We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just one warning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #164 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lemnos, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just one warning”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Just one warning:
Don't pay before you see your room.
Paying in advance is a bad hotel policy, but DON'T pay until you see your room.
Stuff polite but not veru heplfool, breakfast good, location good near the station.

Room Tip: Noway the ground rooms, noway room 37.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimitris_VET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    401
    191
    49
    45
See reviews for
115
361
122
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We went to Amsterdam as part of our honeymoon. While this hotel isn't exactly the Ritz, it definitely is a bargain. Located within walking distance of the train station and facing out on the Singel canal, this hotel has a prime location and was a very cost effective place to stay (under 100 euros a night). The SIngel Hotel also has an elevator (which really helped me out after a long day of walking and made it easier to get our bags to the 3rd floor. The hotel has sort of a hostel vibe (college aged students working behind the desk, no real frills, you must turn in your room keys when you leave and pick them up when you are "home" for the night, full of college-aged students on break) but it has a number of distinct advantages: 1) it is an actual hotel, you get your own bedroom with a TV and a few channels and our room had a large en-suite bathroom/shower facility 2) Singel Hotel has a "no drug" policy. You can't bring any drugs back with you if you want to stay there. This was great because it prevented a "stoner" clientele from setting up shop in the common areas downstairs. Almost everyone else staying there was like us: people who didn't intend to spend much time at the hotel itself (who does that when there is so much to see and do in this city?), mid to late 20s, some older family types, and all people on a budget who found a hidden gem in Amsterdam. The beds were fairly large, comfy, and very clean relative to almost every other hotel in Europe where I've stayed. The rooms, by American hotel standards, are a little cramped (you can tell from the attached picture that we had to keep our suitcases on the bed and stack them in a corner when we slept), but for Europe, it was a big room for the price. Free homemade (for the most part the pastries and other breakfast foods were fresh, not pre-packaged). I've already mentioned that the Singel Hotel has a great location, but to get more specific, you can see a number of sites from the rooms. The train station is 2 blocks or so away, and restaurants and bars are peppered along every street nearby. Many of the major museums of Amsterdam (Rembrandt House, the Anne Frank Museum, the Rijksmuseum Amsterdam, Van Gogh's Museum, etc) are within walking distance or a short cab or tram ride away.
Be forewarned, if you go out for dinner and walk through some of the adjacent streets, you probably will be shocked to see women in lingerie standing the windows of a number of apartments and buildings. This is the infamous Red Light District, and it is not too hard to stumble upon if you are exploring the city near the hotel. We didn't mind and weren't offended (no one was naked, you can see more skin on prime time TV than in an Amsterdam RLD window); it was all part of the experience of Amsterdam :) So, if you are traveling with kids or those with frail sensibilities, you may want to ask the people at the desk what routes specifically avoid going through the red light district.

Bottom Line: great hotel to stay in if you are traveling on a budget. The rooms are safe and clean and offer all the basic amenities, with the added bonus of a free breakfast in the mornings. If you want a "luxury" hotel, this isn't for you. If you don't mind staying in a Best Western or Holiday Inn in America, then this hotel will work just fine :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brakbudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Good location and good breakfast, friendly team, good wi-fi Internet connection in the room.

Room Tip: the best rooms are with the view to the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexsh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Maybe it's just the magic of the city that makes everyone love their stay, but we had a great time visiting the City and a great stay at this hotel. We arrived before check-in, but this wasn't a problem as the hotel held onto our luggage so we could go start our sight-seeing. The staff at the front desk immediately offered suggestions on sites to see, where we could find restaurants (including a warning of which restaurants were too expensive) and how to get around the City. The room was small, but this wasn't really a problem. Loved that breakfast was included in the price, it was a nice spread of cereals, bread with jam/paté, juice, coffee, tea, etc. Hotel is easy to find and in a great location - walkable to most of the best sites. When I go back, I'll probably stay here again!

Room Tip: Request a room with a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeFlis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2011

This hotel is located within 2 mins from Central Station(10mins by train from Schiphol) and only 5 mins from Dam square. Small friendly hotel that offers good value for money. Room was very clean and warm. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Give it a go. I definately will be again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingsleyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2011

I had a quaint little room to myself on the top floor. I was able to come and go as I pleased at all hours of the day and night without any hassles or questions. The staff was always very friendly and respectful and answered any questions that I had regarding my stay at the hotel or about the city itself. The breakfast was perfect for someone looking to get a quick bit of energy before starting their early day, but if you are looking for eggs benedict, then there are other places nearby.
The location itself was simply perfect! Singel street is not too busy, so you are able to truly relax when retiring to your room, but shopping, nightlife, and the heartbeat of the city is literally just around the corner. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great comfortable stay and not wanting to be in a five-star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jefferey33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

If you can get one of the few "Canal View" rooms at a premium price, you have a beautiful room well worth the added expense. However typical rooms are very small and dark, opening into a narrow alley in the back of the Hotel.

Computer access in the breakfast area in difficult and uncomfortable to use especially at breakfast time. Carry your own computer if you anticipate having to be online for an appreciable amount of time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank singert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,178 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
899 reviews
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#126 of 368 in Amsterdam
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#169 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,500 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singel Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singel Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Singel Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singel Hotel:The Singel Hotel, located in three characteristic 17th century canal houses at the beautiful and quiet Singel canal, is perfectly located in the city centre. This comfortable three star hotel is situated at one of the best locations of Amsterdam. An ideal mix of nostalgic atmosphere and modern comfort close to all major attractions.Typical brown cafes and good restaurants are just around the corner and all public transportation can be reached within walking distance.This charming Singel Hotel offers, behind the attractively restored facade,32 up-to-date renovated rooms, an elevator and accomodation for 65 guests. Our friendly staff will do everything to make your stay unforgetable. Location:The Singel Hotel is very easy to reach. There is a direct train connection from Schiphol Airport to the Amsterdam Central Station which takes less then 15 minutes.Coming out of the Amsterdam Central Station you cross the station square and turnright at the Prins Hendrikkade. After 200 meters you turn left at the Singel canal. You will reach the Singel Hotel in 200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Singel Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing