We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's all coming together!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #16 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It's all coming together!”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We just spent three days at De l'Europe and are pleased to report that the challenges of renovations are behind them. The staff, particularly Jeroen Bronsveld, Jacqueline Gratz and Sasha Holzkamper could not have done more to make us feel welcome and appreciated. Our room had a spectacular view of the Amstel, it was quiet and service was top-notch. Our meal at Bord'Eau was spectacular (congrats to Chef Richard and his team). While there are still some minor transitional hiccups to address, the bottom line is that people care - and, it's nice to know that a professional team awaits your arrival and works to ensure that you do receive five-star attention and service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAG54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelrepAmsterdam, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Thank you very much for these kind words and overall positive feedback on the hotel! Your nice comments about my colleagues Jacqueline, Sascha and Richard are also truely appreciated and I will make sure these will be passed on.
On behalf of the team, it has been a pleasure looking after you and we look forward to welcoming you back for an even better experience in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,099
    238
    75
    19
    20
See reviews for
227
725
67
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
U.K.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The taxi had to drop us slightly away from the hotel so we had to walk with the luggage and through the side restaurant as there was no one to assist us and access to the front door looked closed. we reached their make shift reception and then were taken into a lift with no lights. The room was nice but there were snagging issues still to complete. we were then woken up early in the morning with banging from workers. I just wish the Hotel mentioned at the time of booking and on their website that they were under refurbishment. Despite our complaints no one from the senior management seemed to care. Hopefully once the refurbishment is done this will return to being a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businestrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, City of Roses, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Note to webmaster: Why is this property listed twice? See also ranking #47 of the same hotel. We visited Amsterdam in early June, and were most pleased with our stay at this fine hotel. Renovations are nearly comple, and it looks to be a dazzling hotel, with a great location and fine restaurants. This is a 5 star hotel, and I highly recommend it for those fortunate enough to be visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Pay for upgrade to Amstel River view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSUvikings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This is an excellent spot to spend a decadent weekend with your lover! Thanks a lot!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PINK188590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelrepAmsterdam, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
We are very pleased to read that De L'Europe proved to be a good choice for your romantic weekend. Please do continue to keep us in mind when an anniversary is on the cards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

I knew the hotel was under construction until the end of May, but the section we stayed in was complete and there was no inconvenience to us other than the new restaurants not yet open. What a room!!! The colors were based on a large reproduced Rembrandt painting hung in the room and the features are too many to list. They gave us wonderful service and provided everything you would expect from a top european hotel. Look for them on every top 10 list by year's end.

Room Tip: We had a view of both canals
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank butravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelrepAmsterdam, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
WOW! Thank you very much for sharing this amazing review! We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the design and interior of our new rooms and we cannot wait for you to return to the hotel and sample the cuisine of our two stunning new restaurants.
When you do, please feel free to contact me directly in order for me to be able to personally overlook your stay!

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
103 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

The staff are some of the best I have encountered in Europe, no attitude, and extremely good service. The location of the hotel is perfect, though complicated to get to if you have rented a car due to construction, not only of the hotel, but the street in front (your nav. will take you the wrong way). The room was spacious, but gloomy even with 3 windows facing out.. I dont know if the room was one that still needed to be remodeled, or if it was one of the finished rooms.. the style of it was very french chic circa 1981, and I mean that in a very good way.. as that is totally current... however the lighting was deplorable...and felt like something out of the "Eyes of Laura Mars" film ... they had to bring an extra floor lamp to use with my lap top, and the hall leading to the bed room was too dark to read the thermostat clearly... but staff were wonderfully accommodating and apologetic, making one feel rather ok about it ..

Room Tip: get a one bedroom suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshuaSims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelrepAmsterdam, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear Joshua,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your feedback! I truely appreciate the lovely comments you have made about our staff and location. We take pride in ensuring our guest are feeling comfortable and well looked after and I am happy to read you have witnessed this personally.
I appreciate that the 'mood lighting' in some of our rooms is not to everyones taste and your feedback is taken onboard. In the meantime we are of course more than happy to accomodate additional lighting requests.
Joshua, thank you once again for the positive feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to De l'Europe to experience the entire hotel in its full splendour!

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

we stayed 4 nights in this nice paradise -the service was the best you could wish -we had a beauitful suit !!the breakfast was great and served on time every morning , room service and housee keeping excellent reception/concierge always with a smile, very helpful and very efficent- - this will be our hotel at our next visit to Amsterdam !!Thank you !!,Fam.. Manor.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurit76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L'Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L'Europe has been favored by Amsterdam's elite and the hotel continues to attract the world's most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L'Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord'Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city's most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar 'Les Caves De L'Europe'. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam's inspired gentlemen's pub Freddy's Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness 'Skins Institute - De L'Europe'. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing