We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vondel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Vondel
Ranked #133 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tallinn
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for 4 nights in december 2013. Really great location. We really liked being close to Leidseplain and it's trams/airport bus, as well as close to Vondel Park and the museums. The beds are comfy and the bathroom is spacious.The breakfast was very good and reception staff was very friendly. If we were ever to return to Amsterdam we would definitely book this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vilve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    530
    268
    103
    72
See reviews for
164
658
63
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights, it is a very nice hotel. Unfortunately we were given the wrong room (twin not double) but this was quickly sorted by the staff, the staff were friendly and helpful. The room we stayed was lovely and cosy with a nice shower.

The location is perfect close to buses and trams but easy walk to most places. 5 minute walk to Vondelpark.

We hired bikes from them, I personally would suggest hiring bikes separately mainly because they are quite big and bulky with hotel vondel on the front making it clear that you are a tourist in Amsterdam.

Overall I would recommend this hotel and we would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamandEst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The place is a gem. Location is perfect, very central, minutes away from Leidseplein and Vondelpark.
The lobby, lounge and reception are beautyfully decorated with a mix of any¡antiques and modern. but fully respecting the wonderful Amsterdam style building.
The restaurant is very inviting and there is an amazing garden. Reception staff was very friendly.
Although the room was small, it had large windows which opened up to the garden - beautiful.

The only downside was that there was a fire alarm and it was very unclear what was expected. There was a strong burning smell outside, but although there was staff inspecting the building it didn´t feel as if there was a clear process. The staff walking around remained calm, but almost too relaxed and I could stay in my room. Which was in a way fine, but there was no follow up if everything was safe and in order again.

Overall I had a good stay and loved the building. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If this hotel is full, check out their other locations, they look just as nice. Carefully check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bcn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 4 nights in Nov/Dec '13. When we arrived at the hotel it was too early to check in, the very friendly staff looked after our luggage. The staff were very informative and gave us maps. The breakfast was very good (cereals, cooked sausages bacon etc, pastries, omelette's, pancakes, bread, hams, cheeses, yoghurt, fruit.. yumm). Hotel in excellent location and is close to everything that you will want to do during your trip. We did have a little difficulty finding the hotel because we chose to walk (its by the Marriott hotel). There are lots of trams operating all the time. We highly recommend renting a bike which you can get from the hotel for 17 euros. The rooms are not big, however we did not find this a problem. The beds are comfy and the bathroom is spacious. Overall we had a great time and if we were ever to return to Amsterdam we would definitely book this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a bigger room, book a suite instead of a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjaminKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My fiance and I stayed at Hotel Vondel for four nights over New Years. There's a lot to like about the property, but there's also a lot that should be improved. In summary, would we stay here again? Probably yes, if we got it for a good price, but we'd stay with eyes-wide-open for all the hotel's warts.

The Pros:

1. Really Great Location. We really liked being close to Leidseplain and it's trams/airport bus, as well as close to Vondel Park and the museums.
2. OK Room and Bathroom Size. We understand that all hotel rooms in Amsterdam are small. While the room is small, it's not unbearable. It really helps that our room had a fairly spacious bathroom with dual vanities, walk-in shower and a tub.
3. Nice Amsterdam Quirks. This being Amsterdam, all buildings are old and "charming". This hotel is a series of 5 or so interconnected townhomes, with a somewhat rambling path of travel to get through the hotel. The staircases are really steep, and the elevators are small. It's charming - gives you the Amsterdam experience.

The Cons:
1. Needs a Refresh. The room was not in the best condition. The carpet in front of the bed was ripped. The stone vanity was decaying (looked like something out of forever decaying Rome). The painted portion of the bathroom walls were stained. The place needs a refresh.
2. Lots of noise. We heard our neighbors on either side, and the neighbors below. It seems as though our bathroom shared a vent with the young British couple next door, as we heard everything they said in their bathroom, clear as day. We also heard everyone come and go from the elevator.
3. Terrible Room Lighting. The rooms have really bad lighting - don't come here if you need to do serious work.
4. Lacking Basic Amenities. There's no hotel umbrellas to borrow (it rains all the time in Amsterdam), no body lotion in bathroom, no bathrobes, no soap dish.
5. Bad Breakfast. DO NOT pay extra for breakfast. The quality of the breakfast is the worst we had during two weeks in Europe - it's laughably bad, and fairly expensive. There's lots of excellent places for breakfast within walking distance - use Yelp and find a better breakfast option.
6. Lacking Service. Don't expect warm, attentive service. I had emailed the property several weeks before arriving with a question, but the email was never answered. Nobody at the desk ever acted happy to see us. The hotel definitely needs to improve the warmth and responsiveness of its service if it wants to be a desirable place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nelsonjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I have spent my Christmas holidays in this hotel. The room was nice, the bathroom is very modern. The floor is not straight in the room, shall I really care about it while everything is so nice?! The hotel is in a classic structure which looks pretty historical.
The staff is friendly and helps you as much as possible. I would recommend it to everybody.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Maximaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is fantastic, it is just on the edge of the city and great for the trams or you can walk from here to anywhere in the main town.
We arrived quite early in the day and we were too early for a room to be ready so they kindly stored our bags for us. The lady who greeted us was very informative of the best direction for us to head out. We were very pleased to discover how near we were to everything.
When we returned after a day out our room was ready for us.
It was situated in the basement at the front of the building. The room was clean and tidy but quite small, you had to squeeze between the bed and the desk. The room was very very warm but it does have air conditioning. The bathroom was also clean and well equipped.
There is a television in the room, there was only one english speaking channel which showed american shows. There wasn't the usual english/american news channel.
Tea and coffee making facilities are available in the room, although we had not been left any coffee sachets at all and they only supply coffee mate for both tea and coffee, no milk. There is also a fridge with drinks and chocolate etc but no price list at all.
There is a booklet supplied in the room with details of the hotel and some of the facilities it has, it also has places or interest and local attractions, this was very helpful and informative.
When it came to sleeping in the room we discovered how noisy it was. As I said we were in the basement, so we had a long narrow window at the top of the room which looked out onto the street pavement, even with this window closed you could hear traffic and footsteps. Our room was below the restaurant so you had the constant footfall of people walking backwards and forwards above you, and every now and then the sound of flushing water. Our room was next to the caretaker cupboard so first thing in the morning we had the noise of the chambermaids in and out and they weren't quiet. There was also a delivery around 7am so you had the delivery lorry chugging away outside the window.

This hotel is very convenient for the city and good value for money. The rooms are very clean and tidy and the staff are very helpful and friendly. I would say ask for a room at the back of the hotel and ideally a room above the ground floor.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kezzler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#106 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#121 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#87 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Property: Hotel Vondel
Address: Vondelstraat 26, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodation at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone's taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at Restaurant JOOST, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotel its exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing