We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - we had the best room in the Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #20 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Amsterdam was not a place on our itinerary, but we loved it and we loved L'Europe as well. we were upgraded (bonus) to a junior suite that was one floor up on the corner overlooking the canal. We had 2 balconies, a small off the bedroom and a long one that wrapped around the corner of the lounge. We felt totally spoilt and the facilities were incredible. I've never seen so many towels offered in a bathroom - everything, head rest for bath, nespresso coffee in the room and the staff were happy and extremely helpful. We hired bikes and rode around the city and the location is perfect. I would love to stay there again if the budget stretches.

Room Tip: a Room over the canal is really worth it -the canal comes alive at night, especially I guess in summ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenwal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 1,592 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2012

While booking my 'normal' room over the phone I explained the staff that the stay we had was to celebrate our fifth wedding anniversary. While checking in we got a fantastic surprise; we got a serious upgrade to the fantastic suite with a view over Amsterdam, a bubblebath and fantastic interior. What a great start of our stay. The staff is extremely friendly, professional and guest focused. After a nice breakfast with very friendly personnel we could use the 'hotel bikes' to cycle through Amsterdam. We have had two fantastic days in this great hotel. Compliments for the design, interior, the art and most important great staff. Customer service at the highest degree! The location is fantastic since it is in the center but very close to the Jordaan (what we prefer over the city center) and close to musea and concert venues. We will for sure come back.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank B v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My husband and I just returned from our European vacation and this hotel was by far the best place we stayed. We had a junior suit with a balcony. We arrived early Sunday morning and was very tired from our 8 hour flight. The bed was so comfortable and had the biggest pillows I have every seen. The bedroom was quiet and dark so no problem sleeping during the day. Room service was very accommodating bringing up anything we needed. When we got up we sat out on our balcony and had the best time watching everyone passing by on their boats. They were having a blast. Family's and friends had pot luck style dining, drinking and did not have a care in the world. So much fun. The room was amazing. The bathroom had the best tub I could have relaxed in it all day. The location was perfect walking distance from shopping and the square. Everyone was very helpful and so nice. I did not get to try out the spa, but it looked really nice. If you want a romantic place to get away to for the weekend to relax and have a lot of fun this is the perfect place for both.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I recently stayed in a beautiful junior suite facing the canal and the room was beautiful, quiet and spacious. The hotel itself is in a wonderful and charming location but there were several service issues that I encountered during my stay and then again when a friend and I went to dinner on Sat. night at the Hoofdstad Brasserie. I had already had one meal there by myself sitting on their wonderful terrace but it was a less busy night and the service was fine and the meal delicious. I went back on Sat. night and the service was terrible and disorganized and our waiter's excuse was that there was a private party of 14 that was causing the delays. We had asked for a table by the window since it was supposed to rain and they would not let us continue to sit outside but then once seated, they made us move again saying that table was reserved already. So, we sat at a less than desirable table but no one did ever show up for that window table and then our main course arrived a full hour after our starter course. The restaurant seemed to be very short staffed and our waiter was frazzled and not very service oriented.
The front desk personnel were friendly and helpful but again, there seemed to be some disorganization as requests made prior to arrival were not on record.
I loved the hotel itself and can recommend it but don't expect 5star service in every area.

Room Tip: I only saw my room which was a junior suite facing the canal(no terrace) and it was very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moremiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I have been attending this hotel for a venue end of June. the setting and atmosphere in this hotel are unmatched. Food is delicious, the rooms are excellent; I would recommend this hotel to all travelers, looking for affordable luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterlybeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Not sure how I should rate this hotel. Our first room was pleasant enough, nothing special, but we were woken up at 5am by the floor light sensors coming on. Feeling somewhat jet lagged, we tried to ignore it but it wasn't soon till they went off again. A couple of minutes later, the noises we could hear in our room made it obvious we had a 'visitor'. I bolted up out of bed whilst my husband looked around to investigate but couldn't find anything so we turned the light back off and tried to go back asleep. Within seconds the glasses on the table were clinkering and that was enough for me. We rang reception and they offered to send someone up but we told them not to bother, we were going to shower and pack our bags so they could find another room for us.
We were upgraded to a large suite that was very nice, but considering the circumstances it was probably the least they could do. The continental breakfast was nothing special and on check out we were questioned if we 'took some bacon' one morning, which we didn't, which wasn't the most pleasant of conversations to have, especially after the charades of our first night! The dinner on the terrace was quite nice. The location of the hotel was convenient to everything we wanted to see foot, although we did take a taxi to and from the station as it was too far to walk with luggage.
Overall, I think I would still recommend this hotel, just beware of the ' Siberian Hampsters'.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kobe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Taking the old and smashing it with the new, this hotel is modern, warm, and a happy place to be. Amsterdam was a strange city to me, but the moment I entered our room my jaw dropped. My favorite color is mustard, yea appalling to some, but it's a happy color people and out room was a bronzy mustard color with rembrandts on the wall, a stunning terrace over the canal and a modern as you can get purple bathroom. The interior designer deserves huge props to pull off such a task in such a tasteful manner. The concierge booked us dinner at two restaurants of which I will never forget. De Vief Viejen (well, something like that, English: the five flies) was the first and it was drop dead yummy. It's Dutch food made at it's best. The best experience and food I have ever eaten came from Le Rive at the intercontinental. Nothing on any continent has touched it, and I was a vegetarian at the time and the chef created an entire pre fixe menu of 5 courses which was actually like 20, and course on top of course topped the next. When you stay at hotel de l'europe, which you should, get them to book you a dinner at Le rive with drinks afterwards at the secret unmarked bar that was like hogwarts gone achy. (the concierge will instruct you on how to get in). Have fun and enjoy the tulips!

Room Tip: Try and get a canal view, and a terrace really makes the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyFy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,418 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 375 in Amsterdam
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £255 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing