We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam..A Place to Stay”
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Piet Hein
Ranked #176 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Pros.. Very accessible to transit, museums, restaurants. Clean, comfortable lobby..friendly and helpful staff. Would stay there again. However, as in most of Europe small rooms. I like to unpack and use a dresser which was not available. I really dislike living out of my suitcase even if it is only 3 nights.

Requested AC and definitely needed it . Didn't get it but to be fair I think I probably looked exhausted after a long flight and they wanted to get me into a room. They did give me a fan. It
was helpful.

Nice buffet breakfast..good coffee.

Room Tip: Also let them know ahead of time what u want, confirm it, and then make sure when u get there , befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank havingfunagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed here for two nights in June 2012. Got a a double luxury room booked for me and got a narrow, no frills room with a very small window basically below ground floor with a view on a blind wall (208) Just very disappointing. The lobby looks (is) nice and the location is good (although very close to the tram, which some people may find disturbing in the night). But the lobby in this hotel is not representative of the rest of the hotel. Initially thought that a room below ground floor wold at least be quiet. But the doors in the hotel are very thin and not wel installed so every time one of the neighbors opened the door, I heard everything and my door would tick and click. Annoying both at night and in the morning.
Breakfast ok, went to the coffee place around the corner to get a cappuccino.
Big package of tv channels.
Internet free, but quite slow; I couldn't connect tommy work server because the connection is not stable enough and therefore not secure.
Bottom line: it's clean and central, but not worth the money. I'll try something else next time or return to CitizenM.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
1  Thank EuropeanVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Good value for the price in Amsterdam. The hotel is a little out of the way of the city center but very close to the van Gogh Museum, the Concertgebouw and the Rijksmuseum (all just a couple of blocks away). Two tram lines with frequent service take you to the city center at 2.70 euros a ride. Vondelpark facing the hotel is a nice quiet place to walk. My single room was very small, and didn't smell good and really needed a thorough cleaning. The staff were very accommodating and two computers in the lobby were convenient. Breakfast at 15 euros was good but a little expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
Thank barbara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Hotel Piet Hein was the perfect choice for my stay in Amsterdam. Convenient location (three blocks from museums) and 10 minutes tram ride from Central Station, renovated modern bathrooms and comfortable rooms. The single room was certainly small, but that is the norm in Europe, with window overlooking the street and Vonderpark across the street. The price I paid through CheapHotels was really a good deal.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com
Thank Alejandro N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I greatly recommend the Hotel Piet Hein in Amsterdam. I stayed there for seven nights this month, and I appreciated its proximity to the Rikjsmuseum and Van Gogh museum, the #2 and #5 trams (convenient to Amsterdam Centraal), and several excellent restaurants (Zaza, Pulpo, De Knijp, and Brasserie van Baerle). It's also right next to Vondelpark and within easy walking distance of the city's major symphony hall, the Royal Concergebouw. Sleek and modern, in black and grey, the Piet Hein has a helpful staff, comfortable lobby, a great bar, and provides an excellent breakfast in an inviting setting.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderful77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This was a very lucky find indeed. Small, friendly and pretty basic but it is the location that is simply excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This hotel was ideal for us as it was within easy walking distance to main sights of Amsterdam, aslo only a few hundred metres from a tram stop so getting here after our flight was very simple.

It was clean and tidy with a modern interior feel and it is right on the doorstep of Vondelpark which is good for those who want to unwind after a hectic day in the city.

We took breakfast every day which was extra as we had not paid up front, however the choice and quality made this buffet breakfast one of the better ones we have had on our travels.

If you want somewhere quiet, clean, friendly and well placed within Amsterdam then I could not fault the Piet Hein, I would use it again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natbar_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#134 of 376 in Amsterdam
890 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#132 of 376 in Amsterdam
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#144 of 376 in Amsterdam
568 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#271 of 376 in Amsterdam
517 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#139 of 376 in Amsterdam
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Address: Vossiusstraat 52 /53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £60 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing