We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like visiting a doting aristocratic relative!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #16 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My friend and I are in our 50s. We capped off a week in Amsterdam with two nights at this luxury hotel and couldn't have been happier. The service, wine selection, food and environs were nothing short of stellar! It felt as though we were visiting doting rich relatives who had hired a special staff to cater to our every need. Everything about this hotel is sensually rich - the colors, the art on the walls, the marble in the bathroom, the comfort of fine sheets on the exquisitely comfortable bed. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Even a cheaper room in this hotel is luxurious and lovely. We had a room on the interior, but for a...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Wildequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,531)
There are newer reviews for De L'Europe Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

641 - 647 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were at de L'Europe July 24-27. Nothing could have been improved! Room, service, and of course the Bord Eau Restaurant. From checkIn to checkout, all was top drawer. Especially of note was guest relations, concierge, and reception staff. Will be back for sure. Amsterdam is a gorgeous city and this hotel is in the middle of it.

Room Tip: Worked with travel agent at Kelly Cruises who secured a great room on a canal so view extraordinary.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Ideal location in Amsterdam, easy to walk around and get everywhere! Very spacious and comfortable rooms, full technologic equipment in the room. I loved the style of the hotel which is warmy and cosy. I highly recommend this property !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Claudine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel in June. Right from the check in where we were given an upgrade upon arrival, to the beautiful room we felt pampered. We arrived at Schiphol Airport and bought a train ticket to Central Station. From Central Station you take a tram (4, 9, 16) and get off at Muntplein. The hotel is just across the bridge. Very easy to get to. Our room was very quiet and very clean with a beautiful and modern bathroom. Separate tub and shower. Lovely bath products. The bed was very comfortable and nice linens. The wi-fi was free and worked very well, fast and efficient. The hotel is in an excellent location, close to restaurants and the tram. We would definitely choose to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Floatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed here on my first stop in a month long trip to Europe. Out of 5 countries and 5 hotels of the same caliber, Hotel De L'Europe was by far my favorite and the best. I was upgraded to a suite that was absolutely beautiful. The staff was extremely helpful with everything from my technology questions to shipping home a huge package for me so I didn't
have to worry about finding a post office. Every time I walked by the front desk, I was greeted with genuine smiles and hellos. After a week, I was ready to see if I could book my next summer's stay!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Kayte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel is not trendy, new, "themed" or any of the other fashionable paths that hoteliers are taking lately to distinguish themselves. It is simply a great example of the old-fashioned values of service, attentiveness to detail, friendliness and elegance.

The location is perfect and makes it relatively easy to get to any of the many points of interest around Amsterdam. The breakfasts are excellent and their setting is superb. The rooms are commodious and the bathrooms much larger than found in most parts of Europe. There is even enough storage space (though, because we had a suite, I cannot attest to whether that is true for every room). The staff is very friendly but extremely efficient. You are made welcome from the time you arrive at the front door and are greeted by a wonderful group of people at that door.

We arrived early and our room, unfortunately, couldn't be made available before standard check-in time. But the hotel couldn't have been nicer about it and held our luggage and sent us to a wonderful lunch spot (where the Dutch love to go) in the neighborhood while also suggesting a couple of walks in the city.

About the only complaint, and a very minor one at that, was that the high-tech lighting system resisted our best efforts to properly control it for about an hour on our first night. Be sure to ask for a demonstration and watch carefully. But that was a small glitch in an otherwise wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hillking3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The title sums this place up. unbelievable. Not the cheapest place I have ever stayed it is one of the best I have ever stayed.

Highly recommended. Beautiful rooms. World beating breakfasts in a perfect location for our stay. Could not ask for more at all.

Will be our choice for the next visit without a doubt!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank corbett_shane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,323 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
749 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,608 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £298 - £749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing