We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Ranked #62 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I have just returned after spending 5 nights at this hotel. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The hotel is ideally situated about 5 minutes from Amsterdam Central Station. The trains run frequently. Our room faced onto the station but you were not disturbed by the trains at any time. I would certainly use this hotel again if I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Bill322,

Thank you for your kind words and for the time you have taken to share your experiences with us through Tripadvisor. We would be very happy to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    684
    169
    35
    11
See reviews for
190
633
67
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I was organising 1 day business conference close to Utrecht with people flying over a night before. The hotel seems like perfect location for business travelers. Less than 10 minutes from the airport and 5 minutes to Amsterdam central station.
And in the morning you just drive to the highway and of you go - no traffic jams.

The hotel is brand new. Much better than regular HI Express. Room is cosy, bathroom nice. If you come with a car, you get free parking in a garage.

All guests have free WIFI.

Lobby bar was just good enough to have couple of drinks before heading for downtown.

Breakfast was also good - much better than what you would expect from Express version of HI.

Stuff friendly and helpful.

Definitely a hotel worth staying at.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear George1133,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you so much for your time to write this review. It is always nice to read that our guests had a nice time and that they enjoyed our free WiFi as well as our free Continental Breakfast.

We would be pleased to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend in october, myself and my boyfriend found the hotel convenient and comfortable for a weekend break.
This is my third visit to Amsterdam and the first time i've not stayed in the centre of the city, purely due to the cost for this last minute break, i looked further out for a cheaper hotel.
The hotel is right next to sloterdijk station just one stop before centraal station on the intercity train - after some confusion at the station in getting on the correct train ( this was due to a route change only announced in dutch) it was really easy to get to, the train will stop at Leylaan and then Sloterdijk and finally centraal.
As my boyfriend was there for work at a town just on the outskirts also, it was a really easy place for us both to meet as he jumped on the underground to the same sloterdijk station.
The hotel entrance is a little weird having to walk down some stairs at the side to go in through the back of the hotel - if you have heavy cases its not the best set up.
Inside the hotel is very modern and clean - the rooms are a little on the small side ( not sure if this was just the end room ? ) but very well appointed - great shower room, comfy beds, plenty of pillows , flat screen tv , window which can open. The only annoying thing was a strange noise we could hear in the room at night ...not sure if this was the A/C or water pipes ??
The breakfast buffet was a great way to start the day - plenty of breads and fresh pastries, toast, boiled eggs, juice, coffee and cereals which was constantly replenished.
In terms of getting into central Amsterdam i found it really easy - we only ever jumped on the 48 bus and it was no longer than 20 mins into the centre - the bus was really frequent - we never got back too late so i'm not sure if it run past mid-night but all the timetables are at the bus station to check. From centraal station you can jump straight onto trains and trams and ferries to a lot of places. The fact that the hotel entrance backs onto the bus station is a good thing when u return to the hotel after a long day walking just a few steps to the door.
If i return to Amsterdam i would consider staying at this hotel again, great transport links, really comfortable modern hotel and great breakfast to set you up for the day.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the quiet side not nr the train line. handy shops inside the station to get drinks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LISA_LONDON82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear LISA_LONDON82,


Thank you for your choosing us for your stay in Amsterdam. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We will certainly share your kind words with our team.

We look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Everything else is great -- but the bed and maybe the internet.

Location: out of central amsterdam -- but easily accessible by tram #12 -- which is just a 2 minute walk. And there's the sloterdijk station with all other transport options. I felt it was quite a chore to get to / from the main city center though.

Parking: The hotel has 2 levels of parking in the basement. I think they charge 15 euros a night.

Rooms: New and modern. Basic amenities. Nothing to complain about. Nothing to rave about. We had a room on floor 1 (the same floor as the reception desk). There was no security to get into the hotel room section and that was a little unsettling for my room mate. However, if you got a room on another floor -- you'd have to swipe your key card to press your floor.

Beds: So uncomfortable. So springy. So hard. For a night -- it was okay -- but we were there for 4 nights. Not okay.

Breakfast: is included for everyone I think -- because they never took our room number. The great thing was on Sat & Sun -- breakfast ended at 12 noon!! Weekdays, breakfast ended at 10 AM. Great basic selection. Bread, croissants, cereal, coffee machine, hard boiled eggs (no other eggs -- I wished they had scrambled), hams, cheese slices, no bacon. For an express hotel -- breakfast was pretty good!!

Would I stay here again? Probably not -- bed was so bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atanner100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear atanner100,

Thank you for your kind words! I am surprised to read you did not like our beds. Only two months ago we have finalised a complete swap of all the mattresses. Please be so kind as to let me know in which room you stayed so I can have a look at the bed myself. You can contact me via gm.amsop@hiex.nl.

I am happpy to read that you enjoyed our extended breakfast opening on weekends. Again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.P.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is quite far from Amsterdam Center, but it is just by a train station about 5 minutes from the center. Parking was free, but finding it is quite tricky as the hotel doors not have direct access to the street. In spite of the small room, it fit for my trip.

Helpful?
Thank C_Toyo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear C_Toyo,

Thank you for your choosing us for your stay in Amsterdam. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. The location is indeed a good starting point for your stay in Amsterdam with only minutes to the airport as well as the citycentre. At this moment the local government is putting a lot of effort in Sloterdijk to make this area, with many offices, a bit more into a Green City Area (Manhattan-Central Park) with additional green areas, shops, restaurants and culture. The developments are already started and are great to see.

Again, thank you for staying with us and thank you so much for your time to write this review.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for a couple of nights for a friend's wedding. As a convenient and comfortable place to stay, not far from the airport or the centre of town, I'd highly recommend it. It's less than a minute's walk from the hotel to Sloterdijk station so you can't really go wrong. Breakfast is a buffet (free) with plenty of choice, although it's a but of a scrum if you go down at peak times! Free wifi is a bonus.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_Pettigrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Rachel_Pettigrew,

Thank you very much for your time to write a review on TriAdvisor regarding your stay in our hotel. We are pleased with the positive comments and really appreciate the feedback on things we can still improve in our hotel. At this moment we are looking to expand our breakfast areas as it can be quite busy at peek times.

Once again; thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

As every one mentioned the hotel is very convenient, between the Airport and the center. I arrived around 8 pm from the airport by Subway, you can see directly the hotel but the signs are not clear at all. if you follow them you arrive by a locked parking garage door, the main door of the building is also not the hotel entrance... you have to carry down/up your bags to several stairs before finding a very small entrance and then take the elevator floors up to finally reach the lobby , never seen such a bad concept. The rooms are clean, and it was more or less quiet, the hotel is new so everything is fine , Internet did work in the evening but not in the morning. The breakfast is free but nothing special . I stayed there as everything else was full but I would not return unless i have too, better stay in the center for exempla at the crown plaza.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvenZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear SvenZH,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to read that you had difficulties finding the entrance. The continental breakfast as the internet is indeed free. The continental breakfast is part of our Select Service Concept, the standard of Holiday Inn Express. I can imagine that this might be different from what you expected to a full breakfast buffet.

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station and it goes without saying that you are very welcome with us or our IHG colleague at Crowne Plaza in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen

Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
7.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Casa
Hotel Casa
#66 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station
2.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Address: Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station is now open!The hotel is ideally located on top of one of the main train stations of Amsterdam. With great connections from the Airport terminal building by train (every few minutes in 8 minutes door to door) and excellent onward connections within 5 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station (50 times an hour by either train, metro, tram and bus) it has never been so easy to enjoy Amsterdam without worrying to much about your budget. The train on your doorstep will bring you into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre within 5 minutes where you can enjoy famous sites like the Dam square, Anne Frank House, Portuguese Synagogue, Van Gogh Museum, famous canals (grachten), Rijksmuseum, canal boat rides, Begijnenhof, red light district, Bijenkorf, shopping, sightseeing and clubbing at your convenience. With spacious, well-furnished rooms offering great bedding and walk in shower and modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi (in the whole hotel), free coffee/tea facilities and free Continental breakfast, this hotel is your best central point to start your journey into so many main destinations like Amsterdam, Haarlem, The Hague, etc in the Netherlands. Next to the parking spaces at the hotel our guests will also find special low-cost parking facilities next to the hotel and the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing