We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #20 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed 2 nights as a last minute arrangement by Tauck River Cruises due to the rising water levels on the Rhine. I believe there were around 50 of us that had to be put up at this hotel and therefore we all were given different categories of rooms. Ours was room 520 which was a good size and had a view of a canal partially obscured by the roof of the floor below us. It was located behind the elevator which concerned us but we heard absolutely nothing.

The room had plenty of closet space with only 3 hangers...I'm sure we could have asked for more. Beautiful marble bathroom with separate shower and tub, makeup mirror, in floor heating, and high quality toiletries. The room had large, comfortable bed with beautiful quality linens and supplied a robe and slippers for two. There was a tv, Bose docking station for my iPod with a speaker system which included the bathroom, a writing desk with an iPad charged up and ready for use with the free WiFi.

The hotel is about six blocks from the Red Light District and about a 15 minute walk from the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gough museum.

The only blip was the service in the restaurant which was friendly but very disorganized. In fairness to them, almost our entire group did show up within half an hour but we were one of the first to be seated and one of the last to be fed and only after I went and questioned the waitress. When they did bring my meal the meat was almost raw on the inside. I'm sure they would have gladly fixed it had I pointed it out but no one ever came to ask so I ate what I could.

Cannot comment on the value because we didn't pay for the room but the card we filled out for registration said 370 Euros.

Room Tip: Some of the others in our group had room 417 and said it was really, really small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgdann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

890 - 896 of 1,592 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed for 7 nights in a beautiful appointed room .huge comfortable bed massive pillows and all the other luxuries of life.Two great restaurant choices a Brasserie for lunch and their superb Classic Bordeau restaurant .The best meal we had in Holland. The Hotel is well positioned.Staff all friendly.Only one gripe we asked the concierge to book a table at their restaurant Bordeau over two days he told us they where busy and could not fit us in.I went straight to them myself and got in the next night.
The breakfast was way to expensive at 32 euro per person!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I ve stayed a few times at the hotel de l'europe.
The rooms& location are perfect
The food is great
You always feel home
A special thanks to the excellent staff that make this place very special
I can't wait to come back

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

L' Europe is in my view one of the top hotels in Holland.
Service is excellent, rooms are very nice, two great restaurants an a nice bar.
The employees of the hotel are very friendly and service oriented.
The Brasserie and Bordeau serve outstanding quality lunch and dinner.
I frequent this hotel almost every six or seven weeks and it is always a pleasure to be there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I just came back from a wonderful stay at De L'Europe and I wanted to take the time to praise them for doing such a great job....I have been to some of the most amazing hotels in many different countries but this hotel was one of my favorites...it's in a great location, the staff is wonderful, the rooms are beautiful and extremely clean, and the mood in Amsterdam is great....I recommend this hotel to anyone that us looking for excellence and elegance in Amsterdam....!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pukieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Spent a weekend at the De L'Europe and was pleased with everything about the hotel. From the moment I was greeted until the minute of departure the staff was truly excellent. Most even remembered my name, which is unheard of in a big city hotel. I had a junior suite overlooking the river/canal and it was fantastic. Well appointed, very clean and had one interesting feature I have never experienced before, when you got out of bed in the middle of the night, there was a sensor that turned on the lights in the toilet area.

The hotel is geographically well situated in the middle of the Old City. Close to Rembrandt Square, the Red Light District and the museum district and any kind of restaurant you could ever want to experience. Healthy walking distance to just about every activity.

My hotel of choice in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Armstrong56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Super location. Lovely hotel. Room was beautiful. Very clean.

Only problem was with restaurants and food. Food - OK. Not great, better selection would be appreciated. Had trouble cooking a steak. Service - not good. Breakfast buffet usually in need of replenishing. Ask for an omlette - cook tells you to wait - I'm busy!!!! Mentioned to hotel but they are very happy with the service they provide!!!

So suggest use hotel - very expensive but great. DO not eat there. Find lots of local restaurants - that want your business,

Room Tip: Old Masters wing with special rooms - wonderful. View of the river a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceangirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,419 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 375 in Amsterdam
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,871 reviews
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £252 - £467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing