We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't beat the location, but”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Ranked #207 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Can't beat the location, but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

Stayed at Hotel de Gerstekorrel during a trip last April. The number one thing to keep in mind about this hotel is that there is no elevator. We were given a room on the top floor, about 5 very steep flights up. The staircases in Amsterdam are notoriously narrow which makes this hotel feel very authentic, but after a night out on the town we questioned if we'd make it to our room... we did to say the least... The staff was extremely accommodating, and delivered breakfast to our room each morning. Breakfast was a simple banquette, a few slices of cheese, juice and coffee.

My only one objection was that there was construction being done to the front of the building which completely blocked out view of the street with plastic covers & scaffolding. After hiking up 5 flights, you at least want to look out the window. One morning, I was shocked to see workers outside our window.

Overall, the room was sufficient, and the price was equal to the quality of services delivered.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okie_dokie_smokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    162
    111
    42
    32
See reviews for
51
158
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

We checked in early and were offered the choice of immediately getting into a room on the fourth floor or waiting an hour for a room on the second floor. As were were only in Amsterdam for two days we wanted to get settled as soon as possible and took the fourth floor option. The stairs were as steep as you would expect in Amsterdam, (there is no lift). However the room was larger than we expected, there was enough space to walk round the adequately sized double bed. There was also a desk and a small wardrobe. The bathroom was rather small, there was no shower tray and the placement of the loo made it difficult to sit without banging your knees if you were tall. However both rooms were very clean and nicely furnished. They were well lit and the bed was comfortable. There is no dining room but we were asked what time we wanted breakfast in our room. We thought the breakfast was good for a budget hotel, it consisted of a warmed roll, two slices of ham, two slices of cheese, spread and jam for each person together with a paper cup of good coffee. The food was fresh, the meat and cheese individually sealed and the whole thing nicely presented with a card giving .you that day's weather forecast Sugar and powdered milk were provided but you could easily get a small carton of milk from a nearby shop. The hotel is very centrally placed being two minutes walk from Dam Square and very near a supermarket. The reception staff were very friendly and there was no problem to leaving our luggage in a locked luggage room the next day.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BletchleyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

Well…The hotel was OK….beds were comfy. However we were put in the smallest room ever! No room to swing a mouse let alone a cat. Bathroom again was tiny with possibly the worst shower in any hotel we have stayed at! Nothing more than a dribble coming out of the shower head. The stairs are steep and we were staying on the top floor which did get a little bit annoying. Location of this hotel is fantastic right next to Dam Square. I think the hotel is good for a basic but is overpriced for what you actually get. Amsterdam has turned into an expensive city and this hotel is priced around that (Been visiting for 10 years and really noticed the change in pricing this year) We stayed from Friday-Monday and the room was not cleaned at all. The one bin was emptied but towels not replaced or beds made. Which for 383 Euros for 3 nights I think should be done? As it’s not an unreasonable request…..The staff were all pleasant and friendly. Hotel charges 3 euros for 15 minutes internet access (Ouch), 2 Euros per bag left in storage (Checkout). Check out is 10.30 (Which is EARLY!).

I won’t stay here again and would rather put my cash into more of a personal hotel/B&B.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotAllWhoWander80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

At first when booking this hotel, I wasn't too sure from reading a few unpleasant reviews.

When I got there, the room was clean apart from the burnt cigerette stains near the window, and it did have a bit of a smokey smell to it but apart from that it was fine as we were only there for two nights and the very friendly receptionists let us change the room because we asked for a double room not a twin and it was a lot more cleaner than the first one.

Beds are really comfy and bathroom is very clean.

The location of this hotel is excellent and if you want to stay somewhere very near the centre then this is the hotel you should pick especially if you are on a budget!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharona6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

Hotel was clean and comfortable, Breakfast poor, a lot to be desired. This was neither a continental nor a substantial breakfast. ie a carton of fruit juice, 1 bread roll, a small pack of cheese, a small carton of jam, a small cup of hot water and powdered milk. each( not what I would call a continental breakfast, by any means ( and I have had many). And to top that no dining room ( in a hotel), very disappointing. M&D Craig Sunderland UK.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

This hotel is in an excellent location, which to me is very important for a city break. It is literally a few steps away from Dam Square and all the major streets of Amsterdam can easily be walked to.

The staff are friendly and reception is 24 hours. There are limited items for sale in reception (small fridge of soft drinks and a coffee machine) and there is no restaurant so breakfast is served to your room, however we didn't have the breakfast. I think the best thing to do is to pop into a local Albert Heijn store (they're like Tesco metro/express) and get some supplies for the room.

Our room was on the 4th floor which isn't for the faint hearted! There are lots of stairs and they get steeper and steeper! It wasn't a problem for us but if you do have any problems with stairs perhaps you should request a room on a lower floor when booking. Our twin room was clean and nicely decorated, it was small but there was plenty of room to walk around the beds and had an ample wardrobe for a city break, two bedside cabinets, a desk and a TV. I found the bed too soft and the pillows were too big but thats just my preferences. The bathroom was small and didn't have anywhere to put anything but the water was hot and it was clean. We didn't have any problems with noise but we didn't get in until quite late and perhaps it is better to be on a high floor away from the street noise.

Best thing was the location and worst thing was the stairs but once you go to a few places in Amsterdam you'll know that steep stairs are very common!

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2010

I visit Amsterdam quite often for both business and pleasure. When I’m paying, I tend to stay in the budget end of hotels. These can be a shock to the system as real estate in Amsterdam is at a VERY high premium. Therefore, if you are booking a budget hotel, you need to expect that the room will be much smaller than you expected. However, this doesn’t explain the filthy condition of some of these places. That said, the Gerstekorral offers the best balance I have found in almost 20 years of visiting Amsterdam between price & facilities. The rooms are small and basic but always clean and the staff are always helpful. There is no AC but a fan is provided. The rooms can therefore get stuffy in the summer, but if you are in Amsterdam, you should be out enjoying the city during those warm hours. The other major benefit of this hotel is it’s location, just off Dam Square. However, this does mean that it can be noisy. Again, during those noisy hours, you should be out creating some noise of your own. My only real gripe with this hotel is the lack of a safe in the rooms. There is a safe at reception that you can use, but a personal safe in the room would be so much better. In my opinion, this is the best central hotel for the price. Mostly the other budget hotels are grotty stink holes by comparison.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shinken69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#191 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#288 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#53 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#174 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Property: Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends! Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing