We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think Steep, think compact”
Review of Hotel Nadia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nadia
Ranked #114 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
N. Yorkshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Think Steep, think compact”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is a very pleasant place to stay, good location very close to the Anne Frank House and 5mins from Dam square. The entrance to the hotel contains some 30 or so stairs which when they say are precipitous, imagine just short of climing gear - so avoid if you have any mobility issues.
Rooms are compact, I travelled alone but booked a double, I would have struggled to share that room with anyone, as I had to go sideways around the room without negotiating anyone else.
Staff were pleasant and eager to help
Breakfast, simple continental, tea, croissant, bread and preserves.
I think the hotel captured the spirit of Amsterdam, so if you want immersion then choose it, if you want mainstream comfort then seek one of the chains within the city.
Good value for Amsterdam

Room Tip: The balcony rooms looked larger, some rooms are very small so ask for their biggest and that won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosey321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,608
    1,614
    497
    135
    75
See reviews for
430
1,867
457
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orsta, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel has all You need for a great weekend stay! The Rooms are cosy, nice and clean. The rom is cleaned every day. Everyone at the hotel makes You feel very much welcomed and helps You With everything You need! And the location is great.
You can look at the canal when having breakfast and listen to the bells of the nearest Church.
Nadia hotell is all about good energi and atmossphere and we will love to come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

so arrived walked up a few stairs to reception (stairs are pretty steep but everyone we saw check in were asked if they need help with luggage). checked in and were offered free complimentary drinks, came back at 2pm for bags to be in hotel room. came back to hotel late most nights and always let in straight away so the room was 201 twin room en suite with balcony on 2nd floor. room was above par compared to anything else ive had in amsterdam. was a thin door that led to a big bathroom no side stepping needed or shower above the toilet. when we left everyday was asked if we wanted rooms cleaned beds changed or new towels. heating was always on which helped with the cold weather. so the only reason i didnt give top marks was the breakfast. it was free coffee orange juice Croissant a slice of cake was more little things i forgot. im not too picky when it comes to breakfast but would of payed good money for a half decent breakfast.. everywhere we went sucked big time. but me and mate love hotel and would go back with hotel nadia straight away next time either of us go to amsterdam

Room Tip: room 201.. loved it (twin 2nd floor with balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We only stayed one night but found everything perfect for our needs. All of the staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. As is expressed in their website there is no elevator so it is not for anyone who is not able to climb stairs. We were very pleased.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in mid-November. It is a good budget hotel, true to their description on the website with some nice perks. The location is fantastic! The hotel staff allowed us to drop off our luggage early and keep our luggage at the hotel after check-out. They provide each room with fresh flowers. And the welcome beverage is a nice touch. The rooms are very small - this was fine, but we had to shower up against the toilet, which felt uncomfortable/ a little unsanitary. The stairs are steep! As other travelers have mentioned, they're not suitable to people that are concerned about difficulties. The most direct route we found from the central train station did have us walking through red-lit windows, for those who this may be a concern to. The rooms were clean, the location was great, I would recommend this hotel to people who aren't interested in spending much time in their rooms and who are on a budget looking for a clean, centrally located, quirky place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

An unusual and quirky hotel in the centre of Amsterdam. It is not smart in the conventional sense, but the unique nature of its wood paneled rooms and its proximity to many of the attractions of Amsterdam, either on foot or by public transport (for which it is perfectly located), more than make up for its unusual nature. It seems that no two of its rooms are the same, and some are small, but all are kept clean and management and staff go out of their way to ensure the visitor has an enjoyable stay. Beds are comfortable, bedding changed frequently and reception is open 24 hours a day. Breakfast is simple but adequate and there are plenty of restaurants , pancake houses and cafes close by if one needs something more substantial. I enjoy this hotel, not only because of the warm welcome it offers but also because it is emphatically not the sort of soul-less experience that is so common in hotels today. However, the steep stairs that have to be negotiated to gain access to the hotel make it unsuitable for those with walking difficulties. Nevertheless, try this place if you want a sense of travel and being somewhere different.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or canal side - the hotel fronts Radhuisstraat which can be noisy late in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Loved our stay here we stayed from 16th till 19th of November for our anniversary. We at first got a very small room (all on the small side anyway but this was extra small) but as I asked for a canal view room and they couldn't give is this for the first night but offered to give us a free upgrade with no trouble we were very grateful and as we were shattered are first night didn't mind so much. The room we were upgraded to the next day was much better lovely view and more space then before and we were very grateful. Our flowers were lovely we were given for our celebration. Breakfast was basic but nice and filling all the same. Hotel is very nice old fashions wonderful pleasant hotel friendly staff very steep stairs but we didn't mind this. Walking distance to all attractions ect only transport we used was from airport to town so great. Could say so much more throughly enjoyed our stay here and we would go back if we get the chance.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dancer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 368 in Amsterdam
981 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#37 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,055 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,178 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,023 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 368 in Amsterdam
4,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nadia

Property: Hotel Nadia
Address: Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nadia 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nadia is a 2** star hotel with a friendly atmosphere. In historic surroundings, between Queen Palace on Dam Square and Wester Church, at walking distance from all sights, museums and shopping. Facilities: Hotel is a historic canal corner gallery building renovated in Nov 2009. Forty-eight rooms, each one unique and all rather on the small side, compact but well-designed, cozy all with shower, WC, TV, phone,hairdryer,Wireless Internet and own Safe Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing