We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming. Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #17 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2012

The remodeled hotel has worked to anticipate every comfort of hotel guests. The room, the lighting, the bedding, the room amenities -- and the view -- were all exceptional. The staff was friendly and helpful, as we found most everyone in Amsterdam to be.

Room Tip: Our riverside junior suite was small but lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hoh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,035 - 1,041 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

Didn't stay at the hotel but had dinner at the Hoofdstad Brasserie. Got table overlooking the water - and enjoyed the Christmas lights reflecting in the water. Food good value. Would recommend the tournedos (a la carte). Also the starter course salad with beetroot and the Creme brulee. Coffee comes with petit fours - nice touch.
The waiter was very concerned that I hadn't finished my main course.
Lovely spot for a romantic dinner in a unique location at an affordable price. Strange how Amsterdammers don't seem to have discovered it yet. Mostly foreigners there.

Looking forward to trying it again in the summer - and hopefully sit out on the terrace

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank kitty064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLeurope, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Thank you very much for this lovely feedback! We are thrilled to read you have enjoyed your dining experience as much as you have. Make sure to also come and visit Bord'Eau, our gastronomic restaurant. Until then, we wish you a great festive season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My wife and I recently made our seventh trip to this beautiful city. Each time, we have stayed at the Hotel de L'Europe where we are treated not just as guests but as returning family members. The last two stays have been subsequent to the fantastic renovation that the hotel received. The rooms are beautiful with every modern comfort, while still incorporating old world charm, that you can imagine. It is as comfortable as it is beautiful with a fabulous location and a great staff who care about your every need. We know so many by name (they know us as well!) that I do not want to name them for fear of forgetting to name at least one of our friends there! We are planning another visit next April and are really looking forward to our visit. We recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The best, for us, are the Amstel River view rooms. All are quiet and beutifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank V_Pagano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLeurope, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear valued guest,

It is our absolute pleasure looking after you and we feel honoured to have been selected as your hotel of choice when visiting Amsterdam throughout the years!

We wish you very happy Christmas and healthy 2012!

Team De L'Europe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We were personally greeted by Mr. Jeroen Bronsveld (Front Office Manager) upon arrival. He escorted us to a beautiful Red Suite with views of the Amstel river and the city. A bottle of Billecart-Salmon Champagne was then sent to the room. Both Mr. Bronsveld and Titta (in Guest Relations) were aware that we were celebrating a special occasion. We had a wonderful celebratory dinner at Bord'Eau that evening- only an elevator ride away.
The hotel has just been magnificently renovated (it is owned by the Heineken family). There is marble- marble- marble- and more marble- all slabs matched perfectly with each other. Every room comes with its own iPad.
The entire staff could not be more warm, welcoming and friendly--including the doormen and the wait staff at breakfast and tea. The concierge (Eef Sparla) arranged our tickets to both the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum--just a short walk from the hotel. The location of this hotel is superb--whereas The Amstel Intercontinental is remote--STAY HERE !--we definitely made the correct decison !
The hotel was just featured in an article in the Sunday New York Times travel section. We are longing to return here on our next trip to Amsterdam !!!

Room Tip: Get an Amstel iver View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravellerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLeurope, Front Office Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear both,

Thank you very much for this amazing review. It has been great to have you with us and to have been chosen by yourselves as THE hotel to celebrate your special occasion. Please make sure to come and visit us again soon! In the meantime, we wish you a wonderful festive season!

Team De L'Europe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Smooth arrival with the doorman taking charge of our car immediately (garage is expensive but that is normal for Amsterdam).
Some difficulties with check-in as our package was not well transmitted by LHW. After verification all was settled well and all LHW advantages (upgrade, welcome gift, etc..) were considered.
We booked a De Luxe One Bedroom Suite and were upgraded to a Prestige One Bedroom Suite with a small balcony and view of the Munt Tower and the Amstel River. Very spacious separate living area and a small but cosy bedroom with a great bed. The room was very comfortable and pleasant to stay in.
During our stay the staff was always very friendly and helpful. (Special thanks to Mrs. Jacqueline Grätz who really made us feel at home). Most of the time we were addressed with our family name, which is exceptional.
Breakfast sometimes a little disorganised, depending on the staff.
All in all we had an excellent time in hotel de l'Europe and when in Amsterdam again, we will surely stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRTravellerLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

I've decided to book at the De L'Europe Amsterdam for a very special occasion - birthday of my wife and our wedding anniversary. We had only one night, but what we've got, was great.

Already through the booking process the staff was very helpful. They advised me to book via the booking engine of LHW (Leading Hotels of the World), as there was a special promotion running for club members. I informed the hotel about my preferences and about the occasion of my stay.

When we arrived (actually quiet early in the morning) we've got a welcome of the guest relations manager. We've booked a superior double room - and we ended up in a deluxe one bedroom suite in the new Dutch Masters Wing of the hotel, where only VIP rooms are located.


Our room was delightful - a perfect mix between modern elements and classic luxury. Our room was very big, also the bathroom (complete in mosaik-style) was large. There were many gadgets, like a complete surround sound bose system, three TV sets (one built-in the bathtub), air condition, heated floor in bathroom, modern light control, a nespresso machine, and much more.

We had the best view you can get from our room - to the Amster river and to the city.

The hotel gives-out a I-Pad 2 for your free usage in the room, including docking stations. A very good idea - because the whole hotel directory is included in a special app. You even can order room service directly via I-Pad.

As a welcome greeting we've got a bottle of champagne, nuts, and a bottle of red wine in our room. As we had now enough drinks, we decided to order room service - quick, tasty, well-presented and a reasonable price (35 Euros for 2 dishes).


The bathroom was specious, as I wrote, and equipped with all comfort. Many fresh and fluffy towels, bathrobes, and many bathroom amenities of a own luxury cosmetic line. The bathtub was big, and we had also a rain-forest-shower. You could access the bathroom from two sides.

We've also used the SPA area, which is small, but very romantic, nice made, and clean. There is a pool with jacuzzi and jet stream, good temperature, with a romantic starlight heaven above. As we were the only guests, we could turn-down the lights and switch on romantic sounds. There is free mineral water at the pool bar, and again many cosmetic amenities to use.

There was also a little fitness center, with modern machines. So you can access YouTube or Facebook through the screen of your fitness bike..:-)



The whole hotel is providing a very warm atmosphere, all is in warm colours, and well-mixed between classic grand hotel luxury and modern style. There is a great mixture of famous Dutch paintings everywhere hidden in the hotel, which we all found later at the Reichsmuseum.

Through that we hat a deluxe suite, we've got some extra attention from the staff - newspaper delivery, minibar refil service, fresh coffee & tea, and of course a turn-down service.


We had a drink and a cigar at Freddy's Bar. The bar is very nice - the staff was lame. We were the only guests, and I needed to ask twice that I could place my order, which I could get 15 minutes later. Also, if you offer a nice and spacious cigar lounge, you need to provide at least a cigar ashtray, a cutter, and long cigar matches - all not available. Atmosphere is nice.


We slept very well at a specious, huge bed (one of this luxury hand-made-bed's or whatever) with XXXXL pillows. We went for breakfast to the Brasserie. Very nice located at the Amster river. Quality of the food was very good, service was quick and friendly. The buffet could be larger (for that it is a top hotel), but never mind.


We've got threated not only with a early check-in, but also with a late check-out at 16:00 without any extra payment. Check-out was quick and easy, we could store our luggage there for a wile on. Front office was helpful in organizing some additional bags for our hand luggage.

When our car arrived and we wanted to leave, we've got a personal greeting again from guest relations - with a very nice present (room fragrance candle) on our way.



All-in-all, this hotel and its staff made our celebration perfect and unique. We've got the best what you can get for very reasonable money. We really felt like real VIP's at any time. I will come again definitively.

Room Tip: Inform the staff about any special occasions, they will help you according to availability. Rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZPZurich-Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel in early July and it was absolutely fantastic! We were traveling with a lot of family (which is stressful enough!) but once we got to the hotel everything was at ease. It is a little challenging to find the entrance with the construction on the street in front, but once we got inside everything was fantastic. From the doorman to the Front Desk, everything was great. The rooms we had overlooked the canal and were spectacular. As a techno-geek, the in-suite iPad and Bose sound system you could control in the bathroom was awesome! We had breakfast in the cafe, and despite a snooty guest beside us, everything was fabulous. One night we organized to leave the kids behind, and they organized a fabulous babysitter for us (Ann Flor?) who took care of our precious kids. The new part of the hotel is just great! We did have one room in the older part which was still nice and spacious, but compared to the new room wasn't nearly as nice. We had one "glitch" which I won't mention, but the staff dealt with it efficiently which is what you would expect. Courteous and centrally located, if you are looking for a luxury hotel, look no further!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section - simply breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sobrien_GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,383 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 374 in Amsterdam
844 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#15 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,352 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £270 - £531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing