We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on a canal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #164 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on a canal”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is a nice hotel about 10 minutes walk from the main train station. it is situated along a canal and is fairly quiet at night with minimal traffic. The rooms were clean but small. Staff were ok, but breakfast buffet was only adequate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    401
    191
    49
    45
See reviews for
115
361
122
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent hotel and excellent service once again. Will always choose this hotel when in Amsterdam. Many thanks to all the staff there who were always keen to help, particularly on my last morning when I was due to cycle through a large area of Amsterdam. I hope to be back before Christmas. My room was excellent as it had loads of space and the bed was by the window for ventilation.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canal can be noisy on warm nights but are wonderful if staying in colder weath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I cant stress this enough.. The location was perfect. Right on singel canal, where shops and cafes are dotted around everywhere. 5-10 minutes walking distance to the station too. The hotel itself is clean and tidy but like all hotels in the area - overpriced. The rooms are tiny, squished, with wonderful views of next door's walls. But that's irrelevant when staying here. The breakfasts were nice, with fresh breads, meats and local cheeses. Id recommend this hotel to stay in if you're in Amsterdam to view the culture and want to be out and about all day. This Isn't a boutique and won't blow you away, but it does the job.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaeleigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

The safe in my room did not work. I asked the hotel to fix it but they never did. I ended up having to carry my valuables around Amsterdam which I don't advise. The electricity was out one morning so I had to shower in the dark & carry my heavy luggage down narrow stairs and no breakfast was prepared. Staff were not too friendly overall. Rooms are extremely small. The door hit the bed when it opened. No AC so I had to sleep in a hot room. Shower is in the same place as the toilet (very Hostel like) and they make you pay for your entire stay up front. Overall I would not recommend this hotel at all.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank planning-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just back from Amsterdam. 2 nights in this very nice hotel. Very central, only 5 minutes easy walk from central station. Friendly staff at check in.We had a room on the 3rd Floor which was small but spotlessly clean and very well maintained. Bathroom again was small and very similar to wet room. Very comfy though.
Breakfast is obviously continental style. Is however fresh and plentiful.
The only very minor thing. try a room at the front as there is no view at the back

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Singel hotel is in a great location - a short walk from the Central Railway station and near to many attractions. I highly recommend to take the train to and from airport as it was very easy, cheap and quick.

The hotel itself is pretty small and so are the rooms in general. Only problem to me was those fitted carpets on the floor, which I can't stand but other than that the rooms were in ok condition. Biggest bonus was that the hotel seemed to be very quiet by night, no noice from the streets nor from the other guests.

There was an ok breakfast as well and some here have mentioned that they had to queue for a table, as the breakfast area is small, but we didn't have this as a problem. There was always room and even a high-chair for a baby, which was a bonus for our child.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyerFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Only stayed for one nigh with my girlfriend over her birthday, although this is not the cheapest 3 star in Amsterdam i would stay again. Great location and the staff where friendly, breakfast was nice too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#109 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,178 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
900 reviews
Centrum
A-Train Hotel
A-Train Hotel
#126 of 368 in Amsterdam
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#169 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,500 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singel Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singel Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Singel 13-17, 1012 VC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Singel Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singel Hotel:The Singel Hotel, located in three characteristic 17th century canal houses at the beautiful and quiet Singel canal, is perfectly located in the city centre. This comfortable three star hotel is situated at one of the best locations of Amsterdam. An ideal mix of nostalgic atmosphere and modern comfort close to all major attractions.Typical brown cafes and good restaurants are just around the corner and all public transportation can be reached within walking distance.This charming Singel Hotel offers, behind the attractively restored facade,32 up-to-date renovated rooms, an elevator and accomodation for 65 guests. Our friendly staff will do everything to make your stay unforgetable. Location:The Singel Hotel is very easy to reach. There is a direct train connection from Schiphol Airport to the Amsterdam Central Station which takes less then 15 minutes.Coming out of the Amsterdam Central Station you cross the station square and turnright at the Prins Hendrikkade. After 200 meters you turn left at the Singel canal. You will reach the Singel Hotel in 200 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Singel Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing