We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Compact and Go Go Go !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Ranked #209 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Compact and Go Go Go !!”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

well I stayed here with my friend for three days (two of it over weekend) in a twin bed room ... the staff were super friendly in anyway since there was a problem with my credit card so they went into trouble many times emailing and calling me and upon arrival for giving me tips on where to go and how ! rooms were rather small we hardly fitted our suitcases ,rooms were totally clean so as the shower , one big deal was that there was no elevator in the hotel so u have to climb with ur suitcases up til 4 floors ( we were on the second floor) . and the rooms only have heater so not a pleasant stay in summer . Beds were to soft first it felt like a water bed but it wasn't, and the internet is 5 Euros a day . the BEST thing about the hotel is the Location ... just perfect ... located in dam square everything is around the infamous red light district is 2 min walk ,plenty of restaurants pastry shops and etc just under the hotel ,even the Train station is a 15 min walk !

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoozbeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    163
    113
    43
    32
See reviews for
51
160
30
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Stayed here 3 nights. On arrival we were offered a double room instead of the twin that easyjet had reserved ,so we took it and found to our delight that we were on the first floor. Room was more than spacious enough, clean and more than adequate. The bed was...well the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in! Shower was big enough for two but the hand basin was so close to the toilet you had to squeeze in to sit down. We were at the front overlooking the alley and the pastry shop which stayed open to some time in the early morning but even with the window open we werent disturbed by any noise... until a group of young lads moved into the next room on the 3rd night.. So handy for the Red light, China Town and Dam Sq. and with a great Chinese takeaway right next door.Staff were very helpfull and left us alone to sleep in till gone lunchtime, and still did the room. Definatly would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raveninblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Myself and 3 female friends went for a mid week break . The hotel was in an excellent location. 10 minute walk from Central Station.2 minute walk to Dam Square and there were lots of eating places next to the hotel. There were 4 of us in a room together. We had 4 single beds that were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was a bit on the small side but worked perfectly for 4 ladies. The staff at the hotel were excellent and very helpful.Could not find anything to complain about. Definitely would go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgreen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

*Room is small and basic but it was clean.
*Beds are comfy
*Bathroom is small and in the shower area it smelt like urine a bit.
*We were on the second floor overlooking the street of Damstraat, and it is noisy through the night and so we didn't sleep well at all. Also the people in the room above ours kept stomping around at 7am and after a terrible night sleep was the last thing we wanted.
*location right by dam square, you are central to most things like attractions and restaurants which was fantastic so we didn't have to tram it anywhere we walked.
*Had to pay a 50 euros deposit when we arrived on top of the 5% city tax. We wasn't aware of paying a deposit, so that's just to warn you if you weren't informed either.

Overall, if you get a room at the front be prepared for a noisy night, and it is basic but it reflects in the price and was better going to this hotel than one further out which has a bit more frills.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spicycracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Stayed at Hotel de Gerstekorrel during a trip last April. The number one thing to keep in mind about this hotel is that there is no elevator. We were given a room on the top floor, about 5 very steep flights up. The staircases in Amsterdam are notoriously narrow which makes this hotel feel very authentic, but after a night out on the town we questioned if we'd make it to our room... we did to say the least... The staff was extremely accommodating, and delivered breakfast to our room each morning. Breakfast was a simple banquette, a few slices of cheese, juice and coffee.

My only one objection was that there was construction being done to the front of the building which completely blocked out view of the street with plastic covers & scaffolding. After hiking up 5 flights, you at least want to look out the window. One morning, I was shocked to see workers outside our window.

Overall, the room was sufficient, and the price was equal to the quality of services delivered.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okie_dokie_smokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

We checked in early and were offered the choice of immediately getting into a room on the fourth floor or waiting an hour for a room on the second floor. As were were only in Amsterdam for two days we wanted to get settled as soon as possible and took the fourth floor option. The stairs were as steep as you would expect in Amsterdam, (there is no lift). However the room was larger than we expected, there was enough space to walk round the adequately sized double bed. There was also a desk and a small wardrobe. The bathroom was rather small, there was no shower tray and the placement of the loo made it difficult to sit without banging your knees if you were tall. However both rooms were very clean and nicely furnished. They were well lit and the bed was comfortable. There is no dining room but we were asked what time we wanted breakfast in our room. We thought the breakfast was good for a budget hotel, it consisted of a warmed roll, two slices of ham, two slices of cheese, spread and jam for each person together with a paper cup of good coffee. The food was fresh, the meat and cheese individually sealed and the whole thing nicely presented with a card giving .you that day's weather forecast Sugar and powdered milk were provided but you could easily get a small carton of milk from a nearby shop. The hotel is very centrally placed being two minutes walk from Dam Square and very near a supermarket. The reception staff were very friendly and there was no problem to leaving our luggage in a locked luggage room the next day.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BletchleyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2010

Well…The hotel was OK….beds were comfy. However we were put in the smallest room ever! No room to swing a mouse let alone a cat. Bathroom again was tiny with possibly the worst shower in any hotel we have stayed at! Nothing more than a dribble coming out of the shower head. The stairs are steep and we were staying on the top floor which did get a little bit annoying. Location of this hotel is fantastic right next to Dam Square. I think the hotel is good for a basic but is overpriced for what you actually get. Amsterdam has turned into an expensive city and this hotel is priced around that (Been visiting for 10 years and really noticed the change in pricing this year) We stayed from Friday-Monday and the room was not cleaned at all. The one bin was emptied but towels not replaced or beds made. Which for 383 Euros for 3 nights I think should be done? As it’s not an unreasonable request…..The staff were all pleasant and friendly. Hotel charges 3 euros for 15 minutes internet access (Ouch), 2 Euros per bag left in storage (Checkout). Check out is 10.30 (Which is EARLY!).

I won’t stay here again and would rather put my cash into more of a personal hotel/B&B.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotAllWhoWander80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#186 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Cordial
Hotel Cordial
#292 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#56 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#174 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Property: Hotel De Gerstekorrel
Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends! Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing