We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special wedding anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #19 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was a belated anniversary celebration and it was superb! We were upgraded to a suite, greeted with champagne, and taken care of for our 3 night visit! The staff was excellent, spoke beautiful English, and so helpful. Their recommendations were right on, whether for an Indonesian restaurant, late night bar fare, or where to see windmills. I can only hope every hotel stay I have from now on merely approaches this excellence. And the breakfast was excellent too! Pat and Carol, Charleston, SC

Room Tip: Choose it for a special occasion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bubbamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving us such lovely comments and for having chosen to stay with us on such a special occasion. We sincerely hope this will become an annual tradition for you both!

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

The hotel is right on the canal and has a fantastic old Europe feel. We were upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite which was absolutely spectacular. One of the best I've stayed in, lounge, dining, study, bedroom and 2 bathrooms. The service and concierge were first class and the morning breakfast included if booked through Amex platinum. Freddy's bar was excellent and great value for an evening cocktail. Hard to go past if looking for something special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Phil,

Your kind words are most appreciated. I hope you both have enjoyed a safe trip back to Sydney and that we have the pleasure of looking after you again at some point in the future!

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My partner and I stayed in a stunning room looking over the River Amstel, the room was immaculate and spacious, the bathroom was light and tasteful. The staff are very helpful and polite. It is well situated and close to everything a visitor would want when visiting Amsterdam. We had a wonderful holiday in romantic settings, perfect xx

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gelly238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving us such a lovely compliments and photos. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the not too distant future!

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Smooth very smooth - De L'Europe is a hidden jewel amongst in the 'Diagon Alleys' of Amsterdam. The staff were beautiful prepared to meet, attend to and guide the unprepared arriving guest. Rooms are delightfully set out, roomy yet intimate, comfortable while still helpfully practical. Attention to detail is ever-present be it in the food, service or invisible support. This is a hotel for those who wish to quietly absorb and appreciate the many little things that make Amsterdam such a fascinating city. This is a hotel for those who seek quiet sophistication, elegance or simply for very special moments and memories; it delivers all with style.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

How lovely to read that your stay with us was such an enjoyable one! At De L'Europe we like to pride ourselves for our genuine hospitality which I am happy to read you got to experience.

Please do advse me when you are thinking of returning to the hotel in order for me to get the chance to perisonally thank you for your kind words about the team.

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This beautiful hotel is located in an ideal location near many trams and a short walk from the tourist areas of interest. The nearby trams will also get you to the museum area quickly. From check-in to check-out we had a delightful stay. We had an urgent need for clothing to be pressed and everything was done within an hour as promised! The in-house fine dining restaurant was a special treat, and the concierge helped with pre-trip restaurant reservations and provided us with a list of interesting and diverse activities. The hotel also provided tickets to key museums meaning no long wait on lines to buy tickets. The room we had was large, beautifully decorated in warm red tones and we had an overabundance of bath towels and toiletries. Although the spa and fitness center were closed for renovations, a fitness area was set up and I was amazed that it was empty every time I used it which allowed me to pick the machines I wanted (yay!). The room was technologically up to date - including an in-house iPad and docking stations for our iPhones and iPods. The continental breakfast was good - because I love tongue it was a treat to find this meat offered with other conventional breakfast meats (ham, turkey, etc.). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Loved this hotel, great location, old world European charm, yummy restaurants, comfortable bed, large modern bathroom, fluffy towels and robes - what's not to like! Also, loved the iPad and chargers in the room. We used the helpful friendly concierge services to book tours and taxis. Would love to stay here again when in Amsterdam.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank twickski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Hotel De L'Europe was the first hotel in our 5 country Fall trip. Our friends had stayed here and highly recommended it. We convinced another couple to stay at this hotel, and hoped, at the price we paid (high) that the hotel would live up to our expectations.
From the moment we arrived, we were duly impressed. The grand salon was stunning with the huge Dutch master reproduction paintings and beautiful chandeliers front and center. Reception was professional and swift. We got to the hotel early as our flight arrived at 8:30 am. We asked to be upgraded to a canal view room. Within 2 hours of arrival, our request was granted. The room, on the third floor, had a wonderful view of the bell tower and canal. The bed, fine linens and bathroom were first class. The best nights sleep of the 5 hotels we stayed at. The bathroom, was hands-down, my favorite. I loved the deep bathtub, the large rainhead shower and the lighted makeup mirror. Housekeeping was perfect, never missing a beat. Even the soaps and shampoos were top of the line.
All of the staff were friendly, spoke perfect English and did their jobs with high professionalism. Special thanks to Kostas at the Brasserie, a real pro and gentleman. His staff, at breakfast, were super. The coffee, the best! Also, Roland, the concierge, (gave us wonderful advice and took care of arranging the tour we took outside Amsterdam).
Gert, the bartender: when we asked him about Jenever gin which is ubiquitous in the Netherlands, he proceeded to produce 3 shots to our table with an in depth explanation for each. A real Mixologist, he made us feel welcome and appreciated.
When you spend as much money as this hotel commands, you expect a certain level of service. Hotel de L'Europe did not disappoint and was our favorite hotel on our month long journey. The location is perfect for seeing all of the sights in town. We felt safe and well taken care of.
The only downer was that the spa and pool were not available due to maintenance. They did, however, offer an alternative hotel with a gym and spa down the street.
We would return to this hotel and highly recommend it. Our friends also raved about it!

Room Tip: Book early for the best discounts. Ask for a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DiscriminatingDiva08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,443 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 376 in Amsterdam
919 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £263 - £525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing