We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Ranked #291 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself was in a great location, in between the red light district and the Damrak and then dam square just up the road. Also coffee shop either side of the hotel and a paper shop for snacks. Also pizza and other food at the end of the road. The only problem with the location is that there were constant building work going on directly opposite waking us up at 7 o'clock every morning. The hotel itself was nothing startling but was clean enough and our room was fairly big with a tv and a big fan as there's no aircon. A bit dark and dingey in the corridors and very steep stair case, if anything I would say the hotel was slightly over priced but I think you pay for the location more than anything. Perfect for a low budget holiday, would recommend but be careful of the cleaning lady who doesn't speak English as she walked in to our room midway getting dressed and didn't understand giving us a minute. All in all was good for what we wanted :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EmH17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    450
    476
    230
    218
See reviews for
171
548
106
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macau, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel in mid summer, great location no doubt. Friendly staff though it is strange to see staff drinking beer behind the reception at evening time. A bit searching to the room, no elevator to the 4th floor where our room was located, simple room, not working tv and no telephone number to call reception. Very hot room as well, had to open the window to release some heat out as the provided fan was not able to make it comfortable. Simple amenities, clean shower bathroom.
Easy check in and check out.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank R-Schuur74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The location is fantastic. 5 min to cental station.3 min to Dam Square.
Because the hotel is situated in a historical block, it is oddly layed out. Small corridors and tight steps here and there. My double room should not be a room. The double bed was placed against the wall and at the othersidr was merely 75 cm left to walk. The only proper sized room was the bathroom. The were installing aircons ( still not operational) at the end of the summer? Breakfast was typical Dutch, simple. No fridge in room. Very noisy if on street side. No sure if i will stay again..

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank magic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Great location ,,, clean ,,, staff friendly ,, free safe in room , tv , coffee and tea , we had a double room witch was big ,shower ,ensuite bathroom loved it we,ll be back !!!!! I'm going to recommend it to family and friends ,, I read a lot of bad reviews before we arrived but we found it nice ,, clean and friendly

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived to be directed out room, a double room dome lots of little corridors, past the staff room to the basement! The room absolutely stank! It smelled damp and like someone has urinated all over!! We couldn't stay in that room so asked for another. All they had was a twin so we just took that. When we mentioned the smell they said the basement had recently flooded and that's why it stank!!
The hotel is quite grubby with stained carpets and dirty walls. The room itself (the twin) was but too bad. It was very basic but at least it was clean.
Due to the location it can get very noisy, especially with the window open but that's what we expected with it being so central.
It's only 5 min from central station and is about 2 streets away from the red light district so a busy location but ideal for anyone wanting to be central.
If it was cheaper I would say it's a great hotel for a cheap holiday but I think it's a bit overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura462230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

great location, BUT.....!!! overpriced and definitely not 3 star and the pictures on the web do not give an accurate overview of this hotel. Despite booking well ahead we were given a crappy excuse for a room with two single beds with overly soft mattresses pushed together. At least there is an air conditioner we thought, until we noticed that thought there was a unit on the wall it was not wired in - a work in progress possibly. TV was dark and could only see 2-3 of the channels barely adequately. However the worst aspect was the continual gurgling and foul smells emanating from the bathroom, which filled the room and was very unpleasant to come back to after a day out. Not to mention that we were given 2 cheap disposable plastic cups in the bathroom that we assumed would at least be replaced daily - WRONG! I am happy to rough it, but object to paying good money for a miss- represented and overpriced dirty smelly hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimbocider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Safe and secure place to sleep and chill out! Comfortable sleep but a little too warm (although it was July). Unfortunately there is no air con but the room was equipped with two fans which saved us from a grisly heat related death :L Rooms are lovely, clean and spacious, with a free safe, and free wifi. There was a flat-screen TV on the wall with a remote, and there was a kettle and tea, coffee and sugar provided (but no milk, so pop down to the supermarket a couple doors down and get some water and milk). Unfortunately no fridge but we we survived. There was a spare pillow in the wardrobe and a needle and thread, along with a bible and some coathangers. The bathroom was lovely with a big walk in shower and came with towels, a hairdryer and miniatures of shampoo/shower gel and soap, and shower caps. Staff were pleasant and let us check in early, although the room wasn't ready so we couldn't get keys till later, but we were allowed to leave our luggage in a locked room until then.

Room Tip: In Summer opt for a room with a window facing East or North to avoid excessive heat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#232 of 366 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#142 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#70 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre

Property: Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
Address: Beursstraat 11 - 19, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Terminus)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #291 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing