACE!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno620207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerstekorrel_De, Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review.

I am really sorry that you did not like your stay by us. The customer satisfaction is very important to us and we try to do our best to satisfy all the needs of our clients.

We are located in the city center and like in all the hotels in the center it can be noicy. However we also have some rooms on the backside and perhaps we could have moved you there. Did you mention about the noice at the reception?
For the breakfast we have three choices and indeed we do serve it up to the room, which make lot of our clients very happy. You mentioned that the bread is heated up in the micro but we actually bake it here.
The size of the room is actually very normal size of a two star hotel in Amsterdam city center but I don't know actually if the rooms are much bigger in four - or five star hotels in Amsterdam.
All the two star hotels in Amsterdam are actually without an elevator.

Regarding the cleaning I hope that you would have mentioned about it during your stay. We clean the rooms daily and if there are any problems or requests, we of course coem to clean again.
Hotel wants to provide the customers extra pillows and blankets, but of course to provide more space in the room, we can move those extras.

Like I said the customer satisfaction is very important to us and we do our best to meet the wishes that our clients have. Even being a two star, we are very much liked among to our business clients as well.
I hope that we would be able to accommodate you again in our hotel and hopefully then your stay would be much more pleasant.

With best regards, the management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

It was an ok hotel. Well placed in central Amsterdam, not far from the main station. My only gripe was being asked to pay a 50 euro deposit for my room. No mention of this at the time of booking so if you don't have the 50 euros, you're in trouble. That's a rotten way to do business.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sonya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Excellent location for all main attractions. Hotel basic & clean but room very small and as we were on 3rd floor with no lift the steep stairs were a bit of a challenge. Reception staff were very helpful and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel for four nights over a long weekend just there, went with 3 friends and we had a quadruple occupancy room on the 1st Floor, non-smoking. The check-in went fine, had to pay city tax of nearly 50 euros but would have had to do this anywhere. However, we were charged a 100 euro deposit for the room, which we did get back at the end but just watch out for this!

The hotel staff were very friendly and professonial, 24 hour access and they keep your room key at reception for safe keeping while you are out. The room was very clean, well laid out with the four beds, and overlooked the street outside which could be noisy at times but this is because you are right in the heart of Amsterdam, down the street from the Royal Palace. The area is very central - plenty of places for food / drink / smoking and other forms of entertainment (red light district is right around the corner).

We also had a friend staying nearby and the hotel were very kind to let us all chill out in the room together, having a few beers etc. Overall, a brilliant experience from start to finish, cannot fault this hotel at all for the price and would most definitely be staying here again in the very near future!

Room Tip: First floor rooms may be a bit noisy for families, due to the street below.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciaran88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This really is the perfect low cost hotel in Amsterdam. It has everything you want especially if you are only in town for a few days. Excellent location allows you to explore everything Amsterdam has to offer within easy walking distance and the friendly reception (which is 24 hour) is helpful with anything else you need. After a busy day of enjoying amsterdamish activities the beds are super comfy and later checkout means everything is at your leisure. The rooms themselves are well appointed and over the three separate occasions that I have stayed here it has been quieter than expected in the evenings. Overall a wonderful hotel

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews