We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #15 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Kalisz, Poland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

What a great place, if you expect an old school and old fashioned bar there's the place. I came in with bog group of friends interested in a story behind it. We wanted to see where legendary Freddy Heineken was spending his free time. No disappointment at all. Around late 40's bartender was saying stories about him serving Mr. Heineken a beer etc. Great place, you can almost smell old time and see time freeze over there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,073
    234
    73
    18
    20
See reviews for
222
704
66
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel de l'europe in Amsterdam last month and absolutely loved it. We booked our hotel with AMEX and got a fantastic free upgrade to a large suite. The staff and especially the concierge was top notch. The concierge was fantastic helping us plan some wonderful dinners and a great private tour of the city at night (this tour was awesome - ask the concierge about it if you want to explore the city at night and see the red light district). They simply couldn't be nicer. The hotel also has some cool history as it's owned by the Heineken family (by the way... they only beer they serve is Heineken!) The hotel bar, Freddy's, (named after Alfred Heineken) was very nice and served great drinks. Lastly, the hotel is in prime location making it very easy to walk the city and see all the major sights. I would highly recommended this hotel - and definitely will come back in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
232 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed there couple years ago for Xmas and New Years, wonderful memories, extremely luxuries rooms with Amstel lake view, gr8 buffet breakfast, within walking range to all attractions and activities, recommend to all

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ZiadNohra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This is one of Amsterdam's finest old hotels and the staff who looked after us were great. What a pity that this great hotel has been decorated in such a curious style. The first suite we were shown to was an overpowering red all over. I couldn't have enjoyed a night there (the noise from the trams didn't help either). We were offered alternative rooms which were a vivid blue (also overwhelming) or a mouthwash green. We went for the latter - despite it being green all over (walls, curtains, ceiling, chairs, etc). After two days there, I was almost getting used to the decor but would have enjoyed my stay there far more without the green. A pity as there are good things about this hotel, particularly the Brasserie restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Recently went to amsterdam and stayed in the hotel for 4nights. Was very disapointed. The bed is suppose to be an king/queen size bed however it was 2 single beds attached together. No 5star rating hotel will ever put 2 attached single beds! The beds are the most important the quality or the mattress and pillows have to be of the highest. The curtain was broken at the edge and the lighting is extremely poor in the room. during my trip 3 out of 4 times you had to remind the reception abt the turn down service and one day they didn't even make the room for the day. The concierge I feel in a great hotel is always suppose to be best. We couldn't get reservation in our own hotel restaurent. And they would never call you bk with any information and the ipad reservation in your room definitely doesn't work!! There was a mouse in the lobby when I told the receptionist they apologised and dismissed it. The door man is so lost half the time. He is too busy taking 20 min per guest so he will never attend to you.we asked for a cab. Any hotel at that level will have cabs available at the spot. Not tell you it's not easy or it will take time !! The breakfast is ok, but the waitress Nita is very rude. I asked her to try and get my steak and eggs soon as I am pregnant and we had been waiting for a while. She told me didn't I know that steaks take a long time. In no 5star hotel will the staff talk back to you! They are suppose to help and give service to the highest. I stay in all 5s tar top rated hotels. Such as badrutts palace st mortiz, de bregues four seasons Geneva or four seasons Prague etc. if the hotel is exceptional you will forgive the smaller mistakes. But this hotel has to revamp its staff and hotel if they ever want to reach a caliber they say they are at. Quite shocked after looking at its ratings on tripadvisor. Think tripadvisor should send one of its experts to assess the hotel before putting it so High on its list.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank nilly67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to give us feedback with regards to your recent visit to our hotel. I am very sad to read that your experience at De L’Europe did not meet your expectations and truly wish I would have been made aware of your unhappiness whilst in residence in order for me to have been able to take immediate action to turn things around. May I please invite you to email me privately with your reservation details in order for me to conduct an investigation? I am confident that once given a chance for us to redeem ourselves you will also get to experience the service and accommodations we like to pride ourselves with.

Warm regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
jbronsveld@leurope.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Great service from the arrival till the last moment - large rooms and suites . a perfect choice for a romantic stay in Amsterdam. Nothing to say on the breakfast - clean, perfect, efficient with a large selection of fresh fruits.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxModesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The hotel De L'Europe Amsterdam is absolutely incredible. OK, so I have started my review in the most clichéd way possible...but really, it *is* incredible! From the moment you walk in to be greeted by a flurry of doormen, bell hops, attentive desk staff and that incredible long room with a circular bar at a the end with a vista out to the river, you just know you are somewhere that is out of the ordinary in every way. Our room was brilliant with reproductions of the Dutch masters on our walls, the king sized bed was a tired travellers dream come true and the bathroom was simply awesome with floor to ceiling marble and an air of opulence that permeates through the whole hotel. The ultra modern (and surely brand spanking new) hi tech LED TV with Bose surround sound system (I kid you not!) is impressive enough, but they also have an ipad for your entertainment in the room with complimentary wifi. How could we not be blown away? It is a techie's dream come true. On a funny note, one night my wife and I did smell a waft of marijuana that somehow permeated through the central heating into our room. Neither of us imbibe, but hey, this *is* Amsterdam we are talking about, and we thought it was ironical and funny at the same time! Location wise the hotel is a close walking distance to so many Amsterdam attractions that you will rarely require the use of a taxi. But, the star of the city we felt was the hotel De L'Europe itself! What higher compliment than that could we make? You have to stay here at least once in your life...because it will stay in your memory forever!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VicNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,489 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L'Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L'Europe has been favored by Amsterdam's elite and the hotel continues to attract the world's most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L'Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord'Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city's most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar 'Les Caves De L'Europe'. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam's inspired gentlemen's pub Freddy's Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness 'Skins Institute - De L'Europe'. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing