We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than meets the eye !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Ranked #197 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 21 November 2008

From the start I have to say I have known The Gerstekorrel ("In de Gerstekorrel" as it used to be) since 1966 and have been STAYING as a "regular" since 1972.My own 2 yr.absence recently has only been due to an intractible "domestic" situation,NOT to any "loss of faith" at all..indeed..the very OPPOSITE !
YES..a very "tourist/family" type it IS.However,the CLEANLINESS,COMFORT ans sheer OBLIGING FRIENDLINESS and HELPFULNESS of the staff quite set it apart;and,the "location"..as slap-dap central as you could ever want it to be ( 1.minute from the Dam Square says-it-all).We'll gloss-over the fact that the "RLD" ("Walletjes"..or whatever) is just 3.minutes the other way !!!!! Moreover,the lingustic professionalism of the staff,especially at reception is almost "university" level,with their considerable personal Warmth enhancing their commitment that "no request is ever too small",for them to go out of their way to help you !
This and the other points DO,without question,offset the "touristy"
and a little "noisy" situation -only to be reasonably expected for a
location such as that in a city of the size and vibrancy of Amsterdam.
Finally,one last and HUGELY HONOURABLE and GREATLY RESPECTED point about this hotel.
Just after it opened at the beginning of WW 11,after Holland was invaded,not surprisingly, the hotel was occupied by The Wehrmacht.from time to time (and,I believe,more than that even),the then owners,at a HUGE risk to themselves,sheltered people of the Jewish faith -in the cellar; right under the noses of the German military -upstairs !!
It has been an honour to write this report..and GOD BLESS to all !

Cheers,

"Mr.Stereo"

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MrStereo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2008

We had a prompt e-mail response from the ** Hotel de Gerstekorrel with a fair price quote for our nine day visit to Amsterdam.
I had read all the hotel reviews available on the web, and was looking for what would fill our needs....simple, safe, quiet and within walking distance of reasonably priced restaurants with good food, local sights, as well as Central train station for day trips.
The Hotel de Gerstekorrel filled the bill!
Our spacious room with private bath and tv was mostly quiet as requested (#27). The only time it wasn't quiet was when other guests were noisy arriving or departing which can be true of any **** hotel.
The room was simple and clean, with thick white towels after a hot shower in the private bath, The twin beds were almost a "human cocoon" of cozy, comfort for my husband and me.
Upon arrival at the hotel (long before actual check in time), from a 3 hr drive and 9 hr. sleepless flight, our luggage was cheerfuly secured, and when the room was ready we fell into the beds and slept like babies til late afternoon. This nap was not on our agenda but we never regretted it one bit!
The entire staff was always friendly, and helpful; they seemed genuinely interested in making our stay memorable.
As for the location, Hotel de Gerstekorrel was tops!
Hotel de Gerstekorrel is situated within walking distance of the Central Station where we could walk to board and travel to nearby villages as well as an economical, timely assurance of getting back to the airport later for an early morning departure.
Within blocks were various restaurants and easy walking to the tram or many of the sights of this lovely city.
Note, the hotel stairs are a little steep, but normal for most European buildings where space is at premium. At 63, I had no trouble making it up to our room.
The breakfast was not like home ( the only disapointment) but certainly kept us full til our noon meal. The strong coffee and orange juice were most welcome
.After many, many years of foreign travel, we recognize a gem!
When we return, we will no doubt stay here again, for a simple, safe, convenient, clean and comfortable stay.
Thank you again, Lisa, and the whole staff for making our 44th anniversary so memorable!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferrettTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

this hotel is in the perfect location, its in the center of all the major attractions in amsterdam.

the room was clean and tidy and breakfast was basic but delivered to our room at our preferred time.

it was quiet on a night which was bliss.

the only problem is that theres no stairs and we were on top floor (3rd floor) which was slightly annoying but good excercise!

Stayed: August 2008
Thank abcd675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

We stayed at Hotel De Gerstekorrel 16/08/08 - 18/08/08 and it was rubbish we got put in a different building with loads of stairs about 70 steps or something. We were dead by the time we got up the stairs. Breakfast well how tasty "bread roll, cheese slice, tea with no milk, orange juice with loads of bits of crap in". Location ok close to everything coffeshops, red light district, bars, munch!! so quite good for location. Staff seem nice too! Ohh almost forgot our excellent view of Roof Tops and crap on roofs. So overall good location and thats all it has going for this hotel.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank J0bba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2008

Ok people, we know why we go to Amsterdam, its to party and "sightsee" and "relax". You spend all your money and most of your time doing that, so you don't need to waste money on a posh hotel, and you also don't want to spend all your time watching Sky TV in your room, This is Amsterdam, it rocks.

The hotel is just off Dam square like people are saying. Its less than 10mins walk from the station (if you know where you are going) so within 20mins of getting off the train you can be out getting trashed. Absolutely fantastic location, 5 mins from Red light district, hundreds of bars, coffee shops etc.

I'd been before so I knew where the street was, although we did walk past the hotel at first because it is just a door in between 2 restaurants/fast food bits so keep your eyes open!

The only thing we were a bit suprised at that was when we (2 girls) checked in, we were given a room on the 4th floor which is the top one. That is 73 stairs, I counted them, no lift and the guy on the front desk didn't offer to give us a hand with our stuff. Our twin room was tiny, our friends had a room on the 3rd floor though that was much bigger. Oh and the bathroom is comedy, so tiny but we didn't care, money saved for other things! The room was clean and we had fresh towels etc every day. We didn't ask for breakfast but there are LOADS of restaurants on your doorstep.

This hotel is great if you want cheap and cheerful and have other things that your money is going on. Make the most of being in such a special city and live a little!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jersey-Owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2008

Amsterdam is amazing - go there!
If you´re looking for a great hotel - don´t stay at the Gerstekorrel.
If you´re looking for a basic hotel (with tiny rooms!) but an excellent location - stay at the Gerstekorrel.

We did not bother to change our room for a better one, but I wish we did. Our room was on the 4.th or 5.th floor (can´t remember), and the stairs are really steep. When finally finishing climbing the stairs, we found the smallest room ever; we could hardly move around in there. Suitable for 1 person, not 2. Extremely tiny.
We stayed for 3 nights, but did never have our beds made or towels changed. Probably because we slept "all day" because of partying all night... :-)

With that said: the receptionist was friendly and welcoming, every morning we had breakfast brought to our room, the location is excellent (very close to the Dam) and we had a small (tiny!) balcony where we could look down at whatever going on in the street below.

Ok hotel - nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Livus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2008

Located in the Dam square so if you like that that's ok or even great otherwise there are better and quite places in Amsterdam (now we know...). Not that the hotel is terrilble but a tiny room, no breakfast included (but many places nearby to eat/buy). Tthe worst thing is that the walls are very thin so the room is noisy.

Conclusion: the price too high for living in the center. There are better and quite places even in same price. We'll look for a better place next time!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Moshe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#129 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,462 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#86 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,942 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#311 of 373 in Amsterdam
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#260 of 373 in Amsterdam
302 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#177 of 373 in Amsterdam
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £91 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends! Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing