We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Nearby Hotels
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$448
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$423
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
US$502
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$354
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,695)
Filter reviews
1,695 results
Traveller rating
653
788
195
43
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
653
788
195
43
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrehi expresstrains runspar shopminute train ridecontinental breakfasttravel cardtakes minuteshotel is locatedtrams and busescold meatseasy accessboiled eggsconvenient locationthe breakfast areaexcellent locationpublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
693 - 698 of 1,695 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Rude , horrible staff.
Totally unconcerned.
House keeping a disaster.
On writing to them , they act as if we are beggars and try to compensate a trip turned into disaster, by adding a few bonus points.
They need to " CLOSE DOWN"

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very sorry that you have left Amsterdam with this impression of our hotel. We are known for our service and quality and are very sorry that we have let you down in these 2 aspects.

We truly apologize for the inconvenience.

Kind regards,
Anne Schrijen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have stayed here for 3 days in this excellent located Hotel.
First it was quite difficult to find the entrance of the hotel and we had to carry al our luggage down stairs. But fortunately we were welcomed by the friendly and professional receptionist supervisor Bakenam with a great smile. She assisted us with finding our way in Amsterdam city and gave us a lot of interesting information.
The amenities were pretty good although we expected more about the room.
The breakfast was good a lot of choice.

Thanks again for the great time we had in Amsterdam and we want to thank Bakenam especially for the great service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berthus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,
I would like to thank you for your stay at Holiday Inn Express and am pleased that you wrote us this review. Please be informed that we hope to have our main entrance at the train station level realised by the end of this year.
It gives me great pride that Bakenam made such an impression on you and I will pass on your kind words to her.

Best wishes,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I asked the internet for a town centre hotel in Amsterdam, so at first I was very disappointed to discover we were actually out of town on a Business Development. However we could not have chosen better for our long weekend in Amsterdam. It was only a 10 minute train ride from Schipol Airport to Sloterdijk where the hotel was located. When we left the railway station we were going to look for a taxi but were pleasantly surprised to discover the hotel was next door to the station! Only a few minutes walk away. The location turned out to be perfect as the hotel was lovely and quiet and yet had excellent transport links. There was always a train, bus or tram available from outside the Hotel door and we never once waited to go anywhere. It was only a 10 minute journey in to the city centre with your ticket lasting and hour if you wanted to change tram or bus during this period and not have to pay any more. The Hotel itself was excellent with the high quality standards you expect from a Holiday Inn and we had a wonderful stay and were quite sad to leave. As it was a Holiday Inn Express there was no Restaurant so we always ate in Amsterdam before returning. No hardship as we always found plenty to do each day to keep us in the city centre. However the hotel did have a machine selling hot noodles and also lots of other reasonably priced snacks should you suddenly get the munchies. There was also a pleasant small bar to sit in if you did not want to stay in your room. Breakfast in the morning was continental with plenty of options available to satisfy the biggest appetite. (Incidentally there is a lovely restaurant near the hotel but it is only open weekdays for the workers. We arrived Friday night and ate there and enjoyed an excellent meal.) All in all an excellent stay. Top class standards and lovely friendly staff. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this Hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Styrisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear guest,
We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn Express. It means a lot to us that you wrote us this review and we would love to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Anne Schrijen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I am a Platinum IHG member, and I traditionally like the Holiday Inn Express chain of hotels since the internet and breakfast make travel easier. This hotel is an above average property except for 1 feature - the rooms have no air conditioning. If the window was kept ajar, the heat level improved, but the noise level was unacceptable. Construction is occurring right outside of the hotel, and the extremely noisy construction started between 6-6:30am. If the window was closed to avoid the noise, the temperature in the room became very uncomfortable.

POSITIVES:
1. LOCATION: The location of the hotel is great even though it is not in the center of the city. The hotel is 2 stops away from the airport (about 7-10 minute duration), and trains leave to and from the airport every few minutes. It is only 1 stop on the train from the Central station, and the system is very easy to navigate. Of note for the Americans, a credit card with a chip is needed to purchase train tickets.

2. CLEANLINESS: A very clean hotel.

3. HOTEL STAFF: The hotel staff is outstanding even though they are young. They are enthusiastic, and they genuinely try to help. I come to the Netherlands several times per year, and the staff was better here than at higher priced hotels.

NEGATIVES:
1. LACK OF AIR CONDITIONING: This factor would keep me from staying here again during the summer.

2. BATHROOM AMENITIES: Below average with combined soap and shampoo from a dispenser. After sweating all night in the room due to the heat, a bar of soap would have been nice. Bring your own soap and shampoo.

3. LOCAL AREA: While the location is great for going to the airport and the city center, there are few non-fast food restaurants in the area, and it is difficult to find a location within walking distance for a business meeting. The front desk will help guests order food from local restaurants which can be delivered to the hotel.

SUMMARY: I would stay here again after the construction is complete. Until the construction is complete, you may want to face the railroad station as it was quieter than the construction.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear MDDad

First of all thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk Station on Tripadvisor.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotels good location, cleanliness and Hotel staff.
It brings us great pride to hear of the level of care that was demonstrated by the members of our team.

We apologize for the areas that we may have fallen short particularly with the climate control unit.
We have a central controlled climate control system in our hotel, in the rooms it can be regulated to a maximum and a minimum temperature.
We are very sorry to hear that it was too warm in the room and we have send our maintenance department to check the temperatures.

For any bathroom amenities you can always request them at reception

Please allow me to mention that the renovation work on Orlyplein is coming to an end.


Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Carolina Gomez Pranger
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The best thing about this place is the location. It is a stop from the Central station downtown and only 2 stops from the Airport. Incredibly convenient if you want to spend a day in Amsterdam. The rooms are fair size, clean but lack certain conveniences like centralized air-conditioning with temperature control. We were here on a warm evening and couldn't cool the room down. The manager had admitted that temperature was centrally controlled and couldn't be regulated in the rooms! That was the bad part as most people value temperature control as a very essential part of your comfort.

The breakfast was OK and the front desk personnel were very helpful. We arrived late in the evening and coming from the US we do not have phones to make calls. The desk assisted us in ordering food for delivery and called us as soon as the food was here.

The Ugly part, don't expect a scenic area. This is a hotel next to the train station and as it is a large train station, it surrounds the hotel! One more thing, bring your own toiletries, the hotel in an effort to be green has soap dispensers, one liquid to use on your head and body. No nice smelling stuff here!

Room Tip: A high floor would probably be better for noise control.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmw0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HI_Express, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Gmw0713

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Sloterdijk Station.
We’re glad you enjoyed our friendly staff and convenient location.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced due to the climate control.
The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam Sloterdijk does indeed have a central controlled climate control and there is a minimum and a maximum temperature that can be regulated in the room.

For any toiletries you can always ask reception as there are shampoos and conditioners available on request for our guests.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Carolina Gomez Pranger
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews