We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #19 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is a stunning 5 Star hotel that I would readily recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam. I have stayed many times but each time it gets better. I stayed last weekend and I have to say that the service, ambience and overall beauty of this remarkable place really blew me away.

The rooms and suites are second to none, with free Wi-Fi and state of the art bathrooms. Our suite overlooked the River Amstel from a lovely terraced balcony and having breakfast out there as Amsterdam came alive in the morning, was a truly memorable experience. To add to the relaxation factor, the hotel boasts a swimming pool and spa also. I should really give the restaurants a review of their very own, but I am more than happy to do it here. Het Terras is my personal favourite, set right on the River Amstel, with fabulous views of Amsterdam's busy and vibrant boat culture, is an ideal way to enjoy the excellent food and watch the world go by. The service is naturally 5 Star, as one would expect, and in all the years I have been coming to Amsterdam, I can honestly say that it is by far my best dining experience to date.

Also, try Freddie's Bar, which is a beautiful, "olde worlde" type of cocktail bar that is the perfect place to unwind and have a couple of drinks before dinner. It also has a humidor right next door for those who enjoy a cigarette or perhaps a fine cigar with their "Manhattan" or "Tom Collins." I know of no other establishment in Amsterdam that offers this kind of luxury. The bar staff are attentive, fast and very professional, as you'd expect of a hotel of this calibre.

I have to say a big thanks to all the staff, who gave us an extremely enjoyable experience during our stay, and we can't wait to return soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bacchus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 1,593 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spend four days in the middle of Amsterdam in great atmosphere of L'Europe. Service and quality of employees is outstanding, you are in the middle of all nice areas and attractions in Amsterdam. Super experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here on a business trip over 9-11 May 2014. The room was sumptuous, king size bed, overlooking the canal, beautiful, marbled and shiny bathrooms with large shower and quasi jacuzzi tub. Business room very spacious, good technical support, and excellent catering service, both for quality of staff and food. Was packed with American tourists, clearly this must be a sought after hotel for well offs, middle aged tourists, seeking centrally located, trustworthy accomodation. If i were in Amsterdam as a tourist, i am not sure i would choose it as, given the very central location, there are crowds as soon as you step out of the lobby, and the lobby itself being very noisy and packed. Also, it does not have any intimacy or cosy atmosphere, but rather the grandness of a large scale, luxury hotel. So clearly it depends on what one is looking for. A couple of "improvements" areas: i arrived around 12 and rooms would be generally available as of 2. That is fine, but for a 5 start hotel where we had booked about 30 (expensive) rooms, i would have expected a more efficient and forthcoming attitude by the reception desk staff to try and accomodate my early arrival. Secondly, there was some confusion with the car reservation service again by the reception desk, possibly just a question of bad luck but it did not help. Lastly, i asked for in room breakfast and they seemed to have forgotten and then delivered something which looked like they had tried to make up at the last minute. Again, it was probably bad luck but my expectations gets higher the higher the stars the hotel claims, so this this is the reason for my lower rating on service and breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossella66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I spent 4 days in Amsterdam this week and stayed at this amazing hotel. The service was impeckable and the food at the restaurant was great. Freddy's Bar, named after Freddy Hieneken, was a very cool place to hang out and get a brewery fresh Hieneken on tap. The hotel is centrally located and the hotel rooms were very large and well appointed. They spared no detail in ensuring that I had a memorable stay in Amsterdam. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a lovely junior suite on the canal with a huge and very comfy bed. The hotel's location is a major strongpoint in a picturesque part of town, walkable to all the major attractions. Concierge came up with some good dinner ideas and were helpful arranging a visit to see the tulips. This is a grand old hotel that has been thoughtfully modernised and works for business or leisure travellers. One downside was breakfast though which was a bit basic and not of very good quality, and no in the same canal-side room it used to be in a few years back. Otherwise pretty faultless.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chesl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I spent a week in Amsterdam last month and had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for two nights. My first criteria is always location, and the location of this hotel is fantastic. It is in city center, right on a canal, and very close to Dam Square but a couple streets away so as to be removed from the seediness and crowds. My room had a lovely balcony that overlooked the canal. The other outstanding feature of this hotel is the customer service and, particularly, the concierge services. The concierge staff are extremely knowledgeable, very patient and friendly, give excellent recommendations, and are able to offer tours that surpass any others I could find in Amsterdam. The tours certainly are not cheap (and some seem a bit overpriced), but the quality is excellent. As to all of the hotel staff, I agree with another reviewer's statement that they are polite and helpful, but not snotty or aloof. The rooms were nice (and the bathrooms were especially nice) and worthy of a 5-star hotel (they are middle of the road among rooms in other five-star hotels I've stayed). Having an iPad in the room and a U.S. electric outlet was great. Overall, I was VERY happy with my stay at De L'Europe and would not stay anywhere else in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jskad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Spent a romantic weekend here with my husband. Lovely bottle of chilled wine was waiting for us on arrival. Good location with public transport directly across the street. Beautifully appointed, meticulous room had every amenity - ipad, coffee maker, make-up mirror and a luxurious, oversized tub. I never sleep well the first night in a hotel, but the bed and super comfy pillows provided me with a wonderful rest each night. Excellent breakfast. Staff is very helpful, offered great dining suggestions. Nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graciouslivinguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,424 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 375 in Amsterdam
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,872 reviews
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £245 - £467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing