We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice smart clean hotel”
Review of Hotel Vondel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Vondel
Ranked #134 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 17 January 2011

I stayed at Hotel Vondel five years ago, and was slightly concerned by the poor reviews recently as it is on the expensive side.

We were very happy that we had nothing to be concerned about. We had booked a small standard double and there was plenty of room, much bigger than a lot of bedrooms in Amsterdam. The room was on the third floor, as far from reception as you can get. Watch out which lift you get as you can't access all of the third floor from the first lift. The room was modern and smart, and cleaned perfectly everyday. The bathroom was the best bit, with a massive double shower and double his and hers sink. There were load of good tv channels and the bed was really comfy.

Would definitely go back, if we could afford it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

823 - 829 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2011

Fantastic location and great little hotel. Basement rooms on road side can be noisy with guests arriving but we were garden side which was lovely. Close walking distance to everything and friendly staff

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooBooKitty82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

Good value for money but room was very small and extremely hot

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank LiverpoolPauline57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2010

We stayed in Hotel Vondel for a one year aniversary. The hotel was nice and clean, the staff were helpful and it's location was out on the edge of the city away from the hussle and bussle so if you don't mind a 10 minute walk into the center and want somewhere fairly quiet it's excellent (it suited us fine!)

We would stay here again with no hesitation but would insist upon booking that we were not given a basement floor room, the basement rooms are directly below the restaurant, all you can hear all night and early in the morning is VERY loud chair moving/table moving and loud talking and people walking about, it made sleeping very difficult before midnight!

The breakfast was excellent, with a good selection of croissants, rolls etc etc. they will also provide a cooked breakfast on request.

We did see a mouse one evening running around in the bar area , it was cold outside and he probably wanted to stay somewhere warm, overall it's a nice hotel so why not in the hotel Vondel!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank Easton-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

My friend and I stayed 4 nights at Vondel and we can recommend this hotel to everyone who like to stay in the centre and in walking distance of things do see and do. The only slight criticism would be the breakfast: 20 Eur - not worth it!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marit68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We chose the hotel through Trip Advisor and the good reviews, and booked online. We are used to city hotels being expensive but when we saw the size of the room! Compared to other city/boutique hotels we have stayed in, we were very disappointed. It was like a converted garage and we could just makie out a square of sky through the window if we craned our necks! If we had been larger there was no way we could have sat on the loo! The housekeeping was very poor - it was clean etc but we had to ask every day for more tea bags, sugar, tissues and there were never any tea spoons! Public areas were nice and we didn't eat there and chose to have breakfast in cafes. Would recommend for location but not at this price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrschoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

The Vondel is in a very good location, but the price does not fit to the rooms especially clean! The rooms are SOOOOO small and noisy, very modern equiped but not good maninained. The shower door does not close correct so that the whole bath was under water - the bath had max 4m2. So if you want to stay in a small room - for big budget...stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikkelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#79 of 372 in Amsterdam
768 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#25 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,090 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 372 in Amsterdam
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#135 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,651 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#129 of 372 in Amsterdam
902 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Address: Vondelstraat 26, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £92 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodation at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone's taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at Restaurant JOOST, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotel its exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing