We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Vondel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Prinsen Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Alexander(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Roemer(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Owl Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Hestia(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Espresso(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,546)
Filter reviews
1,546 results
Traveller rating
466
587
301
109
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
587
301
109
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationboutique hotelquiet side streetexecutive roomwalking distancelovely hotelminute walkmuseum districtrain showertop floorthird floormini barvan goghrooms are smallcentral stationvisiting amsterdamdam square
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
890 - 895 of 1,546 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We chose the hotel through Trip Advisor and the good reviews, and booked online. We are used to city hotels being expensive but when we saw the size of the room! Compared to other city/boutique hotels we have stayed in, we were very disappointed. It was like a converted garage and we could just makie out a square of sky through the window if we craned our necks! If we had been larger there was no way we could have sat on the loo! The housekeeping was very poor - it was clean etc but we had to ask every day for more tea bags, sugar, tissues and there were never any tea spoons! Public areas were nice and we didn't eat there and chose to have breakfast in cafes. Would recommend for location but not at this price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrschoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

The Vondel is in a very good location, but the price does not fit to the rooms especially clean! The rooms are SOOOOO small and noisy, very modern equiped but not good maninained. The shower door does not close correct so that the whole bath was under water - the bath had max 4m2. So if you want to stay in a small room - for big budget...stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikkelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stayed at Hotel Vondel for the first time after being at different in Hotels in the past. We like it around the Museumsplein as its a little quieter and more scenic. Close to Hard Rock Cafe too which we love. The pubs and restaurants are only 5-10min walk away which is very handy. The Hotel itself is lovely and situated on a lovely traditional road. Rooms and service were perfect. We didnt eat at the Hotel because we like to venture out and about. They did want 19euro for breakfast which seems steep.
The only gripe was that our room was on the front of the building which is certainly nice but the bin men arrived at 7am to empty the bottle bins and waste bins. Very noisy. Other than this, I would recommend the Vondel for a place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holiday-Boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in the hotel. The main issues are the lack of cleanliness. The WC in the bathroom was stained with urine and blood. we asked for someone to clean it, and a man showed up and took the toilet brush, rubbed it around the toilet seat and then wiped it with a towel. Obviously this was a complete farse, and we complaint to the receptionist who accepted our complaint but did nothing to rectify the issue of cleanlisness. In addition, the mattress was terrible and old. For a four star hotel that is unacceptable to say the least. It is a shame that a 4* hotel in Holland should be so dirty. Avoid!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skrUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

I stayed in room 201 which was a spacious room facing the street with balcony on which I was allowed to smoke my cigarette. The room was clean and the bed comfy. The lobby was trendy - I did not had breakfast or dinner at their restaurant although it looked cozy.
The staff was really nice (thanks Carla for all your help) and I had a good stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marioyahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews