We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Place - Brilliant location - Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Ranked #209 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Place - Brilliant location - Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A group of four girls stayed here, the room was just what we needed for our trip!
The beds were unbelievably comfortable, some very good nights sleep! Any time spent in the hotel was pleasant!
The staff were always very polite and welcoming, and even arranged balloons for our friends birthday.
It was very well located for the price just off Dam Square and close to bars, restaurants and cafes.
Tv was very diverse, a few English language speaking channels.
Really big windows which made the room seem a lot bigger and brighter.
The room was extremely clean when we arrived. We chose not to have the cleaner come in because we were asleep until quite late....oooops.

The hotel is close by to things you may want to see, like the Royal Palace, Red Light District, Bars, Cafes, lots of choice for food (lovely pizza place below) and the canals.

Thanks to all the staff at Hotel De Gerstekorrel!
Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We were on the front of the hotel and even then the noise wasnt too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear RobynL2390,
We really appreciate that you took the time to write such a thoughtful and detailed review of our hotel. Thank you. We are delighted to hear that you found the beds comfortable and were able to sleep in – that is what a vacation is for! We are pleased that you enjoyed our central location and everything it has to offer. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon. Please contact us before reserving, as returning guests are given top priority! Best regards, the staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    163
    113
    43
    32
See reviews for
51
160
30
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My most recent stay at Hotel De Gerstekorrel was in May, although I have stayed here on my many trips to Holland for many years. The reasons are varied, important to me and they have not changed over the years:

* Fantastic location -- the best possible in Amsterdam
* Wonderful, helpful staff
* Clean, comfortable rooms
* Extremely reasonable prices: an amazing value for what you receive

To my fellow Americans expecting the Four Seasons in New York when staying at a small, cozy, "Dutch" hotel (meaning you are probably not a seasoned traveler): This is a charming, wonderful establishment for your stay while you explore Amsterdam and, hopefully, the fascinating towns and villages in Holland, a large number of which are an hour or less away from the Centraal Station by train. Happily, there are no bedroom suites with refrigerated little liquor bottles, sitting rooms and whirlpools -- I have stayed in those, I end up paying for those . . . and I never use 90% of all that stuff anyway. But if you want a clean, friendly, incredibly-located place to park for a few days while you explore this rich and historic culture, you can do no better than Hotel De Gerstekorrel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable and clean. I have stayed in a double room and a single room -- both a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This hotel is a perfect Amsterdam hotel if you want exellent service. Location is super! Staff was always helpful and they gave us very good tips where to go and what to see. Very clean hotel, just next to the best shopping area in Amsterdam. Service was very good. Am I coming back to Gerstekorrel? YES, FOR SURE!! Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tepuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porvoo, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Have stayed here several times. Best location, clean rooms, friendly reception. Good value for money! Sain myös suomenkielistä palvelua. If you can climb the stairs, choose a room on upper floor, maybe you get a view over the roofs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onerva2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahului, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel is in a Great location. Has no AC or elevator. So if that's something important to you, you might want to reconsider. Hotel Front desk staff very friendly. Rooms were small but ok. Bed Bugs found in room. (NOT HAPPY WITH THAT!) Other them the Bed bugs I guess hotel is Clean! Very steep stairs to go up. If you don't like stairs suggest lower floor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauireview2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Mauireview2014:
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Hotels have recently faced an increase in bed bug claims that concern operators and hotel guests. When we are notified of a possible bed bug issue, we respond immediately with a professional expert to inspect the room. There are occasions when the claims are illegitimate, when they are legitimate every step is taken to remedy the problem and prevent future problems. Rest assured that we take this matter very seriously. We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are visiting Amsterdam as returning guests are given top priority. Best regards, the Staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The room was the smallest I have ever seen, stairs are also the worst. Booked a room for 3 days, checked out the second day went to the DoulbeTree for the same price. Worst Hotel I have ever seen. If you want a small cramped room and some exercise getting to it this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dms101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Bermuda: Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our hotel is located in the heart of the historic section of Amsterdam which indicates the classic, Amsterdam architecture of narrow buildings characteristic of the World Heritage Site. Many travelers come to Amsterdam specifically for this old world novelty architecture and enjoy their time with us as part of the authentic Amsterdam experience. Best regards, the Staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is right in the Center of Amsterdam with less than 5 mins walking distance from Dam square and less than 15mins from central station. Location is therefore perfect. The space restriction hits you at first, starting from the small reception area, the narrow, steep staircase and the room dimensions. The shower/toilet room was especially challenging to use. In fact there is no breakfast area but this is served to your room, at a time to your convenience. However I understood that most hotels in central Dam are structured this way and after a day or two you get used to it. Overall room was clean and serviced well. Breakfast light but very fresh. I would reconsider booking to this hotel again in the event of another visit to this beautiful city. Not sure if something can be done to remedy, but TV location on top of bed was somewhat uncomfortable, whilst carrying jam packed suitcases down those stairs was somewhat of a killer. Also, our room lacked air conditioning - it was not really needed and keeping window ajar was good enough when the evenings got a bit warm. Otherwise pleasant stay! PS. Would have given 3.5 rating if available - considering basic services provided I think this is fair.

Room Tip: If carrying heavy suitcases watch out for floor level. This could be a trade off with having street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete61Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Pete61Malta:
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our central location in the heart of the center of Amsterdam. We are currently assesssing television placement in the rooms and thank you for your feedback. We hope that you will visit with us again soon! Best regards, the Staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#186 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#292 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#56 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#174 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Property: Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends! Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing