We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding room and outstanding service!”
Review of Hotel Vondel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Vondel
Ranked #133 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Accualy the whole thing started with a problem with our booking. We were supposed to be at De Hallen but by misstake there was a double booking. We were a little worried coz we got to De Hallen almost at midnight but the service was OUTSTANDING! They arranged a cab to Hotel Vondel were we got an apartment room on the 4th floor and it was AMAZING! Airconditioned livingroom and bedroom. Full equiped kitchen, larged livingroom, nice bathroom. The hotel was at walkingdistance from everything. You have the park 2min walk away. SHopping was not more then 5min walk. It was close to the museums. And at the end of our stay they arrainge with a cab back to De Hallen so we could get our car that was parked there. So i must say again FIRST class service, FIRST CLASS hotell. We will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel Vondel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Zestis,

Thank you very much for your great review on this website! We are very happy to read that, although the double booking, everything turned out fine for you and that you enjoyed our fantastic loft suite, the location and our service!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future in one of our hotels

Best regards,

Suzanne Bubenik – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

548 - 554 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great location, not in centre of town, right next to vondlepark

Rooms we're not so clean and the toilet stank. Originally put in the basement room as this was an upgrade! It smelt musty and is next to generator!! Avoid!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel Vondel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Nick M,

Thank you very much for staying at Hotel Vondel and spending some of your valuable time to share your thoughts on this. I am glad to learn that the location of our hotel was to your liking, but sad to read that you did not enjoy your stay in general due to some housekeeping points of attention. Off course this is not how we envisage a stay a Hotel Vondel, I welcome the opportunity of feedback though and will definitely make sure this will be discussed with the responsible department heads.

Should travel bring you once more to Amsterdam, I would be honored to show you our true colors; please contact me directly so I can take care of your booking.

Best regards,

Suzanne Bubenik – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Located just a couple blocks from Leidesplein (where you can get the bus to the airport as well as trams basically anywhere). You really can't beat the location! The staff was incredibly friendly & helpful. It's a bit cramped in the stairways & elevator... but the room was fine. It was comfortable & clean. Amsterdam is a very expensive city so it's not cheap... but I'm not sure you'll do much better. For convenience it's perfect as long as you don't want to be RIGHT in the middle of the action!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel Vondel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Aaron M,

Thank you very much for your kind words and thank you for choosing Hotel Vondel! I am proud to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced our staff as very helpful and friendly.
Should travels bring you to Amsterdam once more in the future, we look forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Best regards,

Suzanne Bubenik – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. It is in a great location near Vondel park and the main museums. We walked to all attractions from the hotel. It is also very easily accessible by bus from the airport. The staff were very helpful. Our room overlooked the street and was quite noisy, particularly at 4am on the Thursday night. I asked the next morning if we could be relocated to a room to the rear of the hotel and the staff obliged immediately, moving us to a room with a lovely view over the garden. And they even left us a bottle of wine to apologise for our inconvenience. They could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtticusShmatticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel Vondel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear AtticusShmatticus,

Thank you very much for your great review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and our staffs personal service. Although the first room was not as comfortable as hoped we are happy you enjoyed the other room and had a wonderful stay.
We hope to welcome you back in the future in Amsterdam.

Best regards,

Suzanne Bubenik – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Had a two night stay at the Vondel last summer. It is 2-3 townhouses converted into a hotel, hence the quirky layout inside, with odd sets of steps and a tiny lift. I thought the public areas were very attractive, boho chic style, with a nice outside courtyard too, though if you're into minimalism it wouldn't be for you. The bedroom was quite compact, and it seemed to be packed with quite a lot of soft furnishings, however it had a cosy feel and we had a great night's sleep in the very big (and comfy) bed.

It's in a great position for a short stay, as although the hotel is on a quiet side-street, you are only a 5 minute walk straight across the main road and canal to the main Leidseplein square, 5 minutes across the main road to the right to the Blue Boat company canal cruise main stop (opposite the Hard Rock Cafe), or a couple of minutes down the road to the Vondel Park and then the Rijksmuseum. We were able to walk everywhere over the weekend without really bothering with the trams - it was about a half hour walk to Anne Frank House and a little less to Dam Square.

Whilst I wouldn't necessarily stay at the Vondel again (purely because I like to try something new when going away) I would definitely look for a hotel in this area if I were visiting - a much nicer location than the 'central' hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London0Ripponden4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel Vondel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear London0Ripponden4,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on this website. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and would definitely recommend staying with us or any hotel in the vicinity. Did you know that Hotel Vondel is part of Vondel Hotels, a collection of boutique hotels mainly located in the Museum & Fashion district? I can surely recommend all of them for an intimate getaway in Amsterdam.

Best regards,

Suzanne Bubenik – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

On the whole I found my stay here was a positive experience, and I would happily stay here again. The rooms were clean, and everything was in good working order. The biggest plus point was the fact the hotel was close to the Museum district and the beautiful Vondelpark. The main city centre for bars and nightlife was only a few minutes walk away, yet the hotel itself is on a calm residential street. The hotel is just over 10 minutes by taxi from central station, and approximately 30 minutes walk by foot if you are adventurous.

There are a few reasons why I haven't given a "very good" review. None of them are fundamental issues, but each of them combined took a little of the shine away from what as otherwise a good hotel.
- Firstly the walls between the rooms appear to be thin, as we could occasionally here children chatting in the room next door, luckily they were early sleepers and quiet when I wanted to sleep.
- The lifts were incredibly slow.
- The breakfast was an eye watering 19.50 Euros per person.
- The only full height mirror that you could actually look at yourself in was the one in the lift.
- The tissue box which only had two tissues and was emptied on my first night was not refilled on the subsequent two days by house keeping.
- On the second day we returned to our room at 4pm to find that house keeping hadn't yet visited.
- The reception staff were a little cold, and not particularly welcoming. A smile would have been nice.

The rooms are on the smaller side, but compared to other hotels I have stayed in Amsterdam, is was spacious!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callumx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel Vondel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Callumx,

Many thanks for choosing our hotel as your preferred place to stay for this visit to Amsterdam; we appreciate the time you took to write this review, since it is with comments like yours we can recognize critical points in our organization.
Although I have learned that your overall experience was fine, I am sorry to read that we did not exceed your expectations. Rest assured that I will personally follow up on the matters described..

Again, Callumx, thank you very much, I hope to be able to welcome you back in the hotel some day.

Warm regards,

Suzanne Bubenik - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We loved this hotel. It has Old world charm with modern amenities. The staff were exceptional, went out of their way to be helpful, friendly, and the restaurant was very nice. Great location also within easy walking distance to Museumplein, Vondelpark, and leidesplein. We arrived in the morning from an overnight flight and our room was not yet available but they had a nice courtyard with large lounges where we could relax until they were ready. Would recommend it and stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank josaltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_VH, Manager at Hotel Vondel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Josaltman,

Thank you very much for your great review! I am proud to learn that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Everybody in our team is motivated to deliver the best possible service and quality and the staff is absolutely our greatest asset. I will definitely pass your great review on to our teams.

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Suzanne Bubenik – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#80 of 373 in Amsterdam
770 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,091 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 373 in Amsterdam
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#136 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,655 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#128 of 373 in Amsterdam
903 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Address: Vondelstraat 26, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £93 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodation at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone's taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at Restaurant JOOST, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotel its exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing