We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was amazing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De L'Europe Amsterdam
Ranked #19 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2010

The hotel was very clean, neat and organized. The staff was exceptionally friendly and accommodating. I definitely plan to stay at this hotel on future trips to The Netherlands.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTraveler301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2010

Beautiful hotel. centrally located. walking distance to any sightseeing place in the city. great breakfast in restaurant next to the canal. courteous n helpful staff. spacious room with big bathroom. Only no internet in room. cafes bars restaurants shopping tram stop all close to the hotel. expensive but worth it!!!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sapnaparekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

The welcome of this hotel was as cold as the design of the new wing. The decor is awful. Dark and depressing with this ugly blow up of a Rembrandt staring down at the bed. There is no soundproofing. We could hear people in the street outside and in the room next door as if they were all with us in our room.
The bottom mattress was not covered. The automatic lights drove us crazy. If you just lean over towards the edge of the bed they pop on and do not go out for at least ten minutes. The bathroom was tiled in a dark purple and the shower ran all over the room. The toiletries were skimpy.
Breakfast was nothing special and they rolled in an ugly cart with grey plastic containers to pick it up. We tried having dinner in the small and dark restaurant. The first thing we were told was they had run out of most items on the menu. This was at 8:00 and the restaurant was not busy.
We also felt that the doorman was in league with the taxi driver. We asked him to take us to the train station but he bullied us into delivering us to the airport train station instead. We felt that we had been taken advantage of.
This hotel has an excellent location, but at this time with all of the work going on it is a big mess. There is no pool as advertised and no restaurant on the canal.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4seasons50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

The new renovation of this hotel is unfortunate. I'm afraid it has forgotten how it earned its reputation in the first place. Gone is the beautiful breakfast restaurant with sizable buffet. It has been replaced with a tiny dark restaurant with tiny, very overpriced ala carte breakfast offerings. The guest room is poorly designed in tacky modern style. The painting in the bedroom features the head of a young girl from a Rembrant painting who is staring down upon the bed. The headless torso of the girl is the featured artwork in the living room. We booked a canal view room and were at first given a room on the top floor with a view of the concrete railings that were placed in front of the windows. This was followed by a room with a bedroom that did not have a window to the outside but instead to the lobby. Although the location of this hotel is excellent, I can no longer recommend it. It has forgotten how it earned it's high rating.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zwxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Stayed here on my way to Aruba and on the way back from Curacao earlier in the year. We had booked via lhw.com so got good rates on superior rooms etc. Upon arrival I found that my bags had not arrived the hotel staff provided my with lots of hygieneproducts deo,hairbrush, toothbrush/paste etc. I also got a chocolate version of a Rembrandt painting, some genever(dutch liquer) with gold leaf in it which is traditional for a Dutch bride to get. I also got a lot of other little gifts around the room, champagne, chocolates, fruit etc. Great attention to detail.
On my return trip I stayed in a different suite, not in the new part of the building. The bathroom was modern but too squashed, there are glass walls between the tiolet and the shower, very strange , the room was fine but the decor was a little shabby, light fittings hanging off the wall in our hall area, very dated even for the type of building it is the room decor needs to look clean not dated. I had food in my room as I was flying early during each stay, mostly brekfast , typical dutch fare, not great but adequate. Would I stay here again , probably but thats only because I stayed there during my honeymoon. Would it be my first choice in Amsterdam, no. Only for two things, I know amsterdam well and it's just an alright location for me. I have stayed in lesser "styled rooms" but in much better hotels and for a more reasonable price and the rooms had balconies that were modern, in fact for the balcony we had to book a suite in this hotel. If you stay at the lesser star NH Doelen ( attached to this hotel ), you can have the same balcony overlooking the same canal for €300 cheaper a night........not great service at the Doelen but...it is a recession

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

I didn't know what to expect from the outside, but once in my room I was amazed. I was in one of the newly renovated rooms. Hardwood floors, steam shower, frette linens and bvgari amenities.

The TV popped out of the bed.

I had the chance to tour the new portion of the hotel which should open soon. These are brand new rooms and are amazing. They are very large and very high tech.

The location is perfect. You can walk anywhere in 20 minutes. The hotel goes out of their way to help. It was raining and they let me borrow an umbrella.

Once the new section opens with the updated fitness center, this property will be one of the best small hotels in the world.

If you are questioning the value, go for it, its worth it, you only live once...

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Discerning-Guest23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This hotel was right in the middle of everything. The staff was helpful and so so nice. The rooms were amazing and very very clean. The price was higher than most of the other hotels but it is worth the extra money. All in all a beautiful and great place to stay. I probably wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monapancakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,443 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 376 in Amsterdam
920 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De L'Europe Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De L'Europe Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 2 - 14, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £263 - £525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — De L'Europe Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Amsterdam, in walking distance of the plush 19th century Museum Quarter, the pinnacle of sophistication and cultural bohemia with the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum and with its prime location on the banks of the Amstel river, De L’Europe is synonymous with Dutch rich history. Since the first official opening in 1896, De L’Europe has been favored by Amsterdam’s elite and the hotel continues to attract the world’s most celebrated names. Experience and explore a unique entrée into the Amsterdam of yesterday and today by arriving at De L’Europe. Admire true replicas from the Dutch Masters like Frans Hals and Rembrandt van Rijn in the Promenade whereas replicas of Dutch Masters like Jan Steen, Johannes Vermeer and Floris van Dijck decorate the walls of the rooms and suites in the historical Rondeel building. Adjacent to the hotel, the suites at the contemporary Dutch Masters Wing offer a selection of modern colors that form the basis for replicas of Dutch Masters like Pieter Codde and Pieter Saenredam. Guests may enjoy culinary highlights at the two Michelin-star rated Bord’Eau Restaurant Gastronomique, the casual chic Hoofdstad Brasserie with an international twist and Hèt Terras, the city’s most popular Summer hotspot overlooking the buzzling city center of Amsterdam, complemented by exclusive wines from the private wine cellar ‘Les Caves De L’Europe’. Kick back and relax at the Amsterdam’s inspired gentlemen’s pub Freddy’s Bar to sample a traditional Heineken beer or sip on one of the signature cocktails. To complete your Amsterdam experience, indulge yourself with one of the bespoke beauty treatments at the Spa & Wellness ‘Skins Institute – De L’Europe’. Feel at home in an iconic 19th century treasure and be surrounded by cultural heritages while exploring a modern vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your De L'Europe Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De l`Europe Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel De l Europe
De l Europe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing