We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - Budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quentin England Hotel
Ranked #328 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Ideally placed for Museum area and short walk into centre of Amsterdam. Our room was on the second floor, the stairs are steep but in my experience that is fairly typical of the city properties. Reception staff friendly and helpful. We didn't have breakfast, just grabbed coffee to go from local shops. Generally clean, although a little worn round the edges.

Room Tip: Ask for room at front of building if you want a little balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

We are happy that you liked your stay and the surrounding of the hotel. We will be using your comment for our next renovation place

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
There are newer reviews for Quentin England Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

OK , I can understand the tiny room on the top floor , the steep and narrow staircase to the tiny room on the top floor and even the shared bath that went with the tiny room on the top floor , but if this was my hotel I would be very very embarrassed to rent this room out , It appeared to be shamefully worn out and the carpet was so bad it was the first "hotel" I ever stayed in where I was afraid to take off my shoes.With that being said I will say that the service was pretty good , the lobby was nice and the area the Quentin was in was great , but based on our room I would not stay here again , way overpriced for what we got. Oh yeah the breakfast that was included in our rate was simple but adequate :)

Room Tip: Do not stay on the top floor
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OhioBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations. In case you are not happy with the room you can come to the reception and we are always willing to help you out with the best solution possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel is located in such a nice area, so close to the park and museums and only a five minute walk to the nearest clubs and bars. The hotel itself is an average hotel, almost like a little bit fancier hostel. Our twin room was in 4th floor, the stairs were really steep, like they always are in Amsterdam and no lift. Nobody offered to carry our heavy luggage to the rooms. The room didn't have ac, only a fan which was not enough. We had to keep the window open and of course the garbage trucks woke us up at 5 am. The beads and linen were clean, but the shower was a bit moldy. The staff were friendly giving advice and tips. The breakfast was nothing fancy but ok, kept you full until lunch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellu666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

We are happy you like the surroundings of the hotel. Indeed the hotel is very central to a lot of attractions. Some stairs in the hotel are "Amsterdam Style". We are busy with renovating plans and to install a elevator to make the access for everybody easier. We also will be using your review for our next renovation plans and I truly appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

The room was plain but clean. The mould in the shower room was a bit disappointing to say the least. The water went from scalding to cold in seconds, then back! It was a but random.... Although, I was just glad to get a room a few hours before travelling, but I paid over the odds due to that.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K3VLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that you had problems with the shower. We are always try to improve things. We will be using your comments about the bathroom for our renovations plans and we really appreciate your feedback about this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Dirty room that was way too small, horrible bed, shower was dirty and didnt work properly and way over priced! Fantastic city with everything you would want in a weekend but unfortunately the accomodation was the only bad point.....staff were ok at best!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations.
We will be using your comments about the cleaning and we really appreciate your feedback about this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Oskar B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was the most over priced horrible hotel we've ever stayed in. The room cost us 258E and we had no hot water in the morning. The internet didn't work either. The room itself was a dump with a hollow core sliding door to separate the bathroom. There was no soap in the bathroom, only a "body and hair" foam. the walls were paper thin. We could hear our neighbor coughing in the morning as well as everyone passing int he hallway.
The staff was incredibly apologetic an encouraged us to write a bad review because they knew how bad it was.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We had a power failure in the electrical system and that was the reason that there was no hot water or internet. We are sorry that you felt the hotel did not do everything they could do to solve the problem.
We recently introduced a new soap system in our hotels which is called “The Spa Collection”. With this soap you can also wash your hands. Thank you for letting us know your experience with this soap.
We also will be using your review for our next renovation plans and we truly appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#312 of 371 in Amsterdam
659 reviews
Vondelpark
Jupiter Hotel
Jupiter Hotel
#212 of 371 in Amsterdam
407 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#304 of 371 in Amsterdam
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#278 of 371 in Amsterdam
227 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#308 of 371 in Amsterdam
374 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#275 of 371 in Amsterdam
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin England Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin England Hotel

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 30, 1054 EZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £70 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Quentin England Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in a 18th century building and part of the famous 'United Europe' buildings, this are seven houses and every house is an example of a typical building style from seven European countries (England, France, Germany, Russia, Spain, Italy and Holland). The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.The hotel is located at the Vondelpark, near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Maket, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Roemer Visscherstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quentin England Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin England Amsterdam
Hotel Quentin England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing