We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than I expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Blyss

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Blyss
Ranked #323 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Much better than I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Don't be misled by my overall rating. This is at best a 2.5-star hotel. However, it was a very good property considering what it is.

I led a group of 14 university students who spent 5 nights at the Blyss. Before the trip, many of the students had read reviews on Tripadvisor and had serious concerns about staying there. Those fears were unfounded. We were scattered throughout the hotel--I was in Room 22--and I heard no serious complaints from anyone.

I wonder if the people who have written the seriously negative reviews have stayed at other hotels in Amsterdam? If not, they may not be able to put their experiences at the Blyss into persective.

The location is excellent. It's just off Overtoom Straat, with easy access to Tram line #1. There are many eateries and a Starbucks close by. It's also a short walk to Leidseplein.

The hotel itself is solid. My room had a double bed with a desk and fridge. As far as rooms in Amsterdam go, it was large. It wasn't as large as my room when I stayed at the Asterisk in 2012, but there was still plenty of space. There was some noise from the hallway and the neighboring room, but I anticipate that at any hotel. That's why I always travel with earplugs. Any noise there was in the hotel did not interfere with my ability to sleep at night. The linens were not luxurious, but they were clean, and housekeeping did a good job each day. The bathroom in the room was basic, but I did not experience any of the mold or smells that other reviewers mentioned. Also, the wifi was very good. It was not ultra high speed, but it accommodated FaceTime calls.

The breakfast was the typical Amsterdam hotel breakfast: bread, cheese, meats, boiled eggs, cereal, apples, canned fruit, and a few other items. Having stayed at a few Amsterdam hotels, I don't understand why some reviewers complained about it. My only complaint about breakfast would be that it starts late: 7:30 on weekdays and 8:00 on weekends.

I also don't understand the complaints about the service. Everyone I encountered was pleasant. Having found service in general in Amsterdam to be indifferent, I would attribute some of the negative comments about service to be from people who are not accustomed to service in Amsterdam. (I stayed at the Hotel Pulitzer in late 2008, and the people at the front desk of the Blyss were just as friendly and accommodating as those at the Pulitzer.)

I gave the Blyss the 4/5 rating, because that's what I gave the Hotel Asterisk in 2012. These are both basic hotels that are very good at what they do. I would suggest that potential guests not be put off by the negative reviews or have unreasonable expectations

Room Tip: Room 22 is a nice room that looks out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bucsonice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    76
    106
    82
    119
See reviews for
62
102
60
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We recently booked for 3 nights, we were attending an event at Melkweg so the only thing to the hotels advantage was the proximity to the venue. The drain in our bathroom smelled so bad! The room wasn't vacuumed for the duration of our stay and the litter bins weren't emptied. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and the wallpaper was starting to peel. The small shelf attached to the hand basin was only attached on one side. For the cost I feel that this was very overpriced rubbish. The rooms had no soundproofing and we could hear our next door neighbour with hiccups in the early hours! I had to ask for an extra pillow and the duvet was smaller than the duvet cover. All in all very disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trisha_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

When we booked to stay here we were asked for our credit details as a guarantee for reservation of the rooms. We were told no money would be taken off our cards. Later that day over £900 was stolen from my friends account to buy flights to Dubai and meals in Amsterdam. £30 was taken from my account and I was told it was as a deposit for the room I later found out that this was used to buy food in Amsterdam. The hotel staff were not very helpful in dealing with the accusation of fraud and I was told to dispute it with my bank on return home. In the end I didn't know who to trust therefore I will not be returning to the bless hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Avoid this Hotel Blyss as much as you can. Only the location is good: non-professional service, uncomfortable bed, small room, lots of noise, poor cleanliness... This hotel requires a huge sense of humour ;)

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JoaoRomao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

There was two receptionists that were very nice and friendly one was from Romania, that was great but to the rooms, we stayed in a double room, the carpet had bits of the ceiling after it had been cleaned the window would not stay open the shower room had mold in the corner and one of the so called fresh bed sheet had what looked like Doritos dust so did the cleaner have a munch? The decor was ok but had the same theme throughout the hotel.
The power went off 3 times but was restored quickly by the beutiful Romanian receptionist. We stayed in room 202
I wouldn't say avoid this hotel but use it to sleep and that's it, it is close to one of the liveliest squares.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

''the worst hotel''.. I have even seen in my life.. advising you to stay away! Had a reservation in advance but room was given from the basement floor! Rooms were extremely small and bathroom was not pleasant either. Requested for change, the requisition was denied. Chinese guy at reception seems does not understand english, looks as blanck! barely gives information!! Room was cold, cold air comes through the windows.. (had to cover my self with the bathroom towels during my sleep).. Ohh! they require you to pay all room charges as cash! otherwise they apply 5% surcharge. Worst place to pick up!! FYI..

Room Tip: Saty away from this hotel !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Booked this hotel as a British Airways package, and pretty surprised they partner with such a terrible hotel. Where do I start? Dirty and old sheets, sink falling off wall, windows that open onto walls, scary and dangerous security were all features of my stay at Hotel Blyss. Even the name is a big disappointment, because there is no bliss there. If you are a backpacker and looking for a cheap crash pad bed in Amsterdam then fine but this hotel is certainly not up to the quality I would expect with booking a holiday through British Airways.

Room Tip: If you must stay there, avoid the "tower" rooms which are not much more than a hovel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank euromarketer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#245 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#156 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#241 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Europa'92
#191 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#106 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#116 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blyss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blyss

Property: Hotel Blyss
Address: Vondelstraat 74-78, 1054 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blyss 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel BLYSS in the centre of Amsterdam on a quiet street near Leidseplein and Vondel Park is known for its location, outstanding service, very friendely and pleasent staff. The hotel is surrounded by many attractions Museums Van Gogh, Stedelijk, Rijks Museum,floating Flower market, Theaters, bars, restaurants, clubs,casino, bike rent etc.etc. are within 5 minutes walking distance. RAI the exibition centre is easily accessible with in 10 minutes by tram or taxi. Vondel Park is 50 meters from the hotel and is a delight for joggers, bikers and in summer for music and theater admirers.Hotel Blyss has a cosy lobby with open fire place, study room with internet, a bar, breakfast room, a terrace and a garden to relax. Complimentary wireless internet is accessiblee all over the hotel. All 40 rooms are well equipped with facilities and most of the rooms have flat screen TVs. Blyss is a unique hotel in Amsterdam providing standard, deleuxe, suite and family rooms for 3 to 5 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Blyss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyss Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing