We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch, great place, great people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #16 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great lunch, great place, great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic place to have a lunch! We arrived by boat and the welcoming staff helped us to get off and found us a lovely table to enjoy their view&food&drinks. All in all a great experience in all ways! I highly recommend this place, both for tourists&locals!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marieke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    233
    73
    18
    20
See reviews for
222
702
66
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel De L’Europe for two nights after attending a conference on the outskirts of Amsterdam. It was our first visit to the city.
This 5* hotel is very conveniently located on the Amstel river in the heart of Amsterdam, having its own private jetty, and great views of the city.
From arrival to departure we were met by staff who were friendly and highly professional, making us feel welcome and comfortable throughout our stay.
The hotel was very elegantly appointed throughout. We occupied a junior suite which was everything we had hoped for. Having a large impressive balcony overlooking the river and surrounding area, which we would have used much more if it hadn’t rained so much! The room was very comfortable, spacious, very clean and exceptionally well serviced, and had all the comforts and facilities you would expect of a hotel in this class.
We had dinner in the hotel’s brassiere on our first evening and it was a delightful experience. The food was very good, well served and my gluten free diet was well catered for. The views were exceptional of the river and city at night, which made for an excellent dining experience. We also enjoyed a drink in Freddy’s bar where we sampled the hotel's ‘famous’ Bloody Mary cocktail with that secret ingredient! – highly recommended, and again, excellent friendly service.
The hotel has a wonderful spa, swimming pool and gym, and the service and quality was very much in keeping with the rest of the hotel. We enjoyed a spa treatment whilst we were there and can vouch for the professional competence of the staff from the experience we had.
There is only one downside to this hotel and that comes down to cost – it wasn’t a cheap stay, but we knew that from the outset, and the quality of service, ambience and facilities were at the standard you would expect for the price.
It certainly deserves to be classed as a Leading Hotel of the World, and we will definitely stay there again if ever we revisit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Room 228 was fantastic - a junior suite with a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dick_Lizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is a stunning 5 Star hotel that I would readily recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam. I have stayed many times but each time it gets better. I stayed last weekend and I have to say that the service, ambience and overall beauty of this remarkable place really blew me away.

The rooms and suites are second to none, with free Wi-Fi and state of the art bathrooms. Our suite overlooked the River Amstel from a lovely terraced balcony and having breakfast out there as Amsterdam came alive in the morning, was a truly memorable experience. To add to the relaxation factor, the hotel boasts a swimming pool and spa also. I should really give the restaurants a review of their very own, but I am more than happy to do it here. Het Terras is my personal favourite, set right on the River Amstel, with fabulous views of Amsterdam's busy and vibrant boat culture, is an ideal way to enjoy the excellent food and watch the world go by. The service is naturally 5 Star, as one would expect, and in all the years I have been coming to Amsterdam, I can honestly say that it is by far my best dining experience to date.

Also, try Freddie's Bar, which is a beautiful, "olde worlde" type of cocktail bar that is the perfect place to unwind and have a couple of drinks before dinner. It also has a humidor right next door for those who enjoy a cigarette or perhaps a fine cigar with their "Manhattan" or "Tom Collins." I know of no other establishment in Amsterdam that offers this kind of luxury. The bar staff are attentive, fast and very professional, as you'd expect of a hotel of this calibre.

I have to say a big thanks to all the staff, who gave us an extremely enjoyable experience during our stay, and we can't wait to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bacchus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spend four days in the middle of Amsterdam in great atmosphere of L'Europe. Service and quality of employees is outstanding, you are in the middle of all nice areas and attractions in Amsterdam. Super experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here on a business trip over 9-11 May 2014. The room was sumptuous, king size bed, overlooking the canal, beautiful, marbled and shiny bathrooms with large shower and quasi jacuzzi tub. Business room very spacious, good technical support, and excellent catering service, both for quality of staff and food. Was packed with American tourists, clearly this must be a sought after hotel for well offs, middle aged tourists, seeking centrally located, trustworthy accomodation. If i were in Amsterdam as a tourist, i am not sure i would choose it as, given the very central location, there are crowds as soon as you step out of the lobby, and the lobby itself being very noisy and packed. Also, it does not have any intimacy or cosy atmosphere, but rather the grandness of a large scale, luxury hotel. So clearly it depends on what one is looking for. A couple of "improvements" areas: i arrived around 12 and rooms would be generally available as of 2. That is fine, but for a 5 start hotel where we had booked about 30 (expensive) rooms, i would have expected a more efficient and forthcoming attitude by the reception desk staff to try and accomodate my early arrival. Secondly, there was some confusion with the car reservation service again by the reception desk, possibly just a question of bad luck but it did not help. Lastly, i asked for in room breakfast and they seemed to have forgotten and then delivered something which looked like they had tried to make up at the last minute. Again, it was probably bad luck but my expectations gets higher the higher the stars the hotel claims, so this this is the reason for my lower rating on service and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossella66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I spent 4 days in Amsterdam this week and stayed at this amazing hotel. The service was impeckable and the food at the restaurant was great. Freddy's Bar, named after Freddy Hieneken, was a very cool place to hang out and get a brewery fresh Hieneken on tap. The hotel is centrally located and the hotel rooms were very large and well appointed. They spared no detail in ensuring that I had a memorable stay in Amsterdam. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a lovely junior suite on the canal with a huge and very comfy bed. The hotel's location is a major strongpoint in a picturesque part of town, walkable to all the major attractions. Concierge came up with some good dinner ideas and were helpful arranging a visit to see the tulips. This is a grand old hotel that has been thoughtfully modernised and works for business or leisure travellers. One downside was breakfast though which was a bit basic and not of very good quality, and no in the same canal-side room it used to be in a few years back. Otherwise pretty faultless.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chesl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,487 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Property: De L'Europe Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L'Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L'Europe has been favored by Amsterdam's elite and the hotel continues to attract the world's most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L'Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord'Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city's most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar 'Les Caves De L'Europe'. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam's inspired gentlemen's pub Freddy's Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness 'Skins Institute - De L'Europe'. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing