We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Piet Hein
Ranked #168 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 5 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Piet Hein
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Armi H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This was the perfect hotel for our 4 day trip to Amsterdam. The hotel is a trendy boutique hotel across Vondelpark. The small street its nestled in is very quiet. Although our hotel room was extremely small, we didn't mind since the only reason for being in the hotel room was to sleep. The breakfast is nothing to write home about, but it was good enough to get the day started without having to worry about where to have breakfast. However, there is a coffee shop around the corner that makes the best flat white!

The location is very convenient since its walking distance from both Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh. The hotel is also close to transportation. The reception was very helpful with directions. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our hotel faced the courtyard and was very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel while I was traveling solo in Amsterdam for 3 days.

The hotel's appearance is a bit of a mishmash. On one hand, it's a beautiful building with a hip, trendy hotel lobby, sleek bar, lots of cool lighting, etc. Sounds good, right? And then I see my room. A spartan little room right near the front desk, tucked inside the stairwell. No charm or character, with a window that looks out onto an enclosure of well, not much. The dim lighting makes it look practically like a cell. I could hear people going up the stairs and bumping their luggage against my door.

So the room was pretty disappointing, especially after seeing how nice the rest of the hotel looks. But it was clean and warm and it had everything I needed. Single traveler rooms tend to be the worst rooms in any hotel so I wasn't expecting much to begin with.

Location is pretty nice. Located right next to Vondelpark, the area is quiet and safe. It has easy access to the trams and the museums are only a few minutes walk. Didn't have the breakfast. At 15 euros, it seemed exorbitant, especially since the last hotel I stayed at charged 7.5 euros for their breakfast.

One major plus is that the wifi in the hotel was really good.

Not sure if I'd stay here again, maybe if I was with other people and had a better room.

Room Tip: Avoide rooms 110 and 111 - They are inside the stairwell.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ivyrosewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Just finished up the end of my month journey through Europe and I am glad I chose this hotel. The staff were amazing especially the bar tender when he slipped me a bar of the finest Dutch chocolate that I have ever tasted. The rooms were very clean and extremely comfortable. I absolutely loved the beds. Location was perfectly nestled with in walking distance to anywhere in Amsterdam you would want to explore.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erwann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Piet Hein has small but nice and very clean rooms. Also had some good service in late night when I arrived. The staff was also very friendly and proffessional. Great location with many choises of busses and trams. ..........................

2  Thank B52-Sa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I loved the location.is very close the all the main museums and the voldenpark.the hotel it self is very small yet is very cosy.its clean,warm and trendy.there is a bus service from the airport with a taxi costing only 16.5 euros which is ideal if you have lots of luggage or cant be bother using the public transport.ther are also several night life spots that are worth checking out

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank lola2882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#149 of 371 in Amsterdam
527 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#80 of 371 in Amsterdam
953 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#104 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#85 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,049 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,344 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#134 of 371 in Amsterdam
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Address: Vossiusstraat 52 /53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £77 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing