We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend, great hotel!”
Review of Hotel Nadia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nadia
Ranked #114 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend, great hotel!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the weekend and really can't fault it. The staff were so friendly and helpful, going out of their way to answer any question or assist with directions. The rooms are small but they do have everything that you could want in them. Perfectly located, close to attractions and the centre of town. We were moved to a room with a balcony without even asking which was needed when the weather is so warm. The stairs are steep but then you need exercise to work off the excesses of the weekend!
A lovely, quirky, individual hotel. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulou190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,608
    1,614
    497
    135
    75
See reviews for
430
1,867
457
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

You have read there is no elevator and about the staircase! You have heard about the small rooms. And folks have mentioned the street noise. But whatever inconveniences this hotel has, the staff totally make up for it. They are kind, accommodating, and VERY helpful. They gave us information about local restaurants; helped us with taxis several times, and helped locate a photography site I wanted to take advantage of on a map...always with a smile. They made us feel right at home. The hotel also is wonderfully located within walking distance of many, many sites...very convenient.

Room Tip: I would suggest not worrying about a room with a balcony because the only view you really have is of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rascleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Hotel Nadia from 25th - 28th July. I booked this hotel based on the good reviews I had read before on tripadvisor and it was exactly as expected. The location is really good, everything is within walking distance. The rooms are a fine size, small but has everything that is essential, for example; fan, fridge, balcony (would definatly recommend requesting one), safe. The staff are really helpful! We were pretty late checking out but they didn't make a big thing over it as they would in England they were fine and locked our bags safe in the hotel as we had a late flight. Overall would definatly recommend! Thanks.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here before and will probably only ever stay here in the future when visiting Amsterdam! The staff are brilliant and the rooms are always clean with all of the essentials you need during your stay. The breakfast included also has a lovely choice. The only thing I would mention is that I usually visit in winter time so have never had an issue with the heat here before, the size of the place makes it quite cosy but this time as visited in July/August due to the rooms being only teeny it was very hot and stuffy, with a couple of you in the room it was like being in a sauna and a struggle to sleep and keep cool. Apart from that, I always do and will recommend Hotel Nadia to friends.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank luella_lovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just home from 3 nights in Amsterdam. Very enjoyable. Unfortunately, no time to reserve accommodation in advance. Came across Hotel Nadia but really thought the 38 steps to get to reception could be a problem. Stayed in very small room, for one person, but it was extremely comfortable and cosy. Manager and staff were lovely and very helpful. Dining room for breakfast is gorgeous. Central to everything. Will stay there again and will also pass on to friends. Sandra Mulcahy

Room Tip: I was given a room onto shrubbery and could leave window open all night. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANDRAfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumont, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My agent told me of the non existant of the elevator. Upon arrival, I have to climb the stairs that seems to be 3 floors high and the handrails were so sticky. Rooms are not ready so they told us to stay in the breakfast area; chairs and tables are sticky as well. Finally moved to the room, I asked about the switch for the AC, come to find out NO AC. The windows are wide open that people on the opposite building could see me. Could hear the horns, people talking, the bells, every noise that you could think of. I had some mosquitoes bites since the canal is just across the street. Electric fan was provided.

Although, I must say, that the staff are friendly and accommodating. Had problems with WIFI. If you are a back packer traveler, this hotel is for you. Location is centrally accessible, small rooms. BUT, this hotel is not for me and my family. Supposedly staying for 3 nights from July 29th to August 1st, 2014, moved to another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mokimallows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

A bit of warning before I continue with the positives - this hotel is no different than any other typical Amsterdam buildings, i.e. tall (4 floors), narrow and no lift. There are lots of extremely steep stairs to climb to reception and the rooms, so this is definitely not a suitable hotel for anyone with any mobility problems - but very good for cardio-vascular exercise!. We started off by being given a room on the 3rd floor. It wasn't to the standard we were expecting, especially the en suite. We called the manager who agreed the odour in the bathroom was not to the hotel's standards and we were quickly provided with another room. Not surprisingly, due to the structure of the building the rooms are quite small and narrow (akin to a cabin on a cruise ship) but perfectly adequate for a 3 or 4 night stay. The continental breakfast was very basic (tea/coffee, fruit juice, bread rolls, cheese, croissant, apples) but the food was very fresh, the beverages were hot, the buffet was regularly replenished and the timing (7.30 to 10.30) very civilised. All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the whole of the hotel was extremely clean, with hardly a spec of dust to be seen, crisp white sheets, sweet smelling towels, clean decor and obviously newly fitted carpets throughout. This hotel is in an ideal location - tram stops nearby to almost anywhere in the city, 5 minute tram ride to/from the station, a 2 minute walk to Dam Square, and in the other direction to Anne Frank house/museum (book tickets well in advance of your trip if you want to go here though as the daily queue is unbelievably long). All in all this hotel is very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollypooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#24 of 368 in Amsterdam
981 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#37 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,055 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,178 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,023 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 368 in Amsterdam
4,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nadia

Property: Hotel Nadia
Address: Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nadia 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nadia is a 2** star hotel with a friendly atmosphere. In historic surroundings, between Queen Palace on Dam Square and Wester Church, at walking distance from all sights, museums and shopping. Facilities: Hotel is a historic canal corner gallery building renovated in Nov 2009. Forty-eight rooms, each one unique and all rather on the small side, compact but well-designed, cozy all with shower, WC, TV, phone,hairdryer,Wireless Internet and own Safe Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing