We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Nearby Hotels
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Room Mate Aitana(Amsterdam)
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$255
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$365
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (518)
Filter reviews
518 results
Traveller rating
128
184
122
49
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
184
122
49
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftdam squarered light districtcentral locationgreat locationsteep stairsdoor stepfriendly receptionthird floorcontinental breakfastbeds were very comfortabletop floorwet roomnoisy at nightwould stay here againstaying at this hotelanne franks house
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 518 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

A friend and I stayed here for two nights. It was decent, not sure if it was worth the price we paid. The bathroom was very small, it was hard not to get anything wet while having a shower. The beds were decently comfy. I think the location is what made this hotel worth staying at. BEWARE OF THE STAIRS. lol, very steep! The outlets to plug in your devices were in strange places, and some didn't keep the plug in the wall. Our room was clean and tidy. Perfect for younger travellers.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the backside of the hotel. MUCH more quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel is in the centre of everything. A ten minute walk from the train station and situated in Red Light District. Many restaurants, pubs and cafés right on Damstraat, you only need to walk a few metres. We stayed four nights at the annex, 50 metres from the hotel entrance. Steep, narrow stairs to the third floor. The room was very small, but had the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in! On the negative side: the walls were very thin , so you could hear your neighbours, the hallway and the room was reeking with old ciggarette smoke which they tried to cover up by using tons of stinky perfume. Also, the neighbours were smoking weed in their room. The room was facing the back yard so no sound from the outside. When checking out you can pay €2 to leave your luggage in an unguarded room if catching a late flight.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddepda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Maddepda:
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our location. Although we are not officially located in the red light district we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location. Thank you for the compliments on our comfortable beds! We hope that if other guests are being a nuisance or too noisy that we are informed of it in reception right away as our reception desk is open 24 hours. This way we can intervene on on other guests behalf. Sometimes it happens that without specific instructions from guests they can be placed in the smoking section of the hotel when they prefer nonsmoking. We always request that if guests have specific needs for their room that they contact us in advance so that we can try to honor those requests. Although the luggage room is not guarded it is locked and the key can only be obtained from the receptionist where we can keep track of who is coming and going. We hope that you will visit with us again and if so, email us directly with your preferences. As a returning guest your requests will be given priority! We hope to see you soon! Best regards, the staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights in April and were very satisfied with the location. Easy access everywhere. Small hotel with very friendly staff. No elevators. Bathrooms new and clean. Ja jos olet suomalainen, asiointi on todella helppoa, koska miltei koko henkilökunta on suomalaista.

Room Tip: We stayed at the top floor and it was very quiet with a nice view over the roofs of Amsterdam.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights last week. It's in a great location and was everything we needed - central, clean and tidy, breakfast provided, late check-out and able to store our luggage on our last day. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room and bathroom were spotless. We were at the front of the hotel but, despite it being on a very busy street, it was quiet (we were 3 floors up!) and the beds were really comfy. 2 things to note - no lift and the stairs are quite steep, so don't book if you've mobility issues and 2, its very easy to miss, so look out for it! (Tip: turn left out of the hotel, then 1st left again - there's a restaurant called Van Kerkwijk - you can't book and there's no menu on display but the food is fabulous, the atmosphere lovely and its all very reasonable. You've got to go for a meal - you won't be disappointed!)

Room Tip: Ask which floor you're on - lots of stairs - no lift!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamSouthLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Room Tip: Privat 3 person room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews