We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel really shocked us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Ranked #64 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We travelled 3 weeks in Europe and have lived in many hotels. This hotel is the only hotel purchased in advance non-refundable hotel and only one that had big problems. when we got there around 6pm, a frontdesk lady checked our reservaion and asked us if we had car, when I told her yes, she told me there was a problem with their PCs, so there was no rooms for us. What they could do was to get us rooms in their hotel at airport. She said we had to take trains for city center anyways, just few stations more didn't hurt us. She told us so calmly and coldly, and I felt she just wanted to get rid of me from the frontdesk. Since no more rooms I had to accept this. Then 5 of us, including 2 kids checked in at the airport hotel. Then we asked the staff how to get to city center, they showed us a small map. We had to walk for 15mins to a train station, took train from there. Ticket costed 7 or 9Euro(can't remember exactly) a person. Then we thought this was too difficult and we wanted to move back for the second night, so we called the staff at Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station hotel. A gentleman answered my call. He still insisted the two hotels have no difference rather than few more stations further, he even said the ticket cost the same. This is not true! the Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station hotel is right on top of the train station while the airport hotel had to walk 15mins to train station. One ticket cost at least 7Euro, while the Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station hotel to main station is only 2Euro, 4mins! I really don't know the hotel staff is not familiar with these, or they just tried to fool their guests! I got angry with him and told him we were moving back, no matter what excuses, even on a first come first server basis, we could check in after 24h we have arrived, not to mention pre-purchased non refundable reservation, so he agreed. The next morning, we got there early. A very warm lady received us and finished the checkin for us although the rooms were not ready, but guaranteed for us. She told me both rooms were on 7th floor, and showed me room nmbers. When we got back in the evenng to get keys, another guy told me one room on 7th F, the ohter one on 6th F. I said this is not right, why you changed our room again. He said he didn't change anything. I told him this was not the case in the morning. He showed me the reservation done in the morning, I saw a room number for 7th F, but the number I remembered was not there, so I told him the other room shoud be 7XX, pls. check. The guy didn't want to check, then another staff came, and asked what was going on, then he found out that the room on 6th F was not under my name! I really don't know what to say about them and couldn't help wondering whether there was PC problem or human problem in this hotel.

Room Tip: good rooms and location, hope you have better luck than us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xixi066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Xixi066,

I regret to read that your experience did not match your expectations at all. Unfortunately, due to unforeseen technical problem, we had to book you a room with our colleagues near the airport. This hotel is indeed a bit further from the city centre and train tickets are not priced the same as was suggested by my colleagues. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience all of this has caused. Please rest assure this will be addressed to the team. On the other hand I am confident that the experience you had is not exemplary for the service we pride ourselves in delivering. I would be grateful if you would stay with us again during your next trip to Europe to show you our true spirit of hospitality.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,530 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel in early October and it was excellent. I chose it because of the location (next to a main train station and just above a bus station - less than 10 minutes away from the city centre) and the price was very competitive. Although we only had the option of booking a double room, when checking in I asked if they could give us a twin instead and it was no problem.

Breakfast was included and it was far beyond the regular continental breakfast you normally get at these places. There were bread rolls, croissants, toast, cereal, butter, jams, yoghurt, cheeses, egg, meats, juice, tea and coffee.

The room itself was very clean and well decorated, and while not very spacious, it was more than comfortable. The mattress and pillow were very firm (which I love) and as for the duvet... I was seriously considering taking it with me as it was so warm and soft. A very good night's sleep indeed. The bathroom had a hair dryer (not the best, but it worked) and thankfully soap/shampoo as I had forgotten mine.

All the staff were courteous and friendly and they were happy to store our luggage for us until we were ready to leave that night. A very good stay at this hotel and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smashmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear smashmash,

Thank you for the positive review on Tripadvisor. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed our free continental breakfast. We put a lot of work in keeping our hotel as clean as possible and strive to provide all our guest with the most hospitable service we can. It is nice to see that this is much appreciated and shared by our guests.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel! Train station couldn't be no closer and yet the room quiet. Easy access to central station and the city. Will hopefully be coming back for a short stay Xmas time. The staff were friendly and helpful and even got a free tester shot of something I can't remember.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jammy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Jammy69,

Thank you for our kind words and thank you for sharing this through Tripadvisor.
Please let us know if there is anything we can do assisting you in planning your Christmas trip to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

If you're looking for an affordable overnight stop with parking space (Park & Ride) and/or good public transport access into the city centre (and airport), then this is a property to consider. Reasonable fares, modern, spacious & clean room (better than I expected for an Express). Free Wi-Fi access in the room was not so reliable (I was at the end of the hall) but worked fine in the lobby. I could hear my neighbours bathroom very well so, at least for the room I stayed in, acoustic isolation is up for improvement (reported this on hotel's review system).

Friendly staff at reception and especially at the lobby bar. Efficient & fast check-in and check-out, as it should be.

All in all would stay again for an overnight stop.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bvdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear bvdo,

Thank you for your time in sharing your experiences through our HeartBeat questionnaire as well as through Tripadvisor. Feedback is a valuable thing and it enables us to improve our services. I am happy to inform you that we recently have signed an agreement to upgrade our internet to a glass fibre connection early 2014. This should enable us to provide a strong signal throughout the entire hotel.
Please rest assure that your feedback regarding my colleagues will be shared.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Friendly staff, easy parking €15 per day, rooms clean, tidy and had high quality fixtures.

Good location, the hotel was right next to the train station which has trains running to Amsterdam Central constantly, as the train is only a 5 minute journey we road the train for free every day/night.

Breakfast was your standard continental breakfast with no cooked food. Saying that it was all fresh and high quality. Would defiantly stop at this hotel again as it was good value for money compared to the hotels in the centre which were triple the price for a similar standard of hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear chrisrey,

Thank you for your kind words. It is very nice to read you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the location of the hotel. For any future visits to Amsterdam it might be good to know that the trains in The Netherlands do not run for free. In the central hall of the station it is possible to buy the tickets from the yellow vending machines.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I have just returned after spending 5 nights at this hotel. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The hotel is ideally situated about 5 minutes from Amsterdam Central Station. The trains run frequently. Our room faced onto the station but you were not disturbed by the trains at any time. I would certainly use this hotel again if I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Bill322,

Thank you for your kind words and for the time you have taken to share your experiences with us through Tripadvisor. We would be very happy to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I was organising 1 day business conference close to Utrecht with people flying over a night before. The hotel seems like perfect location for business travelers. Less than 10 minutes from the airport and 5 minutes to Amsterdam central station.
And in the morning you just drive to the highway and of you go - no traffic jams.

The hotel is brand new. Much better than regular HI Express. Room is cosy, bathroom nice. If you come with a car, you get free parking in a garage.

All guests have free WIFI.

Lobby bar was just good enough to have couple of drinks before heading for downtown.

Breakfast was also good - much better than what you would expect from Express version of HI.

Stuff friendly and helpful.

Definitely a hotel worth staying at.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear George1133,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you so much for your time to write this review. It is always nice to read that our guests had a nice time and that they enjoyed our free WiFi as well as our free Continental Breakfast.

We would be pleased to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Bremen
Interim General Manager
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
2.6 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
4.3 mi away
Hotel Casa
Hotel Casa
#69 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,907 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Address: Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £85 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station is now open!The hotel is ideally located on top of one of the main train stations of Amsterdam. With great connections from the Airport terminal building by train (every few minutes in 8 minutes door to door) and excellent onward connections within 5 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station (50 times an hour by either train, metro, tram and bus) it has never been so easy to enjoy Amsterdam without worrying to much about your budget. The train on your doorstep will bring you into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre within 5 minutes where you can enjoy famous sites like the Dam square, Anne Frank House, Portuguese Synagogue, Van Gogh Museum, famous canals (grachten), Rijksmuseum, canal boat rides, Begijnenhof, red light district, Bijenkorf, shopping, sightseeing and clubbing at your convenience. With spacious, well-furnished rooms offering great bedding and walk in shower and modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi (in the whole hotel), free coffee/tea facilities and free Continental breakfast, this hotel is your best central point to start your journey into so many main destinations like Amsterdam, Haarlem, The Hague, etc in the Netherlands. Next to the parking spaces at the hotel our guests will also find special low-cost parking facilities next to the hotel and the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing