We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of Quality, Staff attention & Transport Access”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Ranked #64 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

OK, so this is not on a canal, but here is why you should stay here. Easy access to central Amsterdam by adjacent train (4 1/2 minutes), direct tram to museum highlights, direct bus links to central station and other points, easy train excursion to towns around Amsterdam in minutes. I cannot say enough about the positive & helpful attitude of all front desk people, as well as the staff at breakfast. ....and speaking of breakfast, it is varied, voluminous, and value (included in rate). A bright open breakfast area with enough to give you a strong base till even a late lunch.We stayed with family of two young kids (4&7), and ourselves, and the welcome and consideration of needs of kids, parents and seniors was amazing. In case this sounds too positive, I can include a minor blip of internet access that was inconsistent, but hotel was working on this as we were leaving. In sum, great people, great value!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMT-JWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear CMT-JWT,

Thank you for staying with us. We are very pleased with your kind words.
Fortunately the internet provider succeeded in resolving the problems with the internet and it is now up and running again.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

We are glad that we made a right choice of this hotel when booking a deal offered by British Airways. We stayed here for 2nights. Its slight outside the Central Amsterdam, however has good accessibility to the city centre as well as the airport. Jus 15minutes by train from the airport. The hotel is located right outside the train, tram and bus stations. Frequent buses and metro to the city centre which is about 25-30mins away from here. Excellent facilities, quite modern, superb view, fantastic staff and awesome breakfast(free!). Would definitely recommend it for anyone however please make sure you know how to travel in the night hours from the city centre, as theres a different bus(night bus) and the bus stop as well is different than what it is during the day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jignyasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Jignyasha A,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Amsterdam, we are very pleased to read that you made the right choice. Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel, the staff and the services.

Please come back, we would love to welcome you again as our guest.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel is very clean, modern and updated. A free breakfast is provided with a selection of cereals, meats, cheeses, bread, fruit and hard boiled eggs, plus coffee, juice and milk. The bathroom was very clean, with lots of hot water, towels and good water pressure. There is free WiFi. We stayed on the third floor, train side and heard some train noise but it was not disturbing. The bed was slightly hard but otherwise comfortable.

It is across the street from the train station and about 15 minutes via bus 48 (buy the day passes for trams and buses at the train station) to Amsterdam Central Station. Trams and busses also serve other parts of Amsterdam.

We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiem23567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Carolyn675,

Thank you for staying with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here with friend and out other halves end of feb, check in wasn't till 3pm and we got to hotel by 9.30 in the morning and our rooms were ready which was great. Right next to station but only heard trains once and wasn't even that loud. Hotel was clean and staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with selections of cereal croissants toast meats and cheeses. Found the bar cheapest place to drink too! Great weekend and will definitely be returning and staying here

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sappy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Sappy1,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Overall this was a good hotel to stay in. But we did experience a couple of problems. On arrival, like another reviewer, we were also told that the twin room we had booked was unavailable and we could only be offered a double. We questioned how this can be when we had confirmation of a twin booking but didn’t get a clear answer. However after some minutes and some discussions in Dutch between members of the reception team a twin room became available.

The next day we had a full day out, walking a lot and returned around 9pm very tired and very thirsty and really wanted a cup of tea. After all we are British!! We got to our room and neither of our key cards worked, although they had let us through the security door. So we went back down to reception to get them revalidated. I am guessing they had expired due to the confusion over the twin room and that it had possibly just been allocated on the system for one night instead of 4 nights. The receptionist was initially concerned that we had been keeping our key cards next to our mobile phones as this can cause problems with the keycards but they had been kept well away from each other.

So we went back to the room, even more ready for that cup of tea, only to find there were no clean mugs, and the tea and coffee had not been replenished even though our room had been serviced. The receptionist suggested we had left our do not disturb sign up. Clearly we hadn’t or the room would not have been serviced at all. However things were quickly put right and the rest of our stay was good.

Overall the hotel is in a good location with easy access to the airport, and the city centre either via the train station next door or by the bus over the road. The rooms were quiet and comfortable and there is free wifi in the rooms though this is quite intermittent and often we found it would only be available on the mobile phone or just one of the tablets.

Breakfasts were good with a varied choice of foods to eat, good coffee and juice, although we did notice on our last day which was Saturday that the juice seemed to be watered down.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The staff are pleasant and helpful and apart from the couple of problems mentioned above, you really can’t fault this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southwestuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Southwestuk,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Amsterdam.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are happy that the problems you encountered were resolved by our staff and are going to make sure to avoid such problems in the future. We will definitely review procedures and bring them under the attention of our staff.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was satisfying. It is in a good location re transportation as, getting to the airport was only 2 stops €3.30 11mins. While getting to Amsterdam Central was only 1stop 6mins €2.20 each way. Metro in abt 25mins or 15 mins by bus 48 if I remember correctly. Being on the 3rd floor just across the train station there was some light train sounds but we did not have any problems sleeping..The location is very convenient to taking the train to Leiden, Delft, The Hague, Alkamaar, Arnhem, Haarlem.

We had some difficult time finding the proper entrance from the train station so I hope they put some signs in the station for future guests.

Internet connection was ok. Breakfast was just ok could be better, Bed was so Comfy, Room in good standard & with a powerful shower however it could be a little cleaner!!!
Tea & Coffee facility in the room and Ice machine in the Lobby is a bonus

I would recommend this Hotel as it is much cheaper staying here than in the centre of town.

Room Tip: A room on the higher levels should be quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Mario A,

Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Amsterdam.
We are happy to see the positive comments on our hotel and really appreciate that you share the points on which we can still improve.
We can assure you that the proper action will be taken.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here in October 2013 for 2 nights for an enjoyable time in Amsterdam. Location is very good being only 10 minutes away from the airport by train and then 10 minutes away the other way to Amsterdam Centraal.

Only had breakfast one morning but it was very good for a HI express, was all fresh and tasted very nice.

The problem we had was with the reception. Me and my friend arrived early in the morning and the room was not ready which was fine as we could leave our suitcases and come back later. When we did return and pick up our key we entered a double room even though I had ordered a twin. We went back to reception and the lady on reception told us that is all we have available even though I showed her a confirmation stating a twin room. She said a twin was never available but I work for IHG and know that it was available at the time of booking otherwise it wouldn't of let me chose that room type. She said they got overbooked on that room type so had to swap stuff around and that she can not move us because she has Platinum members allocated to twins and they have to get it because they are Platinum. I asked her- Are we not important then? and she just shrugged. I know that hotels do get over booked but if that's the case, nobody contacted me to let me know my room type had changed. If they had done this I would of been fine withi it. After a while of the receptionist making up all different excuses she finally got the Duty Manager, who didn't even acknowledge us or apologise. She was able to change the room type straight away and then walked back to the back office again with no acknowledgment to us.

As this happened straight away it ruined our experience of the hotel. I would stay again for the location but hopefully they will get the room type right next time.

Room Tip: Was on the same side as the trains but could here no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REB93PH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear UK_REP,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to see that we dropped the ball here.
Please be assured that we will review procedures and we will discuss this matter with the team.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
2.6 mi away
XO Hotels Couture
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
4.3 mi away
Hotel Casa
Hotel Casa
#69 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,907 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station

Address: Zaventemweg 3, 1043 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: £85 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Sloterdijk Station is now open!The hotel is ideally located on top of one of the main train stations of Amsterdam. With great connections from the Airport terminal building by train (every few minutes in 8 minutes door to door) and excellent onward connections within 5 minutes to Amsterdam Central Station (50 times an hour by either train, metro, tram and bus) it has never been so easy to enjoy Amsterdam without worrying to much about your budget. The train on your doorstep will bring you into the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam city centre within 5 minutes where you can enjoy famous sites like the Dam square, Anne Frank House, Portuguese Synagogue, Van Gogh Museum, famous canals (grachten), Rijksmuseum, canal boat rides, Begijnenhof, red light district, Bijenkorf, shopping, sightseeing and clubbing at your convenience. With spacious, well-furnished rooms offering great bedding and walk in shower and modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite TV, free Wi-Fi (in the whole hotel), free coffee/tea facilities and free Continental breakfast, this hotel is your best central point to start your journey into so many main destinations like Amsterdam, Haarlem, The Hague, etc in the Netherlands. Next to the parking spaces at the hotel our guests will also find special low-cost parking facilities next to the hotel and the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing