We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quentin England Hotel
Ranked #328 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I've stayed here 4 - 5 times over the years on various trips to Amsterdam. It's in an excellent location. Rooms are very basic but definitely functional, kept clean and well-maintained. If you're looking for something reasonably cheap and no frills, this hotel is a good shout.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel tend to have balconies - decent street view, nice for if you're...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JutteVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
There are newer reviews for Quentin England Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2013

I stayed here with 2 other friends, we are all females in our mid 20s. The location was good, only a short 10min walk before you arrive to the main areas in the centre. We stayed in a private triple room with bathroom for 2 nights. Whilst we were there the beds were made and the bins emptied. The people on the front desk were all really helpful and told us how to get to all the main sites. Rooms were clean and big enough for three of us. We found this hotel on a hostel site so we were pleasantly surprised when we got there. In terms of hostel standards it would be 5 out of 5. Would definitely go back to this place if I ever went back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel was very clean and a good price.

The location is only a few minutes walk from Leidseplein square.

The hotel staff were friendly and informative.

The room was a decent size and had a good bathroom.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wato20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This hotel is nice, it's located close enough to Leidseplein and the Red Light District without being right in the heart of the action. The room was functional, comfortable beds and good shower. It was above average but not "very good", so consider this 3.5 stars rather than 3!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Just back from my third trip to lovely Amsterdam and second stay at this hotel in 7 years. I'd initially booked two low budget rooms, and hadn't been too thrilled when the confirmation came through and said the rooms wouldn't have windows. Thought about cancelling but I knew from having stayed here before that the hotel is in an excellent location, and couldn't find anything more reasonable so decided to risk it. On arrival, we were delighted to find we'd been upgraded so had the luxury of windows! We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that. The staff are friendly and helpful. The nicest thing about the Quentin England is its location; it's on a quiet street yet is only a few minutes' walk from the Museumplein in one direction, and Leidesplein and the start of the busy central area in another. Do visit the Rijksmuseum, very recently reopened after being closed for about 10 years. One quick visit doesn't really scratch the surface, but it's looking wonderful, and I look forward to exploring it further on future visits!

Room Tip: beware booking a budget room - it may not have a window!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bb67Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

The room was quite expensive, but Amsterdam is really expensive city especially hotel. Located in very nice neighbourhood where all hotels are located, but quite a walk to attractions, and have to take tram to central station which inconvenience for big luggages. Staffs were so nice and really helpful, provide really good service.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheNayzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I and my fiancé were 5 days in Amsterdam in the end of May. We spent one night in double room and three nights in twin room in this hotel. We booked it that way, we changed the arriving date one day earlier and the room that we booked already for next three days wasn’t available. We packed our luggage and checked out from first room and after 2 pm the same day, we checked in again in second room. But that is not hotels fault, we changed the date. The double room where we spent one night was on 4th floor, clean and small with a double bed. So the second room- tween room was better option for us. It was on 3th floor and was bigger, with two separate beds but standing one by one. The toilet was not so big but it was clean and they were changing towels every day. There is no elevator in the hotel, and the stairs are very steep, probably as in most of the buildings in Amsterdam because they are small but high. But between 3th and 4th ware extremely steep. So, definitely don’t book room higher than 3th floor. Budget rooms are in the basement and without window, and they are cheaper so be careful when you are booking. We booked the rooms on booking site and all taxes were included. We didn’t take breakfast so I can’t say is it good or not.
The hotel is 2 minutes from Volendam Park, 5-7 minutes from museums and maybe 7-10 minutes from Leidseplein. That means that me didn’t use tram or bus at all for those five days that we spent in Amsterdam. The bus that we tock from the airport leave us on Leidsplein, but if you want to go to Central station you should walk 2,5 km or take a tram from Leindseplein. We were able to come in the hotel couple of times during the day, because of the location, to take a shower or for a short nap before going out in the evening, and that is important if you want to see as much as possible from the city. That’s why taking more expensive hotel in the center was good chose. Actually most of the price for the room is paying the location, for the same price could be found better hotel but not so close to the center.
The staff was friendly. We had wi-fi all the time but there was computer on the reservation desk that can be used for free. No charges for paying with credit card. Hair dryer and other things they are giving by request.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Dushanka_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#312 of 371 in Amsterdam
658 reviews
Vondelpark
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#211 of 371 in Amsterdam
407 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#306 of 371 in Amsterdam
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#278 of 371 in Amsterdam
227 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#308 of 371 in Amsterdam
374 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#275 of 371 in Amsterdam
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin England Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin England Hotel

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 30, 1054 EZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £71 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Quentin England Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in a 18th century building and part of the famous 'United Europe' buildings, this are seven houses and every house is an example of a typical building style from seven European countries (England, France, Germany, Russia, Spain, Italy and Holland). The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.The hotel is located at the Vondelpark, near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Maket, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Roemer Visscherstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quentin England Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin England Amsterdam
Hotel Quentin England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing