We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like a home away from home”
Review of Hotel Nadia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nadia
Ranked #98 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2010

My mother and I have traveled to Amsterdam twice for vacation, once in 2007 and once in 2010, and we stayed at the Nadia both times. Without a doubt, the Nadia is the most hospitable place we have lodged in all our various travels abroad. The rooms and the building itself are beautifully decorated and absolutely charming, with great views of the city and a convenient location as well. Much more importantly, the staff are quick to anticipate needs and to go the extra mile to help their guests. I could literally give a dozen examples but will limit myself to this one: on our last trip, my mother had received an injury to her ankle before we got to Amsterdam, so she had some difficulty going up and down stairs. The manager noticed her limp right away when we arrived and took the initiative to move our room from a higher floor to a lower floor to make things easier for mom, without ever being asked. I don't think I've ever stayed in a hotel where I felt such a personal level of caring and hospitality as the Nadia.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie_oakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,324 - 2,330 of 4,061 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2010

Brilliant location slightly west of the centre of Amsterdam, just a short stroll from Dam Square. The tram stop only 50m from the front door provides access to the Central Station and other areas of Amsterdam. Close to many historical sites including Anne Frank House and the Western Church, and near many delightful shopping streets and eating areas. Our room was small, but provided all the necessities; the bathroom was 5 star - clean, modern and well presented. The view from our window was 'to die for' overlooking the canal we could watch the procession of bicycles and trams and buses undertaking their normal business, while occasional canal boats traversed the bridge under the road. The beautiful Western Church dominating the skyline.
The staff of the hotel were all friendly, helpful and caring. We felt looked after from the moment we arrived.
The breakfast room was bright and cheerful and the range of edibles was very welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank married_couple_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Good hotel with a kind staff, excellent location in the very heart of Amsterdam, and a very reasonable price... And you can improve your shape by going up and down the impressive staircase. No doubt we will go back!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barcelonaconnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We stayed 2 nights before a river cruise. Great hotel - excellent central location. Breakfast was plentiful and yummy and staff was very friendly and helpful with directions, etc. We would definitely stay here again - rooms were on the smaller side - very typical European size, but clean and comfy. Next time, I would ask for a room off the main street - the trams were a bit noisy at night...but a definite great experience. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

I can honestly say I have never been so warmly greeted everytime I came back in to Nadia (I've stayed there twice, several days at a time--this is advertising in itself. The owner is a lovely, gentle man whose son works with him.
The steps are steep, but they all are in Amsterdam--this is part of the charm of the city. The staff will gladly take your luggage up for you. You'll be greeted with a coke (& a smile) each time you pass the desk.
Yes, the rooms are small, but aren't you there to see the city, not your room?
It's quite clean & the staff is there if you need anything (I'm an American & all I did was ask where I could find ice & a staff member hurriedly found some & brought it to the room). You'll get a Continental Breakfast each morning. Oh! And you can't beat the location!
When I'm in Amsterdam I'll definitely recommend Nadia. In fact, I already have. A fellow passenger on a cruise is going to Amsterdam---& he & his wife are staying--at The Nadia!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MississippiSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Nadia hotel rooms are extremelly small but its kind of romantic to run into each other 5 times a day. There is enought space to put your stuff and unpack your luggage. Room has everythig it might need, well expept microwave, but thats not a problem when you live in the very center of amsterdam and there is a food place every few steps!.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KetrinEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Stayed 4 nights great location very clean just what you need bags carried in & out of hotel staff couldnt do enough. Had a antastic time David & Emma (Newcastle)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#25 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,094 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#43 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,337 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#234 of 375 in Amsterdam
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nadia

Address: Raadhuis Straat 51, 1016 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#84 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: £67 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nadia 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nadia is a 2** star hotel with a friendly atmosphere. In historic surroundings, between Queen Palace on Dam Square and Wester Church, at walking distance from all sights, museums and shopping. Facilities: Hotel is a historic canal corner gallery building renovated in Nov 2009. Forty-eight rooms, each one unique and all rather on the small side, compact but well-designed, cozy all with shower, WC, TV, phone,hairdryer,Wireless Internet and own Safe Box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nadia Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing