We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple - Informal - Excellent Food”
Review of Rosa & Rita

Rosa & Rita
Ranked #2,378 of 3,813 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: European, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple - Informal - Excellent Food”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I went yesterday to this restaurant for a birthday celebration! The building is an old ship yard converted as restaurant. I'm Italian and i like good food and also i love cooking. I started with the polpo with celery, lemon and parsley with a schiacciata (simple white pizza with olive oil and salt) . The polpo can be better but ok. The schiacciata was very very good, like the real Italian schiacciata! I ordered the pizza with truffles. On the beginning i saw the pizza and it looked more little than normal and too much perfectly round. I though that was a frozen pizza but i have to say the pizza was fresh and something outstanding, especially my pizza with truffles. With the pizza i ordered french fries. The potatoes were unpeeled and i never have eaten french fries unpeeled. I have to say the potatoes in this way have more intense and exquisite flavour. The service is good and friendly! The price is in the media for Amsterdam! This place is not only good for children as i read in the other reviews but for everyone who want an informal place to stay with friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CityCenterAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    21
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stripped down as steaks go..”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

This is a no nonsense, fun place to go for a (thinky sliced) steak and a beer. A former workplace, with the menu almost as stripped down as the interior, it fits right into the neighbourhood, which was worn down but is now renovated and up and coming. The food is simple but tasty (don't forget to order a sauce with your steak). If you're by yourself or in a small party, avoid the early weekend nights, when it's full of kids. Nice, but distracting from the steak.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sjoerdd d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruchsal, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Really delicious: fresh and homemade. Lots of locals, less tourists. Atmosphere of an old storage. Friendly service staff.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LucyBlume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“steak and pizza (for the kids)”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

If you are in the mood for steak or entrecote (like the french eat it) and hav a small budget, with a large group or lots of kids? go here. The place is hudge, lots of smaller tables can form one big table, service is good and the menu is very pure and simple! prices are low, but be aware that the food comes quite plain so when you order a steak this is all there is on the plate. You need to order fries, and vegetables on the side. But ofcourse you can share these. Pizza s are ok but not very Italian. They are small (like 50% of a normal European Size pizza, and they come thick and soft (I personally like very thin and crispy). So I d say: these are for the kids! Good place to go with friends and kids. Very casual. You can sit outside in summertime.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendelien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple food, funny formula”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Simple Italian cuisine -most pizze- 'Moduled menu' i.e. every item to be ordered separately. Prize/value OK.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Theo U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosa & Rita also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Rosa & Rita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing