We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in the heart of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #18 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The river view room was excellent and the quality if there room - fittings are very high. Most if the attractions are close to the hotel. The hotel staff were exceptional and very friendly.

The holt pool and spa is not the largest, but still really nice and good views of the river from the pool.

The best thing is the windows are high quality and shut out the noise of the party boats at night - in the early hours.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HughR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Our recent stay was the fourth time at De L'Europe. The staff of the hotel are consistently outstanding/friendly and the day/night managers are true professionals (Jeroen Bronsveld most particularly). The Masters wing of the hotel is the place to be and the rooms are extremely well appointed and spacious. We have stayed at many of the finest hotels in Europe and this is surely among the best.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the Masters wing if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank hdkahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLeurope, Manager at De L'Europe Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Your kind words are very much appreciated and will be shared amongst the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to De L'Europe soon!

Kind regards,

Jeroen Bronsveld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great service, a wonderful morning breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. We had a room on the third floor that overlooked the canal. It couldn't be more quintessential Amsterdam. A bit on the pricey side, but well worth it. A short walk to everything in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Marshall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is an excellent hotel with attentive staff. The rooms are luxurious and have touches such as baseboard lights that turn on as soon as your feet hit the floor during the night if you need to get up. The desk clerks were very pleasant and gave us good pointers about museums (note: make sure to reserve a time for the Anne Frank House online before going or wait in line for about three hours). The Terrace dining area and bar were a relaxing oasis after a day of walking. This would be a five star review except that there were mistakes on two of our restaurant (Terrace) bills and on on our room bill. At the Terrace, a special Prix Fixe order was billed as individual items resulting in a higher price and twice we were not billed for drinks we ordered and received. On checkout, the bill included a charge for an electric outlet adapter (they have one in the armoire in plastic in case you did not bring one - I thought this a cheap touch for this level of a hotel). I used one I had brought with me (given to me by a hotel in Paris). I will note that all errors were promptly taken care of when pointed out. I would recommend this hotel...but read those bills.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank quixone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We arrived late in the evening and the staff were very helpful. Our room was incredible, interesting decorations not at all bland, beautiful view over canal, exactly what I had hoped for. Very impressive gadgets, ipad and sound system we didn't use but did use chargers for own gear! Night sensor lighting to guide to bathroom another impressive touch. lovely breakfast looking over canal. we ate at the hotel too, food was relaxed Bistro nothing to rave about but well priced good food, excellent service and superb location watching the life on the canal pass by. Great location.this was a treat and we felt like it had been money well spent. high commended, everything was done well and felt special.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KiwigirlNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was our third stop on our month long adventure. Right from our arrival, the doorman and the reception couldn't do enough for us. They had a minor issue with our reservation. Consequently they upgraded us to a beautiful suite overlooking the square. When I opened the windows, the tower clock chimes immediately played a delightful tune. The details and opulence of this suite made us both giggle. The hotel is in a great location. The bar and restaurant are wonderful. The breakfasts exceptional. They provided us with bikes, restaurant suggestions, and sold us a special package that made this stay the best. It included passes for museums and tickets to the Netherlands Symphony Orchestra. This truly was home away from home. We look forward to returning and recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank brianS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I had the pleasure of spend a few day in Amsterdam at the De L'Europe hotel and the experience was nothing short of exceptional. The desk staff (Dennis) and concierge (Amanda) catered to our every need and were extremely helpful in making recommendations and reservations. All of the hotels capabilities from the front door staff, restaurants to room service were excellent and I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know. They even took care of returning our rent a car.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank larry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
792 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,635 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £285 - £563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing