We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #16 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very nice, convenient location”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed in a suite in the new part of the hotel. The room was huge, really - the Dutch are the tallest people in the world and I definitely got the feeling this hotel was designed for the average Dutch person. The tub was huge, the sinks were huge, the paintings on the walls, really everything! The staff were helpful, the restaurants in the hotel were fine and it was easy to get pretty much anywhere from the hotel. The only issue was the lights in the bathroom - the halogens were so hot I couldn't keep them on while using the bathroom. Also the light switches in the room were a bit hard to figure out. Would stay there again when visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheVastMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback! Please accept my sincere apologies that our lighting system was not explained properly. The lights in the bathroom work on a dimmer system which can be controlled by pressing the switch for a longer period. We are looking forward to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    241
    75
    19
    20
See reviews for
232
730
69
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Just back from a few days in Amsterdam celebrating my birthday. Having read the various reviews of hotels in Amsterdam we finally chose to stay here. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel very special from just about every member of staff at the hotel, where nothing was too much trouble. The room was fantastic with a great view of the river. The bathroom exceeded expectations and had a novel touch with the heated marble floor, which was most welcome in early February. I cannot believe that anyone could be disappointed with this hotel, even allowing for the relatively high cost of staying there. The hotel is located in the ideal part of Amsterdam and close to the area of the 9 Streets and many good restaurants...although the hotel restaurant is first class anyway.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank COF139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to report back on your stay with us early February. I am delighted to read that we have met and even exceeded your expectations! Your kind words will be shared amongst the team and hopefully we get to welcome you back again one day soon!

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The hotel is very good. Comfortable and clean rooms, wonderful linen.
Good restaurant with kind service of young guys.
As soon as we checked in, they offered us to buy tickets for the museums, what helped us a lot. We had few days to stay and didn't know the lines to the museums were so big and thanks to their offer, we could enjoy the most important museums.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tatiserebre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I recently stayed in hotel de L'Europe for two nights. De L'Europe is located in the city center, excellent location for tourists, the flowermarket, rembrandtsquare, red light district etc are just a couple of minutes away. De building itself is a true landmark, the hotel has been undergoing renovation recently and everything is in good order.

There is a big variety in rooms, I just booked the lowest category a Deluxe room. The room I was given is located on the top floor. Two small windows looking towards Dam Square, not much of a view though,. The room is fully equipt with topclass items, an Ipad, Bose soundsystem etc. The bathroom is very large, a separate rainshower, nice deep tub, and huge fluffy towels! I've understand that some rooms also come with a build in television in the bathroom. The staff is friendly and efficient, they will do what they can to make your stay enjoyable. A couple of things I didn't like; calling to the front desk, it took me three calls in order for someone to pick up the Phone, the burger I ordered trough roomservice came very fast, it was just a plate with a burger and fries that was it, no decoration, no lettuce nothing, the MC Donalds around the corner spends more time and effort in the way they present their meals. The spa was under construction, there is an alternativa but it's in a hotel a few blocks away. Overall: A pleasant experience, not the top 5-star service that you get in for example Dubai, but for a dutch 5-star hotel they did a pretty good job!

Room Tip: If you wanna splurge, ask for the rooms with a nice Amstel view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jumeirah23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

First time staying at this hotel and it was absolutely stunning. We booked a junior suite and got upgraded to a Prestige one bedroom suite. For anyone who has ever been to Amsterdam, or Europe for that matter, you know that hotel rooms are generally tiny unless you spend a significant amount of money. However traveling during the off-season, many hotels offer free upgrades to their guests if you request for it. However this is still a pricey hotel even during off-season. Normally the Prestige would be completely out of our price range.

Room: The suite was enormous and beautiful. We were one floor up from the lobby and had a sweeping view of the canal. Fortunately the soundproofing for the room was very good so we did not hear any street noise. There was a hallway as soon as you enter the room that leads to the living room and dining room. The view of the canal was magnificent from here. Dining room connects to another hallway full of closets leading to the bedroom. he bedroom was large with a large flatscreen TV and windows overlooking into the hotel. However the double blinds ensure that no light gets in unless you want it to. A coffeemaker with complimentary coffee pods and a hot water maker was provided. Mini bar had a selections of drinks but not sensored so you can remove the drinks and use the fridge.

Bed: The best bed of our entire trip (Madrid, Marrakech, and London as well). It was firm with real pillows! Many hotels have mediocre beds with awful pillows. This hotel had a firm and comfortable large king bed with regular sized and firm pillows. Surprising what we struggled with the most on this trip was even the five star hotels had crappy pillows that were either too soft or too flat or strangely shaped sizes.

Bathroom: My only complaint of this room was the toilet was separated from the bathroom (shower, bidet, and vanity) and located in the hallway. You needed to go through the 2 doors of the bathroom to reach the toilet from the bedroom. Otherwise the bathroom was large with a separate shower stall from the bathtub. Nice water pressure and water got hot quickly.

Location: Great location. Right across the canal was a pedestrian walk with lots of shopping and food. Grocery store and ATMs in the area as well. Easy to catch a cab with a cab stand close by and usually cabs in front of the hotel.

Service: Great service. All of our needs were taken care of.

Room Service/Housekeeping: 24 hour room service which is surprising in Amsterdam. We only ordered breakfast and it showed up on time and was well cooked but nothing special. Housekeeping did a good job the first night. The next night we got turndown service but it looked like they cleaned some of the room but then forgot to remove all the trash that they collected.

Overall a wonderful experience. Especially having so much space and a wonderful view in Amsterdam was a treat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelInEase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

While the Location, Food and Ambience were excellent what stands out is the impeccable Service. The Suites are large and there is an option of Contemporary or Classic. I stayed in the Contemporary Wing which was spacious, grand and convenient. I would go to this Hotel again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I prefer the modern Contemporary Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G00D_Life_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Martens-Latem, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

After having lived 10 years in Amsterdam, we frequently return to this fascinating city. We have stayed at the Amstel Hotel (stiff and arrogant, bad location), the Grand (OK), the Okura (superb restaurants in the hotel, location not ideal), the Hilton (OK but taxi drive from city center) and the Krasnapolsky (a category below the above-mentioned places). For a long weekend, we decided this time to try the Hotel de l'Europe. It was one of our most memorable hotel experiences, even on a global level (similar to what we experienced at the Brenner Park Hotel in Baden Baden, the Mandarin Oriental in Munich and the Singita Lodge in South Africa). Already at our arrival we were welcomed by everybody with the utmost friendliness (valet, porter, reception, customer relations lady...). We had booked a junior suite and were without asking upgraded to a larger suite (we're member of the Leading Hotels of the World). The hotel interior is very pleasant and the facilities are very good. The location is excellent for visiting Amsterdam. All important musea (world class in Amsterdam) are within walking distance (Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Stedelijk Museum, Hermitage...). Next time we come to Amsterdam there is no doubt that we will stay at the Hotel de l'Europe again. Hopefully they will be able to maintain this incredibly high level of service. We will also try their two Michelin stars restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosmopolitan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,239 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,535 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Doelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Prestigia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing