We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #152 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
214 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Singel Hotel and while the room was small - my husband is 6'5" (200cms) we had a comfortable double bed. The bathroom was long and narrow with a wetroom type shower which was cleverly squeezed into the space meaning the only issue was sitting on the toilet - too hard with long legs and actually turning round - we found this amusing more than anything else. The room was spotlessly clean and well maintained and all the staff very helpful. The icing on the cake was very much the location with only a short walk from the station and very close to Damrak and Dam Square it was perfect staggering distance for all of Amsterdam's highlights

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria_adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    398
    187
    48
    43
See reviews for
112
354
119
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
firenze
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, read about this fact (The smallest room in amsterdam) on their site but didn't ask for it, not at all! But I was given it, small is too big a word to describe the lack of space, air, oxigen you feel after a couple of minutes you are staying in this room. And I payed 55 euros for the first night and 80 for the second! In my region (Tuscany, Italy) you need to have at least 9 square metres for accommodating a person in a hotel. Never again!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francesca61Firenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

Checked in to this small hotel to find wonderful clean surroundings and helpful staff. Quiet hotel in the middle of one of the busier areas of Amsterdam. Rooms were small but extremely well planned and brand new.

Room Tip: Room next to the elevator is the smallest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megruhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Stay here you will have a great time. Its in a really nice location with wonderful surroundings. I have been twice and have nothing bad to say.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamezP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken Caryl, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

It's hard to find good hotel values in Amsterdam where rooms can be notoriously small and prices notoriously high. The Singel tries and I give them credit for that but it doesn't always succeed. Our first floor canal view bedroom was clean, large (for Amsterdam)and decently equipped if decorated in a somewhat non-descript style. The large windows let in a lot of May sunlight and watching the foot, bike and boat traffic going by outside was addictive. However, the bathroom was a totally different story. While clean, it had a distinctly tired and played out green institutional look and feel with blackened tile grout and a stained, speckled linoleum-like floor. The institutional theme at the Singel was also picked up in the page of "guest rules" that one had to sign upon checking in (one rule included a very specific charge of Eur47.25 that would be assessed if you had a guest in your room that stayed longer than two hours). You also had to pay in full upon check in and agree to surrender you room key to the front desk every time you left the hotel. I understand that these rules are in place to control a certain type of "element" from staying at the Singel but overall it makes it seem a bit like checking into a halfway house. But a better hotel probably does cost about another 100 Euros per night and the Singel is in a good location (within easy walking distance of Central Station but still by a relatively quiet canal) and does include a decent breakfast (though service can be chaotic especially when busy). So, the Singel is kind of a compromise. Not sure if we would stay again (but apparently many signers in their guest book loved the place and would).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dez_and_AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

Well appointed hotel ideally situated for all forms of transport and the sights of the old city.

Comfortable clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Good choice of meats, cheese cereals and a good variety of breads etc.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2011

I was stuck in Amsterdam overnight after missing a flight so I needed somewhere near the station at a reasonable rate and the Singel hotel is exactly that...near the station and reasonably priced. Rooms are pretty small but clean and equipped with ikea type furniture. But it had a feeling of being in a prison cell allbeit a pretty decent one. The hotel lobby and corridors are a little shabby and look like they last saw anything new in the early 1990s. I gave the breakfast a miss but to be honest the breakfast room was less than inviting. All in all I would say avoid unless you are a bit desperate as I was. Oh and maybe being Irish I am a little spolied by the overall quality of our hotels (many build during our boom) but this Dutch three star would struggle and I mean struggle to get a 2 star rating in Dublin....we may have the same currency but we dont have the same hotel rating system- not by any stretch of the imagination.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank draff0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#69 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#132 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#168 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singel Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singel Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Singel Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singel Hotel:The Singel Hotel, located in three characteristic 17th century canal houses at the beautiful and quiet Singel canal, is perfectly located in the city centre. This comfortable three star hotel is situated at one of the best locations of Amsterdam. An ideal mix of nostalgic atmosphere and modern comfort close to all major attractions.Typical brown cafes and good restaurants are just around the corner and all public transportation can be reached within walking distance.This charming Singel Hotel offers, behind the attractively restored facade,32 up-to-date renovated rooms, an elevator and accomodation for 65 guests. Our friendly staff will do everything to make your stay unforgetable. Location:The Singel Hotel is very easy to reach. There is a direct train connection from Schiphol Airport to the Amsterdam Central Station which takes less then 15 minutes.Coming out of the Amsterdam Central Station you cross the station square and turnright at the Prins Hendrikkade. After 200 meters you turn left at the Singel canal. You will reach the Singel Hotel in 200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Singel Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing