We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simple, good breakfast, clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Piet Hein
Ranked #154 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    413
    189
    60
    40
See reviews for
119
322
143
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was the perfect hotel for our 4 day trip to Amsterdam. The hotel is a trendy boutique hotel across Vondelpark. The small street its nestled in is very quiet. Although our hotel room was extremely small, we didn't mind since the only reason for being in the hotel room was to sleep. The breakfast is nothing to write home about, but it was good enough to get the day started without having to worry about where to have breakfast. However, there is a coffee shop around the corner that makes the best flat white!

The location is very convenient since its walking distance from both Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh. The hotel is also close to transportation. The reception was very helpful with directions. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our hotel faced the courtyard and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel while I was traveling solo in Amsterdam for 3 days.

The hotel's appearance is a bit of a mishmash. On one hand, it's a beautiful building with a hip, trendy hotel lobby, sleek bar, lots of cool lighting, etc. Sounds good, right? And then I see my room. A spartan little room right near the front desk, tucked inside the stairwell. No charm or character, with a window that looks out onto an enclosure of well, not much. The dim lighting makes it look practically like a cell. I could hear people going up the stairs and bumping their luggage against my door.

So the room was pretty disappointing, especially after seeing how nice the rest of the hotel looks. But it was clean and warm and it had everything I needed. Single traveler rooms tend to be the worst rooms in any hotel so I wasn't expecting much to begin with.

Location is pretty nice. Located right next to Vondelpark, the area is quiet and safe. It has easy access to the trams and the museums are only a few minutes walk. Didn't have the breakfast. At 15 euros, it seemed exorbitant, especially since the last hotel I stayed at charged 7.5 euros for their breakfast.

One major plus is that the wifi in the hotel was really good.

Not sure if I'd stay here again, maybe if I was with other people and had a better room.

Room Tip: Avoide rooms 110 and 111 - They are inside the stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ivyrosewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Just finished up the end of my month journey through Europe and I am glad I chose this hotel. The staff were amazing especially the bar tender when he slipped me a bar of the finest Dutch chocolate that I have ever tasted. The rooms were very clean and extremely comfortable. I absolutely loved the beds. Location was perfectly nestled with in walking distance to anywhere in Amsterdam you would want to explore.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erwann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Piet Hein has small but nice and very clean rooms. Also had some good service in late night when I arrived. The staff was also very friendly and proffessional. Great location with many choises of busses and trams. ..........................

Helpful?
2 Thank B52-Sa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
266 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I loved the location.is very close the all the main museums and the voldenpark.the hotel it self is very small yet is very cosy.its clean,warm and trendy.there is a bus service from the airport with a taxi costing only 16.5 euros which is ideal if you have lots of luggage or cant be bother using the public transport.ther are also several night life spots that are worth checking out

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank lola2882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Piet Hein is really nicely located on a canal next to the Vondelpark, a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Heineken Museum, some fancy looking shops and an amazingly good fish restaurant. It's away from the tourist hell but within easy reach of the centre of the city.

The hotel's been recently refurbished in a sort of contemporary aspirational black-and-white style; the rooms are pretty small, but this is kind of normal for Amsterdam. My single bed was a good size. The staff are really sweet, relaxed and professional. There's good free internet and a nice comfy bar with big sofas.

Negatives: an unpleasant smell in the hallways (thankfully not in the rooms) where the carpets have not been part of the makeover, and the lovely breakfast room would be much improved by proper coffee and not just freeze dried from a machine (Amsterdam sets your coffee standards very high!).

I can't comment on value as my room was organised on my behalf.
Thanks Piet Hein people for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerditaFall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#124 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#165 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#53 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#109 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#77 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#84 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Property: Hotel Piet Hein
Address: Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing